We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Una experiencia INCREIBLE”

Yves Nicolier Sandrock
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Yves Nicolier is a social cook in his new life. As such he does cooking workshops, private cooking events, cooking classes, showcooking events or cooking parties where guests and cook come together and just flow in the same space between food and conversations. At La Boqueria, he does offer cooking classes in combination with guided groceries buying.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
“Una experiencia INCREIBLE”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Si te gusta comida y te gusta la gastronomia, necesitas hacer una clase de gastronomia privada con Yves. La experiencia fue magnifica. Reunimos con Yves en el parado de metro (no recuerdo cual pero fue un poco lejos) y el nos trajo en coche a su casa en casi 5 minutos. Su casa fue como una en una historia. Fue pintoresco. Nosotros cocinamos en su terraza de la azotea y tuvimos una vista magnifica de Barcelona. Hicimos una ensalada de atun y habas blancas, paella, sangria y un postre delicioso. Yves sabe mucho sobre la comida y la gastronomia y despues de nuestra sesion con el, Yves nos mando las recetas de la comida que hicimos. Tambien el habla ingles casi perfectamente.

Now in English: If you like food and like to cook, you need to do a private cooking class with Yves. The experience was magnificent! We met Yves at the metro stop (I can't remember which one but it was pretty far) then he drove us to his house which was about 5 minutes away. His house is unreal! Very picturesque. We cooked on his rooftop terrace and had an amazing view of Barcelona. We made a tuna and white bean salad, paella, sangria and a cream dessert. Yves has a lot of knowledge about food and cooking and after our session he emailed us the recipes of the food we made. He also speaks English really well!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hillary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Romantic Dinner on board of a yacht”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had an amazing dinner that introduced us to the best of Catalonia cuisine. Everything from small bites to desert were meticulously prepared with no detail escaping the chef. We highly recommend Yves and his assistant Carme to anyone who is planning to dine on board of a a yacht.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesNicolierSandrock, Propietario at Yves Nicolier Sandrock, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi Alex,
it was a pleasure to have had the chance to show you a bite of the catalan cuisine on board.
Thank you and regards from Barcelona!
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cooking session with a view”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a great time cooking lunch with Yves at his home overlooking Barcelona city, plus a view of the Sagrada Familia, no less.

As arranged, we met at the la Bouqueria market and did a tour, learning about the ingredients of Spanish cooking, then decided together with another 2 participants, on a menu to cook for lunch. The decision - a tuna and cod salad with romesco sauce, a seafood fideua and Catalan cream for dessert.

After buying all the ingredients, Yves drove us to his home where we did all the prep work in his kitchen. The weather was beautiful, so he decided that we should cook the fideua on his roof top terrace, which overlooks the city.

The fideua was still slowly cooking away while we started eating our salad starter, accompanied by a chilled local white wine.

It was more like a lunch with friends than a cooking class, but each of us had our share on hands-on time preparing the lunch under his instructions. It was a great experience and would recommend it for anyone interested to learn more about Spanish food!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SFR6262E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesNicolierSandrock, Propietario at Yves Nicolier Sandrock, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Hi there Singapore!
So nice to hear that you feeled more like a lunch with friends instead of a cooking class!
I think this is the right atmosphere to understand and learn some new things!
I was also happy that you took the chance to buy a paella kit in Barcelona and that you are cooking now Seafood Paellas amoung your friends in Singapore!
Cheers from Barcelona and thank you for coming!
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Experiential cooking”
Reviewed 3 October 2013

What you are buying here is a taste of culture and a chance to experience it with like minded people regardless of culinary aptitude. You will spend a couple of hours shopping like a Catalan around the wonderful Boqueria market, Yves gives you a guided tour and will engage with the market traders to help answer any questions you have. As a group you then decide a menu based on the amazing choices the market offers. Yves then takes you to his fantastic house to cook the chosen menu. This is akin to a family Sunday lunch, everyone helps out to prepare the courses, the atmosphere is relaxed whilst informative and easy to enjoy for novices and experienced cooks alike. We were able to sit on Yves rooftop garden to enjoy the fruits of our labour. Our menu was Octopus with paprika dusting and pan fried razor shell with garlic and chilli infused oil. Our main was a oven roasted hake with sliced potato, tomato and onion, and to finish figs and Chocolate bombs. The whole day was relaxed, you could take what from it what you wanted and it was nice meeting the other participants and engage with them socially and culturally under the auspices of food. It was a perfect day and a big thanks to Yves for inviting us into his home .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesNicolierSandrock, Propietario at Yves Nicolier Sandrock, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Hi Caroline,
thanks you for your extended and detailed review. It's nice to hear that you enjoyed with the other participants. Beeing around the fire or cooking with others is indeed a social event and folks signing up for my type of activity are in general nice and sensitive people.

Hugs from Barcelona...
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome! We loved our experience!!”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

I would rate this experience 20 out of 10!

First, Yves was very prepared for the cooking class; he had done a lot of the prep work, and had a beautiful table set on his roof, with picturesque views of Barcelona and the Mediterranean Sea. It made the experience really easy to jump into, and kept it fun.

The recipes we prepared were so delicious, and he was very accomodating. We were travelling as a family of four (4) people, two of whom have strict dietary restrictions. He was easy to work with in terms of creating a meal that worked for the whole family, which made it enjoyable for everyone.

His accommodations at his home were really impressive. The roof was beautiful, and is worth seeing on it’s own, let alone with a comprehensive night of cooking and delightful conversation. His home is really charming, as is his family. He made us feel very welcome, which just added to the charm of the evening.

Yves was also INCREDIBLY knowledgeable on food, the heritage of the recipes and nutritional implications, of which we had a particular interest. We engaged in great conversation about the values of organic cooking, the impact on politics, etc. It was nice that he was so well-versed in these topics, because it made the experience that much more special.

He also sent us the recipes so we could cook them back at home. I’ve already hosted a dinner party and showed off my new skills.

All in all, we couldn’t recommend this more highly. For anyone that’s loves to cook, and has an interest in really learning more about food, it was an “A+” culinary experience on every level.

NOTE: Travellers were a family of four (4) -- Parents early 50s, two “adult-children” in 20s. Wouldn’t recommend for families with young kids. Great for anyone old enough to enjoy homemade sangria!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvesNicolierSandrock, Propietario at Yves Nicolier Sandrock, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you so much for this detailed review. I am super happy to hear that you hosted a dinner cooking our dishes! This is wonderful... Thank your for the 20 out of 10 rating! ;-)
Regards from Barcelona!
Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yves Nicolier Sandrock also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Yves Nicolier Sandrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing