We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not always welcoming”
Review of Bambarol

Bambarol
Ranked #77 of 9,698 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not always welcoming”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This is a cautionary tale - just be mindful when you go to this restaurant that you must book in advance or you will be met by very rude staff who question you for walking into the restaurant even tho there are tables empty and it looks as if you might be able to eat there! We finally found this restaurant after wandering the streets, and looked inside to see empty tables - as it was early we thought luck was on our side and we walked in. We were greeted by a very rude woman behind the bar who asked us loudly 'have you booked a table?' (not sure what happened to hello) followed by a waiter to tell us we have no tables free. A 'sorry could you come later/tomorrow/another day' did not seem to be an option and we were left feeling very embarrassed as if we had just gate crashed someones party and being told you can't stop. I'm sure the food would have been delicious but am disappointed with the experience and would not try again

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shell642013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    515
    148
    27
    5
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham England
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The BEST restaurant we tried in Barcelona”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

From start to finish our experience in this restaurant was top notch. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had booked ahead and were seated on arrival, the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. We ordered 5 tapas and the tomato flat bread. Firstly we had the cecina beef and smoked cheese and the duck ham salad as our cold tapas. Then our hot tapas, scallops with pork and asparagus, yakatori pork ribs and lamb with aubergines. Each tapas was amazing. We were so impressed with the flavours that every mouthful was a delight! To finish we had the traditional desserts Mel I mato and torrijas, as recommended by staff. After dessert we were treated to a shot of limoncello. The staff seemed genuinely interested in our opinions and were so eager to please. We would love to fly back to Barcelona just to return to this restaurant! All this with a glass of wine, beer and two bottles of water for €60, a bargain!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TaraR09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing Tapas”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Loved Loved Loved this place, the food was outstanding and the staff were great too, what a great start to visiting a fab city. We tried most of the dishes between the 4 of us and loved them all. Recommend coming here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracyjary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and Amazing food”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this restaurant for our 2nd of three nights in Barcelona for myself and my boyfriend based on reviews here. It was such a fantastic experience from start to finish. It looks nothing amazing when you walk in but we were very impressed with the attentive staff making us feel welcome and making the experience fun. The strawberry mojiotos are the size of your head and totally delicious! The tapas... Soo yum. The nicest patatas btavas ive had in Spain .. I.strongly recommend the mushroom cannaloni too. Everythind was simply delish! You HAVE to go here you will.not regret it! Thanks bambarol for a fab night...

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing place amazing people”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

It was an amazing experience from start to end...everyone was sooo friendly, great atmosphere...busy restaurant...AMAZING food!! A must go when in town!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dubaieater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bambarol also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bambarol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing