We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Tapas and Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bambarol

Bambarol
Ranked #42 of 9,317 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Tapas and Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife, two daughters, and I travelled to Barcelona in June 2014. We were looking for a restaurant close to our hotel. Given the Trip Advisor ratings, we decided on Bombarol. We were not disappointed. We arrived early and thank goodness because it was booked solid for the usual eating hours. The staff spoke very good English and where extremely helpful. We tried five different tapas and every one had a unique flavor profile and was excellent in presentation and taste. I highly recommend this restaurant when staying in Barcelona and wanting gourmet tapas.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PineyPointHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    490
    139
    26
    4
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Wonderful introduction to tapas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Bambarol provided us with, without a doubt, our best meal during our brief stay in Barcelona. It was our first night in the city and we were still finding our bearings. Our hotel was about 20 minutes walk from the restaurant, but we decided to hop in a taxi to get there. There really isn't a metro station that is close by.

Our reservation was for 20:00 which is about three hours too early in Spain, but fortunately we weren't the only ones in the restaurant. Our waiter explained the menu to us in English and suggested two or three tapas per person. I would say that was about right, but we could have gotten away with two each as we were quite full by the last plate.

The menu is divided into cold and hot, although the hot side appealed more to our tastes. Everything we ordered was amazing, but the standout dish was the scallops, asparagus and pork jowls. Divine! Special mention also to the pa amb tomaquet, Catalan tomato bread. Delicious!

With two glasses of cava, three glasses of red wine, a bottle of water and one dessert, the bill came to €65.95. Bambarol is a definite on our list of places to eat if we are ever in Barcelona again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sdublin4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We found this place following a search on the tripadvisor app when looking for somewhere local to our accommodation. I doubted some of the reviews thinking it can't be that good for somewhere out of the city centre, it was! The place is very unassuming on a side street with little to advertise it, we were lucky as it was fully booked on a Tuesday night and managed to get two seats at the bar. The food was fantastic, the service was amazing with the staff speaking English well and explaining each dish as it arrived, nothing was to much trouble for these guys. Wine choice taken care of after a quick chat, and end of meal brandy choice discussed before I bought one. If your in Barcelona look it up but I'd book first... You won't regret it.

Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great tapas booking essential”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Went here after seeing on Tripadvisor & it certainly lived up to expectations. Staff very friendly & helpful & recommended what quantities to order. Loved the Patatas Bravas & the risotto although there was nothing we didn't like. Only regret was we tried to go back again but they were fully booked!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velp, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Service With meat just dropping from the bone!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We found this restaurant via tripadvisor and it was a awesome discovery!
The service was excellent and when we could not decide what tapas to get, the waiter friendly suggested a few meals and we did not regret choosing them!
I highly recommend other tripadvisor friends to give Bambarol a try as the service ánd food where excellent!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeroenos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bambarol also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Bambarol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing