We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff totally not interested in an expensive room with crap view.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia
Ranked #79 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Do you know the feeling: an hour before closing time they are cleaning the place. Catalans don't know crap on customer satisfaction. Moreover it is a high rated hotel with a just ok roomspace. Breakfast is poor. Rooms are very noisy and the view at The back sucks.
Mr. Director don't sent me the same standard response: start acting!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micrida1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe F, Director General at Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear client;

On behalf of the entire team who make the Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia, we appreciate to receive feedback and suggestions for improvement of our clients, as long as these are constructive and help us to constantly improve our service and provide excellent stays at our customers.

In destructive reviews about our service and our daily work, we prefer to simply respond with a standard answer to thank you your their time and to spent our time and service to offer a great stay to all our customers.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,585)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

747 - 753 of 1,585 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is a fabulous, funky hotel in the best part of the city. The staff are friendly, the rooms lovely, the breakfast fantastic- we have been to Barcelona 4 times in the last 5 years so know what we are comparing it against.
I simply cannot think why people would criticise this hotel.
We had a boulevard room, not a a garden room- worth the extra.
Yes it's new, and has a new smell- rather that than drains and cracked ceramic showers!
We would go back tomorrow and think that it is such a shame that some reviewers almost seem to be deliberately suggesting that this is a poor hotel- it isn't. We had a wonderful stay, in a fabulous room, with an amazing roof top bar, with lovely staff. Simple really.!

Room Tip: Boulevard room worth the extra, over a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe F, Director General at Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Dear Jim;

Thank you very much on behalf of the entire team of the Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia for spending a portion of your time to comment with users of Tripadvisor your visit and stay in our hotel.

Your comment, appreciated Jim, is the best answer that a client who has been in our hotel can give to Tripadvisor's users and value the work and daily effort of the whole team.

If you wish to return to Barcelona, although "tomorrow", do not hesitate to contact with me again to help you in everything you need.

Sincerely;

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was the last hotel we stayed in on our trip and was we were sorely disappointed, especially compared to the great service and experience we'd had in the rest of Spain. First, I paid extra for a room with a view. A view??? The outside of the hotel is trying at being reminiscent of Gaudi and the metal outer decoration blocks much of the "view" from your windows.In fact, you are encased in a glass box within a box as there is no way to open or crack a window and you are behind glass that is about 3 feet from the outer layer of glass - I actually felt claustrophobic a bit. It also may be one of the reasons for the horrible smell throughout the hotel. It doesn't go away and every time you return, it hits you hard - it's not paint it is the small of carpet glue or carpet dye. Die. If I had wanted to spend the remainder of my vacation arguing a probably losing battle to relocate to another hotel, I would have tried to cancel and go elsewhere. The place does not feel boutique hotel-ish at all, There is basically no lobby, you feel like you are stopping by a couple of people at the beginning of a hallway. I never really spoke to the staff and they did not recognize me as a guest. The hallways on the room floors are completely dark! I gave the hotel 2 stars for being clean and having decent TV selections. If you are looking to see the Gaudi houses and go to park Guell, this is a great area to stay - with many other options for hotels! I really am not sure how they are going to remedy these problems without reconstruction and a complete overhaul.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank santonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe F, Director General at Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Customer,

On behalf of Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia team, I want to thank you for your comments and suggestions.

This information is very useful for us, it allows us to continue to improve to achieve excellence in serving our customers.

We deeply regret the stay at Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia has not lived up to your expectations and look forward to serving on future occasions.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The hotel's web site promises so much as a 'designer hotel' but the reality is truly awful.

First of all, my bedroom stank. The synthetic smell of air freshner coupled with the stench of plastic backing from the carpet creates an overpowering smell that goes straight to your belly. It left me with a permanent headache.

To make matters worse - my bedroom faced a light shaft brick wall that was dressed up to look modern with metal cladding. But the reality is that it was still a light shaft. The real problem comes when you realise that you are trapped in an airless room, facing a brack wall and with a window that is sealed shut.... You simply can't open the window as there is no handle.

I had to go for long walks just to get enough air to compensate for the airless room.

Such a pity because the hotel promises so much but delivers so little.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe F, Director General at Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Customer,

On behalf of Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia team, I want to thank you for your comments and suggestions.

This information is very useful for us, it allows us to continue to improve to achieve excellence in serving our customers.

We deeply regret the stay at Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia has not lived up to your expectations and look forward to serving on future occasions.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

4 stars hotel normally means 4 star service and 4 star character. Not here.

A new hotel with pretensions of being a boutique hotel but with none of the service ability.

Argumentative staff with an attitude that the customer is never right. When you check out a hotel the checkout should be smooth. We had to return 3 times because they didn't check us out properly each time! And each time they had another 'forgotten' bill to pay.

As someone who has been coming to Barcelona for over 20 tears - there are much better hotels to stay than this one! You were warned!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Criticalcrotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe F, Director General at Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear Customer,

On behalf of Royal Passeig de Gracia Team, I want to thank you for your comments and suggestions.

This information is very useful for us, it allows us to continue to improve to achieve excellence in serving our customers.

We deeply regret that your stay in our hotel has not lived up to your expectations and look forward to serving on future occasions.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Opened a month ago the hotel facilities and its staff have some major operational issues to resolve. From having to wait over 10 minutes for a lift car to arrive at reception to the chambermaid forgetting to clean my room (then management advising nothing could be done until tomorrow) this hotel has 4* aspirations, but hostel standard service. Do not risk it despite its looks : (

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Davidfromlondonw9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe F, Director General at Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Customer,

On behalf of Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia team, I want to thank you for your comments and suggestions.

This information is very useful for us, it allows us to continue to improve to achieve excellence in serving our customers.

We deeply regret the stay at Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia has not lived up to your expectations and look forward to serving on future occasions.

Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

the location is ideal as its right next to La Pedrera but the hotel is less than average in terms of comfort, design and quality. Badly designed rooms (avoid the ones on the 1st floor), uncomfortable bathrooms - except for the walk in shower, which we actually liked. Can do much better in Barcelona.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kvg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pepe F, Director General at Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2013

Dear Customer,

On behalf of Royal Passeig de Gracia Team, I want to thank you for your comments and suggestions.

As you mention in you comment, one of our strengths is our location next to one of the finest Gaudi's monuments in the city as is La Pedrera.

We appreciate your suggestions for improvement in order to improve daily in all our departments and provide excellent service to all our customers.


Sincerely.

Pepe Fuxà.
General Manager Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Gallery Hotel
Gallery Hotel
#30 of 517 in Barcelona
1,533 reviews
Eixample
Sixtytwo Hotel
Sixtytwo Hotel
#15 of 517 in Barcelona
1,603 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 517 in Barcelona
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 517 in Barcelona
2,381 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Catalonia Passeig de Gracia
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 84 | A 50 metros de la Pedrera de Gaudi, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £85 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Passeig de Gracia is a new 4 star Hotel with 124 design rooms. Its privileged location in the heart of Barcelona, just a few steps from Gaudi's La Pedrera building, places it in a unique setting, surrounded by beautiful architectural jewels of Catalan Modernism and the most exclusive and luxurious stores of the city. The new design hotel is located in one of the most emblematic and remarkable buildings of the Passeig de Gracia, noted for its great architectural value. Royal Hotels has restored the whole building, preserving original elements such as the exterior facade, the Warren Space with its unusual stacked framework, and the spectacular Terraza 83,3, the only viewpoint with 300 degree views over the city of Barcelona. Royal Passeig de Gracia combines comfort, technology, and design in the most luxurious area of Barcelona with the most competitive prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal Passeig de Gracia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Passeig De Gracia Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing