We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel..just like all the other nh hotels i have been to”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Barcelona La Maquinista
Ranked #186 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
napoli
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great hotel..just like all the other nh hotels i have been to”
Reviewed 14 August 2010

i have been to nh la maquinista hotel in barcelona for 4 days and if i had to go back i would definitely go back to this hotel.the room was nice and clean..the restroom big and comfortable..they cleaned the room every day and i can tell that it was really good cleaned.we didnt try the breakfast in the hotel cause it wasnt included in the price.as for the position..you just need to walk like 10 minute to get to the nearest train station to get to the center and it is a pleasent walk since you walk through a park basically.In front of the hotel there is a big mall..where you have many many options for eating in case you wanna get breakfast or a dinner after a long day in barcelona.i would definitely recommend this hotel..the receptionist suggested us a great restaurant where we had the best paella and sangria..L'arroz was the name of it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lalover1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    280
    89
    24
    8
See reviews for
103
211
25
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2010

My friend and I came to Barcelona after Madrid for our post-college-graduation trip, and didn't have the best luck. We got to the airport only to discover that our planned hotel was 80 km away from Barcelona, so we had to quickly find something else. Because of the late notice and all, we ended up here at the NH. They got us in last minute (but couldn't get us any better rate than about 170 euros a night, which was terrible, because we already had to pay the cancellation fee for the other hotel even though it wasn't our fault that they lied online about their location) and the front desk staff was friendly and helpful.

The food at the hotel was not good. It wasn't terrible, but it was simply not good. Even though there was no private place to check email (we weren't travelling with our laptops), there was a computer with internet available for use at the front desk, and they were very nice about our extended use of it to try to get our mothers to send more money to pay for the room (aren't you glad you aren't a recent college graduate anymore?).

The location of the hotel is not ideal for tourists... it's about 9 stops on the very fast and efficient metro to city center, but 9 stops is a lot when you're trying to get in as many museums/parks/churches/pitchers of sangria as possible. At night, the neighborhood it's in can feel a little on the sketchy side, but I never felt as if I were in any real danger. I read a couple of other reviews that mentioned that the area wasn't safe for women. Well, I am a woman, and everything was just fine. In fact, the men in Barcelona were extremely courteous in general. It was the women who were snarky, sometimes to the point of absolute rudeness. There is also a huge mall right behind the hotel, which makes for a lot of teenagers running around nearby, but also was convenient when I needed to buy conditioner (hotels in most of Spain won't provide it). There were some excellent restaurants within walking distance, but you have to explore the side streets and allyways to find them.

The room was spacious and had a nice view of the very phallic, multi-colored-at-night tower about a mile or so away. The beds were comfortable and the air conditioner was wonderfully fridgid. The room also had the only TV with British programming we found throughout our Spanish travels. Let me tell you: after two weeks of nothing but television we couldn't understand more than maybe 100 words of, a little CNN coverage of Wimbeldon was very welcome.

Unfortunately, I was allergic to one of the cleaning products or air fresheners they used in the rooms, and ended up sleeping on the cold marble floor of the bathroom. This may sound uncomfortable, but I actually slept pretty well - considering the circumstances. The bathroom was large, had a nice big tub to soak in, a bidet and a quiet toilet.

Next time, we'll look for something closer, but for a last-minute find, it was acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fruitfly85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

This hotel is lovely and clean and an ideal business hotel. The walk to the Metrol is 15 mins and 15 mins on Metro. The area to walk to the station is dark and scary and wouldn't recommend it to women. Staff lovely but bar does not open at weekends and local bars are very local and not really for Tourists. Ideal for business but not for weekend in Barcelona!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DeeBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2009

Excellent hotel.....very clean and great value for money. 15 mins walk to underground station and then 15 mins to city centre. great mall next door to hotel for eating and shopping

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FarazK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

This hotel is in a former industrial district about 15 min by car from the center of Barcelona. It's fairly new and clean but not cheap enough to justify being away from the downtown area. There is a good shopping mall beside the hotel, otherwise the surroundings have nothing to offer. If you plan to commute back and forth to the city keep in mind that a taxi ride costs 10-14 euros one way and the nearest metro station is 15 min walk away and a 20 min train ride downtown.

The breakfast is included and quite acceptable, but the internet in the room is expensive

  • Liked — cleanliness and quiet
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank citraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2008

Hi Folks,

Stayed in this place last year. Flew with Ryanair into Girona, from there you can get a taxi to train station in Girona, and the area where hotel is, is on the line to Barcelona so couldn't be easier. From train station to hotel, its about a 10 minute walk.

The City Centre is about 15-20 mins by train, so this place is perfect. On top of that, theres a great Shopping Centre at side of hotel, and there are restaurants, loads of stores etc. Would defo recommend it, and its reasonably priced. Bar the shopping centre, theres nothing much here, hop on the train and you're in town.

Cheers

  • Liked — Beside Shopping Centre, & close to train station.
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dub08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2007

We have just returned from a 4 night trip to Barcelona residing at the NH La Maquinista. The hotel is okay, but it is not suitable for tourists. Please see main points:

Location

It is supposedly meant to be in the business district, but there are no businesses in view, apart from a car show room and run down flats. It is a 15 minute walk or so to the nearest metro, and 9 metro stops to the main tourist areas - Catalonia Square, La Rambla and the Gothic Quarter.

The Hotel Staff

I found the staff extremely aloof, rude and unhelpful; particulary on Reception. I spoke a few words in Spanish to them - mainly good morning and good evening, and never received a response let alone a smile.

The Rooms

The Room we were in was extremely small, but very clean. Our room contained no drawers, so there was no where to store our clothing. we asked for an alternative room with drawers, but said that all the rooms were the same - no storage space. There was a small cupboard where we could store some clothes, but it was sufficient enough for 1 person.

The Breakfast

The food available for breakfast was of poor quality and unhealthy. There was a choice of cererals - with only full fat milk, pastries, cheesecake, chocolate cake - FOR BREAKFAST. If you aren't fussy and unhealthy this is the place for you.

La Maquinista Mall

Next to the Hotel there is a mall with an abundance of shops, which was a godsend for us in the evenings. There are places to eat, but no great choice. Gino's (An Italian Restaurant) was very nice, and I would recommend there.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and the fact it was quiet
  • Disliked — Location, Staff and Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank LINTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Hesperia Sant Joan
#211 of 513 in Barcelona
891 reviews
Ibis Barcelona Meridiana
#223 of 513 in Barcelona
1,130 reviews
Poblenou
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
Ibis Barcelona Pza Glories 22
#194 of 513 in Barcelona
1,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SmartRoom Barcelona
#102 of 513 in Barcelona
401 reviews
NH Collection Barcelona Tower
#119 of 513 in Barcelona
2,516 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Barcelona La Maquinista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barcelona La Maquinista

Property: NH Barcelona La Maquinista
Address: Sao Paulo 33-37 | Sant Andreu, 08030 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH La Maquinista)
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#150 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Barcelona La Maquinista 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Barcelona La Maquinista is located in the northeastern part of Barcelona, Spain. This vibrant, international city is one of the most popular destinations in Europe and enjoys its situation at the forefront of fashion, entertainment, food and nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your NH Barcelona La Maquinista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh La Maquinista Hotel Barcelona
Nh La Maquinista Barcelona
Nh Hotels Barcelona
NH Barcelona La Maquinista Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing