We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities but no atmosphere and rude staff”
Review of Black Swan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Black Swan Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

After traveling for 3 months to date throughout Europe, we've found newer hostels can either be one of the best experiences of your trip or one of the worst. Unfortunately for black swan, it was more of the latter.

The hostel is located in a good location, not far from the arc de triomf metro station, and about a 10-15 min walk to la rambla. The facilities are new and what what you'd expect from a hostel that's only been open for 6 months. Great big kitchen, large bathrooms, warm showers, big common room, lockers with chargers in them, good wifi etc. The beds were comfy enough although all the mattress' were covered in hair in our 6 person mixed dorm and could do with a clean.

First impressions last and after a unwelcoming arrival to the hostel at 10pm, no orientation to the hostel or Barcelona, and just a rude staff member. We also had issues with checking out/moving rooms etc which would require a whole different post to explain fully!

The hostel seems to care more about keeping the neighbours happy than their guests. They shut down the lift at night, are meticulous about keeping the noise below 30 decibels and thus sucking all atmosphere out of the establishment. Don't come here expecting to enjoy a beer in the common room, sharing traveling experiences with new found friends as staff simply don't allow it. They are not a party hostel which compared to other Barcelona hostels is good at times, but you do feel like your in a prison camp depending on what staff member was on.

Not all is lost with black swan, the two girls on reception/cleaning are lovely and the hostel is slowly finding its feet. Kate, the staff member trying to start the pub crawl/ outings is great and with time hopefully the staff will relax, realise that the guests and the experience are what makes the hosteling great, not just new facilities.

We stayed a total of 4 nights and would I recommend the black swan? No, unless your after a place to sleep for one night only... Maybe with time, it will improve but I won't be back anytime soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GraceS5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

I'm not a huge fan of hostels all together but this hostel was incredible! It's fairly new so the accommodations were clean and modern. Security is great as there is always someone at the front door to buzz you in. Wifi throughout the whole place is great, as well as there is a computer area that has complimentary use. Location is wicked...about 5 minute walk to Ramblas. From what I've heard, it doesn't have the most hostel-y vibe, but for me it worked perfectly.

Room Tip: We stayed in a four person room. Lockers are included in the room for a 1euro rental fee. I imagin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacho S, Propietario at Black Swan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thanks Corey for the comment! We hope to see you again in Barcelona!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

staff were friendly, very helpful, had a great vibe, met some lovely people, incredibly clean! would 100% recommend it!
only problem was the rooms were very tightly packed with the bunk beds. apart from that was great, nice easy walk away from la ramblas and the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethA95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacho S, Owner at Black Swan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hey Beth, Thanks a lot for the review. Hope to see you again in Barcelona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed for a total of 3 days, and it was great. The hostel is very modern and clean and has a really relaxed atmosphere. Our room was quite small but clean and we all had a locker with a plug socket inside (very useful!) The staff were really friendly and helpful, advising us on where and what to see in the city and how to get there. Kate, who took us on the bar crawl on our final night was great fun and I think the scheduled events are a great idea! The location was great, very central and near to a metro. We definitely plan to return next summer- one of the best hostels I've stayed at.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank firky04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacho S, Owner at Black Swan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thanks for the review!! We already are planning new thing for the next months, so next summer I hope we surprise you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a great four nights at Black Swan Hostel. Most notably, the staff were incredible, always friendly and willing to go above and beyond. The staff were so accommodating that they allowed us to make several changes to our stay and even provided us with a refund on the nights that we cancelled abruptly.

If you're looking to meet people, this is the perfect hostel. Plenty of great activities run by the staff and awesome communal spaces. The kitchen is perfect and everybody hangs out in the corridors where the computers are. Unlike at most hostels, you'll find that most people end up going out together.

Black Swan Hostel is a refreshing change from the dirty, mouldy and rowdy hostel that travellers become accustomed to, it's got everything from state of the art facilities to super cool people. The lockers are also huge and have power sockets inside.

The only downsides were the location and the size of its rooms. The hostel's about a 10-15 minute walk away from everything, however still close to the heart of Barcelona (Las Ramblas and Plaza Catalunya). As for the rooms, they become quite cramped and difficult to manoeuvre within if there's a suitcase or two. But overall, a great new hostel!

Room Tip: Don't pick a 6 person dorm, they appear the smallest. You're better off choosing a bigger on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussiechuckster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacho S, Owner at Black Swan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Thanks for the review!! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I loved black swan! great location, great staff, and the social outings were so much fun. They made sure you felt welcome and had a great time in Barcelona. Also it was very clean and good facilities.

Room Tip: I think they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sara93_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacho S, Owner at Black Swan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hey Sara, thanks for the review. I hope we can see you again around here!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Great hostel, good location that was almost central but still quiet, facilities kept clean, and fellow customers kept to rules or were dealt with accordingly, making it a safe and pleasant place to stay. Great service, and the hostel outings in evenings were some of the most fun I had on holiday. I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BethanyFarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nacho S, Owner at Black Swan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hi Bethany, thanks a lot for the review. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Gracia
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
Yeah Barcelona Hostel
#4 of 735 in Barcelona
362 reviews
Eixample
Bed&Bike Barcelona
Bed&Bike Barcelona
#23 of 735 in Barcelona
237 reviews
Gracia
Jam Hostel Barcelona
Jam Hostel Barcelona
#31 of 735 in Barcelona
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
St Christopher's Inn Barcelona
Montjuic
Hostel One Paralelo
Hostel One Paralelo
#27 of 735 in Barcelona
359 reviews
Eixample
Barcelona Central Garden Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Swan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Swan Hostel

Address: Calle Ali Bei 15, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 735 Speciality Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range: £14 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Black Swan Hostel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Good vibes, comfy accommodations, and unforgettable fun make this chic, centrally located hostel the ideal place for your Barcelona vacation. Nestled in one of the city's coolest areas, Black Swan combines a friendly, relaxed atmosphere with exciting activities and sparkling nightlife. Our smiling staff is eager to share insider tips on the hottest things to see and do here in beautiful Barcelona. Your every need is met here at Black Swan. You'll enjoy free cooking lessons where you'll learn to prepare mouthwatering paella, movie nights, club outings, and summertime trips to the beach for a cold beer or game of voleivol (volleyball). Cruise the streets with bike and scooter rentals, and discover the city's rich history with entertaining tours - at Black Swan, your perfect Barcelona experience is our goal. We know traveling can be exhausting, so we've created a comfortable environment where you'll feel right at home. You'll sleep soundly in soft, clean beds, start your day strong with free breakfast cereals, steaming cups of tea and coffee, and refreshing fruit juice, and you'll have our fully-equipped kitchen to prepare a home cooked meal or to chat with fellow travelers. You'll find our front desk open 24 hours a day, so you can be sure you'll always have just what you need. You'll get free bed linens, free WiFi, free luggage storage, a convenient in-house laundry facility, and sparkling-clean bathrooms with piping hot showers where you can recharge after a fun day out on the town. This brand new, safe location is your ideal home away from home, and the best way to kick-start your Barcelona adventure. Here at Black Swan, life and energy abound day and night! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Black Swan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Swan Hostel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing