We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Black Swan Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Room Mate Gerard(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Rec Barcelona(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Catalonia Born(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Vapor Gran(Barcelona)
View Hotel
Hotel Urquinaona(Barcelona)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveller rating
290
94
22
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
290
94
22
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspaellapub crawlfree walkingfree dinnerfree activitiesfree lockerssalsa lessonscommunal kitchenbed dormarc de triomfflamenco showcommon areasgreat facilitiesspecial thanksa great staymain attractionsmetro station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 419 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This hostel is being run by a bunch of great people and it shows. Everyone is very helpful and friendly and you feel right at home the minute you step in. One of the best features is it's public kitchen which everyone can use to prepare a meal. Their wifi reception is excellent as well and the rooms offer more than enough space. The breakfast isn't anything special, but it's free anyway, so no real complaints there.

It's location is fairly good, sitting right between Parc de la Ciutadella and Placa de Catalunya. Sure, you have to walk for a little bit to get somewhere interesting, but it's no big deal. Also, there's a supermarket and night shop right around the corner. The single best feature though, is the overall welcoming atmosphere and how incredibly easy it is to get to know some new people. This is partly due to the layout of the hostel and partly due to the daily activities they organize. It really thrives!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This hostel is an excellent place to stay in Barcelona. It's very clean, cosy, well-equipped (they even have a real kitchen here!), with good wi-fi and great location - it occupies part of a beautiful historical building, and you can enjoy the view of the street and a nice small square. The Placa de Catalunya, Sagrada Familia, Port Vell, and Barceloneta are within walking distance from the hostel (well, it's a rather long walk from here to either of these locations, but Barcelona's centre is well worth walking from one location to another by foot!).

The staff are super friendly, attentive, and always ready to help. Oh, and the price is simply ridiculous, especially considering just how good this hostel is.

Next time I'm in Barcelona, I'll almost certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Athenaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

From the moment I arrived the staff was very kind, attentive, and helpful. They were able to offer many suggestions on sites and the easiest way to get to them, going beyond the typical tourist areas. They asked my interests and offered appropriate options, if they didn't know they tried to find out. I appreciated the free large lockers, hair dryers, luggage storage and towels were cheap enough. Each locker had a plug to charge your electronics and a USB port, although it did not work all the time. As for WiFi in the rooms, it was spotty at best and the best signal was downstairs in the common areas.

As with any hostel, noise can be an issue, but if you've ever stayed in one, you should know to bring earplugs and an eye mask. You never know the manners of your roommates. The beds were comfortable and firm and the sheets clean. While the kitchen is small, it was adequate for all of my needs. The showers had good water pressure and temp control. The location is good, it's not located on a busy noisy street, the metro is minutes away and there is a small market down the street.

LOCK EVERYTHING AWAY in the large free lockers. My shoes were stolen from under the bed. All others were left alone, so even if everyone else is leaving their belongings out lock yours away. All in all, I enjoyed the stay and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Room 101 has a lovely small balcony and the bathrooms are located down the hall.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CrystalMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Nati's awesome! When I was unhappy with the noise level from my room, she immediately offered me another room. She even offered to do a wake up call when my cell phone died and my alarm wouldn't work.

Would caution against noise, but Black Swan sports top facilities and impressive customer service.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I really liked the space and design of the place. The hostel is a bit offset from everything major but still easy access to metro and just 5 minute walk to attractions. I also really appreciated the free lockers to hold all the gear. However, the claimed wireless internet was not truly available in the room I had and had to always go to the common room. The claimed AC never worked and the door open in the middle of July doesn't cut it. The biggest annoyance was I was in a room of 6 in which 4 of the bunk beds were all connected, so if someone moved catty corner to you, so did you! That's what kept me up all night is the rolling of others not even below me! I will saw I did the free gaudi tour from the hostel and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polexican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews