We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tapas, service friendly but alow”
Review of La Peninsular

La Peninsular
Ranked #100 of 10,930 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$51
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Barceloneta
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Headed here based on TA reviews. Really enjoyed the tapas and wine and their service although slow was very friendly and helpful. Sweet little tables and chairs. I'm not sure I was blown away by the food, although it was good, however I always use TA for selecting where we eat, so I don't have anything bad to compare it to. I overheard a group say it was the best food they'd had in Barcelona.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank KPummell
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 370 of 2,854 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

Took the family here for a celebration meal and it was without a doubt the best meal I've ever eaten in Barcelona.
The staff are passionate about the food and took time to talk us through each dish and show us the fresh fish etc. We tried just about every dish on the menu and they were all faultless. We all agreed the Red Tuna was everyone's favourite. Really nice atmosphere too.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank alanthenomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Like many, we went for lunch based on TA ratings. Charming joint, but overpriced considering quality of food.

Bomba was a 5, baby squid croquetas a 4. Sole, Durada and meatballs with cod a 3. Monkfish, my favorite fisk, was a true disappointment. Not properly grilled and like a sponge. We give it a 1.

Both meatballs and sole was way too salty.

Nice service and authentic environment can't change the fact that this place is average at best.

Maybe other dishes are better, but don't expect too much if you go there.

We paid €80 for a lunch that would normally sum up to approx. €60.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 87AMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We chose this place based on previous reviews, and we were not disappointed. Upon entering we were immediately greeted and seated. The staff are multilingual and were happy to speak to us in Spanish or English. They have a standard menu of excellent tapas, and a changing Menu del Dia. Everything we had was expertly cooked and delicious. A bottle of wine was under 20 euros, and most dishes were 6-10 euros with simple pintxos between 1 and 2 euros.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank garhuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We came here for late lunch, the place is close to Barceloneta beach, but off the main street. The place is not big and food is really tasty, the price can be dear. Give it a try, you will love it.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gary3101984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed La Peninsular also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to La Peninsular? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.