We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Live Barcelona
Ranked #8 of 307 Barcelona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Unlike other budget hotels where you can hardly move around, this one has big rooms. We booked a standard double room which was very comfortable and well designed. Looks good inside you will not feel cramped. Has a small table and chair where you can do a little work with your laptop. It also has a balcony with table and chairs. Nice and clean bathroom. Centrally located with a grocery store right beside. Easy to find and is in a nice area of the city. Very helpful staff. You can't go wrong with this one. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CZWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalLiveBarcelona, Director de Recepción at Hostal Live Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your opinion!We really appreciate your time to give us your opinion, for us is always welcomed our guests help to improve our services. We are pleased to have had you with us and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

We spent two nights at the Hostal Live Barcelona last week, and we were very pleased!! The location is perfect, the bed is very comfortable, and the room and bathroom are both very clean and well maintained. Every member of the staff went out of their way for us - they were most gracious in storing our luggage and helping us find our way around the city and answering all of our questions We also enjoyed sitting on the balcony overlooking Grand Via while sipping our wine.

Additionally, there is a little pastry shop 3 doors down with excellent coffee and pastries that are out of this world!!

We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charliespr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hostal_Live_BCN, Responsabile reception at Hostal Live Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience and your pics too :D ! You were perfect guests, and we truly hope you will return soon :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Reception staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostal is very new and very comfortable. You can have breakfast in the terrace (great). Definitely a very pleasant surprise. Excellent price / quality. I'll stay here next time!

Room Tip: In the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vader25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalLiveBarcelona, Director de Recepción at Hostal Live Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your last visit to Hostal Live Barcelona on TripAdvisor.com

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the quality of our standards.

We would like to have the pleasure to welcoming you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Very well located, great sized rooms, very clean and at a great value for money.

My only issue was there is no desk with a char in the room...we all work on laptops when we travel and sitting in bed with a laptop is not good,,,,a desk and chair would make the stay perfect. They did have a table outside the room in a pvt. Terrace but its too cold to sit outside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank globetrotter1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalLiveBarcelona, Propietario at Hostal Live Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear guest,
We are so pleased you enjoied your stay at HLB. We have been seeing that some guests asked for a desk at their room, for that reason we have provided a desk in almost all rooms, in a short time there will be no room without desk. Thanks for your advise.
I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Hostal live was one of the best experiences I have had at any overnight stay anywhere. I highly recommend anyone that stays in Barcelona to stay here. The rooms are super clean and we were attended to very nicely by all of the employees.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cangos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalLiveBarcelona, Director de Recepción at Hostal Live Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2015

Thank you for your positive review. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

First things first, about Barcelona:
We spent only few days in January in Barcelona, but we enjoyed every minute (again). If you have not been there yet, you have to know that it is a “must”! In my opinion the Catalan capital is the most vibrant city in Europe. Ok, I do love London and yes, Berlin is a really, really cool city… but come on! the weather in Barcelona ist just amazing (almsot 20°C in January!!!!) and you will love to spend some of your time in the urban beaches and terraces, bars, etc. and the food… OMG!!!… the Spanish+Catalan food!!!

Ok, now about the Hotel:
It was our first time in the recently inaugurated Hostel. We actually booked it because the perfect-centric location, the attractive rates and the good ratings. Believe me, it was a really, really good decision. If you are looking for the pefect location, a comfortable accommodation, nice design and budget-friendly rates, give to this place a try... you will never regret it!
The hostel has a modern look, comfortable beds and it is really clean (they made our bed twice in a day, do you belive it?). The people working on the reception are great. If you are lucky you may meet one of the young entrepreneurs who run this place… they are pretty funny people. They gave us a lot of good (insider) tips about restaurants in the city and about the night life in Barcelona… seriously, they are really cool guys and they really do care about their customers…

We are looking forward to book our next weekend there, probably next April! Thanks again guys for the really nice-funny time! ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalLiveBarcelona, Director de Recepción at Hostal Live Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2014

Dear Guest, We appreciate your feedback and your time in giving us the opportunity to improve our services. We greatly appreciate the confidence you have placed in us as your hotel in Barcelona. We hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at the Hostal Live during the first week of December after making an online booking. From the reviews, we saw that it was a relatively new hostel which was central and close to the airport bus dropoff.

The hostel is located on a big, busy avenue which connects Plaza Catalunya and Plaza Espanya. It is 5 minutes walk from Urgell metro station, which is one of the airport bus stops. It occupies the parterre level of an old building. It is easy to miss.

Upon entry there is a small reception. The reception staff were all very friendly and helpful. All spoke good English. From the reception, you can also buy tickets to many tourist attractions with small discounts. The hostel has about 12 rooms. Our room (No 6) was the only room which faced an enclosure between buildings. The buildings being so tall, our room got no sunlight at all. To make things worse, the smell from sewerage pipes on the outside would come into the room. Every time we came back to the hostel we would be greeted by this horrible smell.

The room is has just enough space for a queen-size double bed. There is a tall single wardrobe, low TV stand on which to place things, and the HG TV is wall-mounted. The TV offered full cable channels with English options. The bathroom was small and had toilet, wash sink and shower. There is no bath. The shower unit is stupidly built on a higher level. There is a half-step to assist entry to the shower booth, but it is so stupidly built. Basically, it is a triangular step which is on the wrong side of the shower booth, and offers a half-step assist since the cubicle doors slide halfway only (see my photo).

There are no radiators in the room at all. Heating is controlled by a wall panel which was luckily functioning. The air vent was located in the main room. Our room felt more like something which one would find in Japan. Even an Ibis Budget has bigger rooms. But I suppose for a price of 54 euro / night in a central location of Barcelona justifies this.

Cleanliness: Basically what you see is clean. However, I slid my small suitcase under the bed. When I pulled it out, I discovered the underside of the suitcase covered with dust.

Aside from the room, there is one desktop computer which has internet access. Wi-fi is free (which is not the norm in Spain) and the hostel's wi-fi was reliable. However, mobile signal was not possible for me in room 6 (I was using a Spanish Lycamobile sim card) and I had to ask to use the hostel's telephone.

For 3.50 euro, you can opt for the hostel's breakfast. Don't bother as there are many many cafes just outside the hostel. To Plaza Catalunya it takes 10-15 minutes on foot. Placa Espanya takes 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Request any room except Room 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fargone2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HostalLiveBarcelona, Owner at Hostal Live Barcelona, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

We are very pleasured you liked the hotel, its facilities and the receptionist staff but we are very surprised and we'd like you to apologise for having dust under the bed. We are very concerned about cleaness, that's why all rooms are cleaned every day.
As you said this room is the smallest room in the hotel (11m2 + bathroom 4m2) In order to improve the room quality we have provided a practicable and furnished patio where to have a breakfast, drink,smoke or just relaxing outside.

By the way, the reason the shower is 15cm raised is for drain purposes.

We hope we can acomodate you in a near future again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#81 of 515 in Barcelona
2,249 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Centric
Hostal Centric
#16 of 307 in Barcelona
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gracia
Casa Gracia
Casa Gracia
#30 of 307 in Barcelona
1,343 reviews
Gracia
Generator Hostel Barcelona
Generator Hostel Barcelona
#24 of 735 in Barcelona
1,564 reviews
Eixample
Hostal Martinval
Hostal Martinval
#23 of 307 in Barcelona
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Live Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Live Barcelona

Address: Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 547 Entresuelo, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range: £49 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Live Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostal Live Barcelona is located on central Barcelona's Gran Via Avenue, 10 minutes' walk from Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya Square and Plaza Espana Square. All rooms are provided with free wifi, its own air conditioning/heating control panel and private bathroom with hairdryer as well. Inaugurated in August 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostal Live Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Live Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing