We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Olivia Balmes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #12 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

My first stay at an Olivia Hotel and I was very impressed. Like many other hotels in Barcelona and Madrid, this one has been rebuilt within the last decade and is being maintained very well. The black metal window frames and black interior paneling contrast with the white leather furniture in the lobby and bar/breakfast space. The dark wood flooring in the hallways and rooms contrasts nicely with the white walls and bedding and some darker accents. Another interesting room layout, with small toilet in its own closed space, in room sink, and big white shower with a rain head with a glass divider to separate the sleeping area from the bathroom closet area. I left it open and enjoyed the feeling of a big spacious room.

The bar in the lobby is small with just 5 tall chairs, but there are many tables and booths, since this area doubles as the breakfast space. A small but good selection of things to drink at the bar. A nice place to wait for friends, but not a place to be seen or as a destination.

Like many (every) Hotels in Spain, you'll get the up sell for breakfast when you check in. The up sell price is a few Euro less than the walk in rate. In general its an ok buffet with a small but good selection of meats, fruit, breads, yogurt, cereal, and juices. A 2 station Nespresso coffee maker makes good coffee or hot water for tea, but the selection of coffees was limited. Only 3 to choose from, Ristreto, Lungo and decafinato. Nespresso make 10 coffees for this machine, and I would expected to see at least the Espresso Forte, and the Lungo Legerro, if not all ten.

My room was kept clean and everything worked good. But, the staff didn't seem to follow the towel replacement scheme, I was hanging my towels up, but still received new clean towels every day.

Room Tip: Rooms x15 and x16 (where the x is the floor), are right over the entrance and face the center of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MackStWgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,471
    427
    40
    3
    6
See reviews for
411
1,025
59
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We arrived on Thursday 14th November for a short 3 day 2 night trip in celebration of our 20th Anniversary. We decided that we wanted something a little special for the occasion. We were not disappointed.
The first thing you notice (other than the beautiful city) is the large open reception at the hotel, which then opens onto the restaurant. We were welcomed in a professional but enthusiastic way and time was taken to check us into a room that suited. I had emailed ahead of our trip to ask for a quiet room. We were then provided with information about the hotel and restaurant and went to our room.
What a surprise. A large immaculate room awaited with all the facilities you could require (although us Brits would have liked tea and coffee making facilities). The room was spotless, so much so that when I managed to spill water all over the floor and only had a white towel to clean it with the towel didn't have a mark on it! Very modern and minimalistic but to great effect. One further surprise was the bottle of champagne and strawberries dipped in chocolate left for us with a congratulations card to celebrate our Anniversary!
On inquiring at the reception we found them to be very helpful, giving us suggestions on places to visit and when, how to negotiate the local transport system including the cheapest and most effective ways to buy tickets!
On our first night we used the hotel restaurant and again we were not disappointed. We had been expecting high prices but it was no more expensive than eating at an average restaurant here and the food was excellent. Admittedly as it was November the restaurant like the hotel was fairly quiet but the service was impeccable, thanks to the staff for great food and drink suggestions.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely visit again and would recommend to anyone going to Barcelona. It was within one street of the Metro but we actually walked to the main shopping area and central Barcelona. It has lots of shops, restaurants and coffee bars just on the door step too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a very new, bright, modern and clean hotel. It is a short walk to shops on Passeig de Gracia and there are lots of coffee shops and places to eat nearby. Desk staff were very friendly and welcoming. Since it rained the entire 3 days, the hotel gave me the use of a good quality umbrella (with a 100% refundable deposit). The complimentary WiFi worked flawlessly and was reasonably fast. I didn't watch much TV but the nice flat screen was wall-mounted, large but could be hidden away. The motion detection on the night lights were a nice touch when getting up in the middle of the night to use the restroom. Very large shower with overhead rainhead and hand wand. If I had to nitpick, although I faced the street and heard no street noise, occasionally the metro trains would shake the entire building. And I know it is common in Europe, but two twin beds side-by-side is NOT the same as a king bed. Its a bit of a walk from the Eurobus from the airport; arriving from the airport, get off at Universitat. Going back, you'll have to walk to Pl. de Catalunya. However, taxis are always close at hand.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

It's a brand new hotel located in a smart shopping area in Barcelona. 10min walk from Placa Catalunya and 20 min walk from the old city, it is right next to a train station (1 stop to Placa Catalunya) or 5 min walk to the nearest metro.
Rooms are very well designed, with built in furniture and smart fittings and lovely powerful shower. I would call the design cool minimalist, if it wasn't spoilt by orangey-brown bed covers and matching 'artwork', added, I am guessing, by someone different to the original designer, in a misguided effort to 'warm up' the feel of the room. Sadly it brought down the tone for me a notch, but I might be in minority here.
Beds are, as usual in Spain, pushed together to form a double bed, fortunately each of them is big enough for 2 if you fancy a snuggle.
As previous reviewers mentioned you can hear the trains running underneath the hotel a bit and there is a little bit of noise audible from the street, but it did not bother us at all.
The corridors are lit in an inventive way, creating a mysterious atmosphere.
The best feature are the very helpful and friendly staff, who are never to busy to help you, they have printed all our pre-booked tickets for us (don't even think about going to La Sagrada Familia without pre-booking on-line).
We didn't have breakfast there as we were too tempted by delicious morsels in cafes/bakeries nearby. Our favourite was Crusto on Valencia.
On the whole a very pleasant stay, although I couldn't try out the rooftop pool due to a cold, which is always a disappointment.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monja16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This hotel blew me away with their top class service: welcoming me and my husband with some surprise champagne to celebrate our anniversary, guiding us to a fabulous tapas restaurant where we could avoid other tourists and helped us to book a table at a fabulous restaurant after already helping us to book a table at another one which was fully booked. Not only did they book a table for us, they printed out their menu and sent it to our room.
The location of the hotel is great for sightseeing as well as "living Barcelona" rather than visit all the sights. The rooms have an innovative design, super fresh and clean. The pool is open all year around (not common for any of the other hotels I have stayed with in BCN). I will absolutely come back here. Thank you Rudolp and staff for a fabulous weekend!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
94 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We Stayed in Olivia Balmes hotel for 5 nights. It is very new, nice, clean and modern. The personnel is extremely friendly and accommodating.

The location of the hotel is fantastic, near LaRambla and Passeig de Gràcia very close to great tapas especially (Cerveseria Catalana, Tapas 24, La Bodegueta Provença – so food options and shops are in pleasant walking. Farga is also very close (one of the best places to have a coffee, sweets or breakfast in Barcelona)

We booked a premium room and initially we had a room on the 4th floor, however we had some problems with the Wi-Fi Internet in the room and we were moved in a Junior Suite on the 5th floor, which was way better, because it faced the back yard and was very quiet.

We had Internet in the Junior suite but it was very slow, almost dead at times.

I can recommend all the rooms facing the back yard, especially if you like to sleep on open doors, because the other rooms facing Balmes street you can hear quite a noise with open windows. The windows however are very serious and if you close them you cannot hear nothing.

I had breakfast in the hotel only once, and the breakfast is very nice

For me the location of the hotel is very nice, especially because we went to Camp Nou for the Barca – Espanyol game. From Camp Nou after the game is almost impossible to take taxi and coming back with Metro is your best option. It is so easy to take the Metro from Diagonal station to the stadium (To Colliblanc). Diagonal station is 2 minutes’ walk from the hotel.

Olivia Balmes hotel is great value for the price you pay. The only problem is the Internet, which is free but is really, really slow. I assume that because the hotel is only open for few months now, probably the management will solve that problem. I really hope !

On the day of my birthday, which I celebrated in Barcelona we got a nice bottle of cava and chocolate strwaberries. Nice gesture !

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the back yard, They are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ivo_k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Olivia Balmes Hotel for four nights. This is a brand new boutique hotel by the Olivia brand. It is very beautiful, yet simply decorated in an ultra modern style. Our room looked out onto the square, but it was rather quiet due to the very thick floor to ceiling glass windows. From the beginning it was a great experience. The staff is outstanding. The beds are comfortable. The hotel has a restaurant which serves a great breakfast buffet for €16, and includes an assortment of high quality foods (eggs, bacon, sausages, fruit, amazing coffee and an assortment of breads, croissants, and pastries). But there is no coffee maker in the rooms, or an ice bucket.
The hotel is located two blocks from the Passeig de Gracia (the main high end shopping district) and several of the famous Gaudi buildings, yet it feels far enough from the throng of tourists that flock to the avenue. If you are not European, make sure you get a crash course on how to operate all the lights, faucets, and H/C!
We loved the hotel and would stay in it again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Josiebherrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#11 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#10 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#6 of 522 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Property: Olivia Balmes Hotel
Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing