We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #16 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Stayed at Olivia Balmes for 2 nights.

It is centrally located and within walking distance to Casa batllo and hop off/on buses. Lots of small cafes and bakeries close by (Patisserie Mauri was our favourite) The front desk staff were very knowledgeable, welcoming and eager to help. Check in was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonfly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,382)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,558 - 1,564 of 2,382 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

What you need to know:
• Greeted in English. There was always someone at the front desk that spoke English.
• Front desk was very helpful. Recommended great restaurant and other information on the area.
• On our first night, we were delighted when staff brought us a complimentary platter of chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of water.
• We brought the wrong electrical adapters, so they provided us with 2 (which we returned). Pictures of the required adapters uploaded for reference
• Our basic room was modern, hip, new and sleek. The bathroom was part of the room for an open concept, spacious feel. (Toilet in separate room). Sliding glass door partitioned bathroom from bedroom area as needed.
• The Queen bed was very comfortable, and came with 2 body pillows and 2 standard pillows, and down comforter, plus a heavier throw.
• The bathroom had a lighted magnifying mirror. The shower had a waterfall shower plus a handheld sprayer. Bath towels are large. Box of bathroom amenities provided.
• Room came with a comfy chair and side table, a desk and mini fridge. Not much room for personal items in mini fridge.
• We stayed in room 421, which overlooked Carrer de Provenca at the corner of Carrer de Balmes. The view from our window was of the apartments across the street, which were partially blocked by the trees. (Good for privacy)
• Soft music plays in the hallways
• Although too cold to go in the unheated infinity pool, I did sit out in the sun on the lawn chairs. The view from the pool deck is, well, of distant apartment balconies with laundry hanging out, and television antennas. Can also see Montjuic in the distance.
• There are pastry shops and mini markets on every block.
• The Provencia Metro is steps from the hotel door. Lines L-7, L-5, L-3 can be accessed here. Less than a mile to walk to Playa Catalunya / Las Rambles.
• Walls are a bit thin. If you are a light sleeper bring ear plugs.
• Insert room key into wall slot to turn on power to the lights/tv.

I would stay here again and recommend to friends! I give this hotel a 5 out of 5!

Room Tip: Room 421 overlooks side street Carrer de Provincia, near corner. A quiter room than if we had faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Demaris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Just returned yesterday from a 2 night stay at Olivia Balmes Hotel in Barcelona. This was our first visit to Barcelona and I have to say after doing a lot of research beforehand our expectations were exceeded on all accounts.
Location: Upon arrival at El Prat Airport we bought a ticket for the Aerobus which leaves every 5 minutes and is around 30 minute trip into Cataluña Square. We walked to the hotel from the square which is around 15-20 mins but next time we would use a taxi for ease [approx. 5 euros]. We got a taxi back to the airport from the hotel which cost 25 Euros and worth it at the end of our trip as our legs were tired.
Hotel: I did lots of research beforehand and read all the reviews on here for the top 20 hotels and opted for the Olivia Balmes. It is so far the best hotel we have ever stayed in... Olivia Balmes was amazing. The hotel is boutique style, chic and inviting with its discreet lighting throughout the hotel. We arrived around 7pm in the hotel and found the reception staff to be smart and professional. We were booked in swiftly which was great as we couldn't wait to get into our room after travelling since before lunch. We were pleased to learn that we had been given a free upgrade by the reception staff [room 618] and the room was warm when we stepped in. WOW was our first thought. The room had floor to ceiling glass windows with fantastic views. The room was spotless, everything shone from the floors to the glass doors on the toilet and the separate shower room!! The bedding was crisp, fresh towels and toiletries were included in the maid service each day which was nice to come back to. Some reviewers didn't like the glass doors on the toilet and shower but the glass was opaque and discreet and people shouldn't be put off by this - we had a choice of a fountain shower or a handheld shower - both worked great and the shower cubicle was massive. The room itself had innovative lighting ideas such as floor lighting during the night with sensors. The bed was huge! we had a brilliant sleep both nights, the rooms are soundproofed so no noise other than a very slight rumble from the trains now and again and tbh if my boyfriend hadn't pointed it out, I wouldn't have noticed it, that's how slight it was! The only thing I missed was tea and coffee making facilities in the room when I woke up. This is the first hotel I have ever stayed in that doesn't provide them. We did use the mini bar on a couple of occasions for non alcoholic drinks and a beer, prices were on par with mini bar prices throughout Europe. There was sufficient choice at breakfast and small restaurant was spotless and food area was very clean and waiting staff were efficient.

Barcelona itself was great and the staff offered to book Segada Familia online for us whilst we had breakfast which saved a 4 hour queue time which was fantastic. 2 days was not enough at Barcelona to do everything we needed so we will definitely return and stay at the Olivia Balmes Hotel and I would recommend it to all travelers whether couples, business, family or solo. thank you Olivia Balmes your hotel and staff are one to be proud of!

Room Tip: 618 on 6th floor was great with lovely views out to the front of the building... you can even see on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My first stay at an Olivia Hotel and I was very impressed. Like many other hotels in Barcelona and Madrid, this one has been rebuilt within the last decade and is being maintained very well. The black metal window frames and black interior paneling contrast with the white leather furniture in the lobby and bar/breakfast space. The dark wood flooring in the hallways and rooms contrasts nicely with the white walls and bedding and some darker accents. Another interesting room layout, with small toilet in its own closed space, in room sink, and big white shower with a rain head with a glass divider to separate the sleeping area from the bathroom closet area. I left it open and enjoyed the feeling of a big spacious room.

The bar in the lobby is small with just 5 tall chairs, but there are many tables and booths, since this area doubles as the breakfast space. A small but good selection of things to drink at the bar. A nice place to wait for friends, but not a place to be seen or as a destination.

Like many (every) Hotels in Spain, you'll get the up sell for breakfast when you check in. The up sell price is a few Euro less than the walk in rate. In general its an ok buffet with a small but good selection of meats, fruit, breads, yogurt, cereal, and juices. A 2 station Nespresso coffee maker makes good coffee or hot water for tea, but the selection of coffees was limited. Only 3 to choose from, Ristreto, Lungo and decafinato. Nespresso make 10 coffees for this machine, and I would expected to see at least the Espresso Forte, and the Lungo Legerro, if not all ten.

My room was kept clean and everything worked good. But, the staff didn't seem to follow the towel replacement scheme, I was hanging my towels up, but still received new clean towels every day.

Room Tip: Rooms x15 and x16 (where the x is the floor), are right over the entrance and face the center of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MackStWgns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We arrived on Thursday 14th November for a short 3 day 2 night trip in celebration of our 20th Anniversary. We decided that we wanted something a little special for the occasion. We were not disappointed.
The first thing you notice (other than the beautiful city) is the large open reception at the hotel, which then opens onto the restaurant. We were welcomed in a professional but enthusiastic way and time was taken to check us into a room that suited. I had emailed ahead of our trip to ask for a quiet room. We were then provided with information about the hotel and restaurant and went to our room.
What a surprise. A large immaculate room awaited with all the facilities you could require (although us Brits would have liked tea and coffee making facilities). The room was spotless, so much so that when I managed to spill water all over the floor and only had a white towel to clean it with the towel didn't have a mark on it! Very modern and minimalistic but to great effect. One further surprise was the bottle of champagne and strawberries dipped in chocolate left for us with a congratulations card to celebrate our Anniversary!
On inquiring at the reception we found them to be very helpful, giving us suggestions on places to visit and when, how to negotiate the local transport system including the cheapest and most effective ways to buy tickets!
On our first night we used the hotel restaurant and again we were not disappointed. We had been expecting high prices but it was no more expensive than eating at an average restaurant here and the food was excellent. Admittedly as it was November the restaurant like the hotel was fairly quiet but the service was impeccable, thanks to the staff for great food and drink suggestions.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely visit again and would recommend to anyone going to Barcelona. It was within one street of the Metro but we actually walked to the main shopping area and central Barcelona. It has lots of shops, restaurants and coffee bars just on the door step too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki8813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is a very new, bright, modern and clean hotel. It is a short walk to shops on Passeig de Gracia and there are lots of coffee shops and places to eat nearby. Desk staff were very friendly and welcoming. Since it rained the entire 3 days, the hotel gave me the use of a good quality umbrella (with a 100% refundable deposit). The complimentary WiFi worked flawlessly and was reasonably fast. I didn't watch much TV but the nice flat screen was wall-mounted, large but could be hidden away. The motion detection on the night lights were a nice touch when getting up in the middle of the night to use the restroom. Very large shower with overhead rainhead and hand wand. If I had to nitpick, although I faced the street and heard no street noise, occasionally the metro trains would shake the entire building. And I know it is common in Europe, but two twin beds side-by-side is NOT the same as a king bed. Its a bit of a walk from the Eurobus from the airport; arriving from the airport, get off at Universitat. Going back, you'll have to walk to Pl. de Catalunya. However, taxis are always close at hand.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krw1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

It's a brand new hotel located in a smart shopping area in Barcelona. 10min walk from Placa Catalunya and 20 min walk from the old city, it is right next to a train station (1 stop to Placa Catalunya) or 5 min walk to the nearest metro.
Rooms are very well designed, with built in furniture and smart fittings and lovely powerful shower. I would call the design cool minimalist, if it wasn't spoilt by orangey-brown bed covers and matching 'artwork', added, I am guessing, by someone different to the original designer, in a misguided effort to 'warm up' the feel of the room. Sadly it brought down the tone for me a notch, but I might be in minority here.
Beds are, as usual in Spain, pushed together to form a double bed, fortunately each of them is big enough for 2 if you fancy a snuggle.
As previous reviewers mentioned you can hear the trains running underneath the hotel a bit and there is a little bit of noise audible from the street, but it did not bother us at all.
The corridors are lit in an inventive way, creating a mysterious atmosphere.
The best feature are the very helpful and friendly staff, who are never to busy to help you, they have printed all our pre-booked tickets for us (don't even think about going to La Sagrada Familia without pre-booking on-line).
We didn't have breakfast there as we were too tempted by delicious morsels in cafes/bakeries nearby. Our favourite was Crusto on Valencia.
On the whole a very pleasant stay, although I couldn't try out the rooftop pool due to a cold, which is always a disappointment.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monja16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#1 of 518 in Barcelona
338 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#17 of 518 in Barcelona
1,163 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#10 of 518 in Barcelona
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
Yurbban Passage Hotel & Spa
#4 of 518 in Barcelona
143 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#64 of 518 in Barcelona
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £84 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing