We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best front desk service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best front desk service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

On the second day of my trip, someone stole my cell phone. I was devastated as I had all my personal information on the phone and I didn't know what to do. The front desk people were amazing, they were caring and very professional. Lana (I think was her name) was especially helpful. Rooms are very clean and well designed. I would recommend this hotel without reservation!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gojen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,531
    443
    44
    4
    6
See reviews for
428
1,071
64
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Well what a fantastic hotel. My cousin (28) and I (33) have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Olivia Balmes Hotel and we werent disappointed. Its trendy, spotlessly clean, modern and is designed brilliantly. It has low lighting throughout so no glaring overhead lights and it makes it really warming and soft. The lobby was a large open plan space and the staff were some of the friendliest, kind, inviting staff we have ever come across. They always greeted you when entering the lobby and as we were catching the Barcelona Bus to Girona airport they printed out the timetables for us and told us of all the best sites to visit and recommended a lovely tapas bar that was just 2 blocks away. When we asked about them keeping our luggage after we had checked out (as our flight wasnt until 2050) they even gave us free late check out so we could go out for the day and still go back to our room to pack and get ready for our flight back (however I would imagine that this was due to them being quiet as it was just after the new year so not in peak season).

The hotel is situated right near all the major sites and on our second day we walked to La Sagrada Familia which took about 15/20 mins. We pre-booked our tickets for the hop-on, hop-off bus tour which was definitely worth it as it took you up into the hills and round all the major sites. We flew into Girona airport with Ryanair which we didnt realise at the time was an hour away from Barcelona centre, so we had a bit of a nightmare trying to find a transfer to the hotel. We ended up relying on the 'Barcelona Bus' which sets its times to Ryanair flights. There was no problem in catching this bus from the airport, even though we were 25 mins late, but we lost a few hours coming home because there was only 1 bus we could catch to go back to the airport (so please bear this in mind if flying with Ryanair!).

The room was brilliant, it was immaculate and has a really modern design. The bathroom and bedroom is all one room with large frosted glass doors that close and separate the two. The shower is amazing which a very large shower head on the ceiling, however the person in the bedroom can see everything, so be aware if you are travelling with a friend! There is a smart TV on the wall which is great but there is only 2 english channels.

As it was the beginning of January we didnt go swimming in the roof top pool but make sure you go up there and have a look because its beautiful. Again, its immaculate and designed very minimally and Im sure it will be great in the summer. The view from the pool is disappointing as the neighbouring buildings look like they are about to fall down (as do a lot of the buildings in Barcelona!)

Some people have said the internet connection is poor, but neither of us had any problems connecting and we both had great signal in the room. There is a very powerful travel hairdryer in the room but no tea or coffee facilities. If you ask at the restaurant in the lobby before you go up to your room you can take a hot drink up with you. There is a box of complimentary goods that exceed the norm - shaving kit, facial kit, nail kit, as well as the usual shampoo, shower gels etc. There is plenty of wardrobe space and there is also a small seating area by the window. Some people also complained of the noise from the street and as Id read comments before we arrived Id emailed the hotel in advance to ask for a room higher up and to ask for twin beds as our booking stated a queen bed. They replied straight away and we got what Id asked for - we were put on the 5th floor and had twin beds. We never even noticed the traffic noise so that was not a problem for us. This is another reason why the staff were so helpful - because of our problem with the airport transfer Id emailed the hotel a few times to ask for advice on how to get there - they replied to every email and sometimes I got a reply back within the hour.

We didnt eat at the hotel as their breakfast was quite expensive (16 euros) but there are 20 cafes and restaurants in every direction, so we ate out and a coissant is only 1.50

Overall, one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and we cant complain on anything. Most highly recommended and I will definitely stay there again when I go back.

Room Tip: We asked for a higher floor based on other reviews about the noise of the street - whether that made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kethorlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This hotel is situated in the trendy area of Barcelona and is by all means a very trendy hotel. The hotel is walking distance to Las Ramblas and most of the Gaudi sites. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and open planned. Bed was comfortable but I could not understand the concept of having the shower in the bedroom. Call me old fashion but I prefer a proper bathroom. But that's my opinion. Maybe that's the future of hotel concepts. My husband quite liked the concept.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Safiya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel last month for two nights and had a very pleasant stay. It has only recently opened so the bathrooms are spotless and well designed. The decor throughout the hotel is very stylish and modern. We asked for a bed for my 8-year old and he was given a very comfortable put-up bed. The location is perfect - about a 20 minute walk to the main shopping areas and not far to the nearest tube.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuziPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel. Everything was new and clean. Our room was large and extremely comfortable. We had separate areas for reading/sitting, bathroom, toilet and sleeping. The room lay out is open plan, but sliding dividing doors allow the room to feel cosy when they're closed. the room had a couple of censored lights which were great for providing enough light if you moved at night but didn't want to wake your partner turning the main lights on.
The hotel staff were brilliant and always provided great advice/answers to our questions.
We were only disappointed we travelled in winter and therefore didn't get chance to try the pool.
Zero complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mel-c55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I traveled to Barcelona over Christmas and we stayed at this great hotel. It's practically brand new. The room was very nice sized by European standards, the location is a bit off the beaten path of La Rambla, but still close enough to walk. Then hotel staff was great and always helpful. If you are in Barcelona it's a great quite place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sircaralot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nites, large clean modern room..comfy beds and walking distance to a lot of good restaurants and about 15-20min walk to rambla...the internet connection was horrible-that was prolly biggest complaint..staff friendly..and a gym would be nice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tony t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#23 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#9 of 521 in Barcelona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Property: Olivia Balmes Hotel
Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing