We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, amazing service, okay ammenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #20 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I recently spent 8 nights in Barcelona on a business trip and stayed at the Olivia Balmes Hotel. The location is amazing! I could easily walk a bit to the La Ramblas area to enjoy some touristy stuff, or hop over to any of the many metro stations nearby. There were plenty of restaurants and bars nearby to make getting out with co-workers, customers, and partners very easy and enjoyable. The staff were amazing - kind, concerned, and accommodating at every opportunity. The building was clean, relatively modern, and easy to get around in. While the room was clean and functional, it was a little small and the bed was a bit hard - may all hotels I've been in while visiting Barcelona have been similar.

The breakfast was good, but lacked what I really wanted when they made room for unique foods for the international businessmen who arrived a few days after I did.

Overall, I love the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fcflint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,493 - 1,499 of 2,331 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

We were booked in elsewhere in the city, which was grim, so searched on here and found the Olivia which is a reasonable 4* in a good location.
All looks fairly new, modern decor, nice rooms and the staff were very polite and helpful.
The only, very small, gripe is that the food menus were very limited, but not really a problem in a city like Barcelona...

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank D6AN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed for a couple of nights whilst visiting Barcelona for the football !! Very welcoming and helpful staff on front desk, absolutely spotless. found the room very comfortable, lovely huge bath and shower. unfortunately didn't have time to check out the pool and restaurant as only there for a couple days but will definitely be going back for a longer stay next time. Ideally located within walking distance of tourist attractions and La Rambles. Great place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janderbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Have just got back from a 3 night stay at Olivia Balmes hotel. What can I say ?? One of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff were friendly and approachable, and more than anything, helpful. I have to mention Eduardo from the reception area, who gave us lots of helpful advice.
The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, from the hotel frontage right up to the rooftop area and the pool, which looked so inviting but a tad cold for me.
Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choice.
Will definitely go back to Barcelona, and the Olivia Balmes will be the hotel we will stay in.
Keep up the good work

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived we felt like royalty. Welcome drink whilst the manager got me a table at tickets! (a 1 Michelin star tapas bar-normally a 4 month waiting list!) happy days. Very friendly and helpful staff and good at advising what to do when. Nice breakfast buffet including champagne. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Bed wasn't perfect but the shower made up for it! Great hotel, best I've ever been to!
Thanks to all the staff

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cdingle89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Fantastic hotel- will come back here again and again. Clean and tidy rooms, super friendly staff and great location. There are fantastic restaurants very close by and you can easily walk to the center of town.

Room Tip: Excelent hotel- did not check the fitness center but the pool looks amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank CEllerker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great location: only a 15min walk the La Rambla, but far away enough to not pay La Rambla prices. Very clean, funky rooms. On an intersection but the double-glazing makes teh place very very quiet and great for sleep-ins. Check out the rooftop/pool, even if you don't swim, it's really cool. The staff are very handsome and friendly too :)
Tea & coffee making facilities would have been nice, but otherwise I had a wonderful stay. Will rebook.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank xang11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
310 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#32 of 515 in Barcelona
4,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#9 of 515 in Barcelona
437 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
942 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
4,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £115 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing