We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel & excellent staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel & excellent staff!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Olivia Balmes for 4 nights in April and had a fantastic stay. It's a lovely modern hotel which is spotlessly clean. Rooms are open plan with everything you need. Only suggestion would be to put an iron and ironing board in every room, rather than having to ring and borrow one.

The rooftop pool and terrace area is so nice in the sunshine!

Location is good, just a short walk the the Ramblas but a bit further to the beach. There's a metro stop nearby though so can access anywhere in the city in minutes.

The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. So good at getting taxis and advising on places to visit.

Would definitely recommend to anybody! Thank you Olivia Balmes for such a nice stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sophie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,678
    483
    46
    5
    6
See reviews for
487
1,155
74
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

stayed there for few nights in april and the hotel has a very good location
the rooms are not very big but modern
we did not have lunch or breakfast but I thought the restaurant and the bar area was not that interesting to eat or have drink. Too "coold" looking area in my view

there is a great swimming pool on the top and the staff were great in my view, from choosing restaurants ( go for Da Greco ) to other issues

will go there again

Room Tip: due to traffic stay on the top floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lukka998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We liked tis hotel very much, very good location, not far from Paseo de Gracia and Gaudi's houses (three blocks to Pedrera and six to casa Batllo). The room was comfortable and chic, queen size bed, nice staff. We ate in the restaurant, there's a wonderful menu that costs about 20 euros, with water, wine, dessert and coffee, twas great!! I really recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location of the hotel fantastic, in the heart of Example near many cafes, restaurants, shops, and many of the popular attractions such as Casa Balta etc, But enough away from Rambla (for those of us who are allergic to massive number of tourists walking aimlessly up and down any street!), but still near enough for those who like to walk there. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable and very efficient. The hotel itself is modern, well appointed and elegant. Rooms are on the small side (not for Europe though), but quiet and well appointed. I personally liked the large walk in shower, just thought that the bathroom (which was pretty large) could have been better arranged to allow for make up stuff around the sink and a shelf or a hook for the towels.

The only weak point in my opinion was the furniture. The bed was nice and comfy but the room lacked a comfortable chair to sit on, the only chair in the room was ok for work, but not for sitting and reading and there was nothing to sit on and enjoy the outdoors (I had a nice little balcony) . In general the furniture looked kind of cheap looking in contrast with the rest of the hotel! All in all, I will definitely go back (I love Barcelona)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wwtravelerBoston_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucarest
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This hotel is situated two blocks away from LA Rambla.
Service - excellent, staff very helpful, very very good breakfast choice, room very clean, large size screen TV. Standard room is quite spacious, with very modern look and furniture. Soundproof is excellent.
It is a very good base to explore Barcelona, lot of shops nearby,
Strange bathroom, with no walls and only glass diving the room from the bathroom, but still ok.
I want to tell you again about breakfast: despite the fact that we stayed one week, we did not have the usual issue when you stay so long in one hotel: every morning we could eat something different. Plenty of fresh vegetables and fruit, and not only.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This was our first trip to Barcelona - a Christmas present for my wife - and the hotel proved to be an excellent choice.

Unusually for us we chose an ultra modern hotel, on the basis of the location in the L'Eixample district. Reading other recent reviews, I agree that there was some noise from other guests using their bathrooms and slight fluctuations in the shower temperature, but I guess it depends on one's tolerance levels as to whether these are deal breakers. Personally, I don't think these minor issues should detract from the many positives.

Reception staff went out of their way to be polite and friendly, always greeting us with a 'good morning', 'hola', or an offer of help. Although we had researched Barcelona extensively before our visit so didn't feel we needed much help, we overheard conversations between the concierge and other guests that suggested a wide and varied knowledge of the city, services and sights, contrary to what others have said. Again, I suppose it depends what one is looking for from a holiday - for us one of the pleasures of trips abroad is discovering things for oneself rather than having everything on a plate, but each to their own.

We did not eat in the hotel but from what we saw, meals were well presented and very reasonably priced, as were the drinks, of which we did partake.

The rooms were well appointed and maintained and 'a bit different'.

All-in-all we couldn't fault the hotel..and what really made it for us was a free upgrade, champagne and petits fours on the day of arrival.

Choose this hotel if you want high standards of service in modern surroundings and a great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JM2360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just home from an amazing 5 night stay in the Olivia Balmes Hotel for my boyfriend's birthday and I cannot praise both the staff and hotel itself enough. When we went to check in we we're informed by a member of staff - named Josep - that our room had been upgraded free of charge (result!). The gentleman then proceeded to tell us the best places to go/things to do, where to eat and where we could go if we fancied a night out as it was our first time visiting the city; he also told us about the metro system (very similar to that of the london underground) and that the best ticket would be the 10 journeys for 10 euros, which we could use between us both (5 journeys each) and the nearest metro station is on the next corner. The location of the hotel is great, a 5 minute walk from all the main shops and 10 minutes, if that, from La Ramblas but if you're not keen on walking to metro is just as easy to take. The rooms are very spacious, modern and clean, we had a room on the front of the building overlooking the busy street that ran alongside the hotel but have absolutely no complaints about noise as the room was virtually soundproofed. The only thing i found a little strange was that the rooms didn't have proper separate bathrooms but instead have a frosted glass shower, large sink and cupboard-like toilet cubicle in the room; although the idea of this was a novel one to me and my partner it did not bother us at all. The hotel do also offer to book tickets for all of the Gaudi buildings for you to save you having to wait in the queues, however, we decided to try our luck and went to La Sagrada Famillia during siesta time (2-3pm) and didn't have to queue for very long at all. The hotel also offer the option to buy match tickets at the Nou Camp but you can get them much cheaper from tourist information spots, where you can also choose where in the stadium you would like to sit. Overall, i find it very difficult to fault this hotel, from the moment we walked into the main lobby to the moment we left (we were even hailed a taxi to go to the airport by a staff member who assisted us with our bags and escorted us out as we left) we were treated like absolute royalty. I truly feel the staff of this hotel are among the best I've ever experienced as it seemed like anything we asked was no trouble at all for them! I would recommend anyone planning a trip to Barcelona to give this hotel a visit to experience the warm welcome and hospitality we did throughout our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Abby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,093 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 513 in Barcelona
237 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 513 in Barcelona
4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
3,924 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
909 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#99 of 513 in Barcelona
3,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Property: Olivia Balmes Hotel
Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing