We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recent Stay”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Love this hotel, its location and staff. They were extremely helpful, pleasant and accommodating. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot on as were their suggestions for tours and directions. Would love to return there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank gina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,594
    464
    45
    4
    6
See reviews for
444
1,117
70
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel was in a great area. We were able to walk to almost everywhere we wanted to go. First day, we went down to the Santa Caterina Market, the old town and Las Ramblas. The second day, we walked to the Gracia neighborhood (the up and coming hip part of town, uphill from the hotel) and then over to the Sagrada Familia.

We also went to many of the nearby restaurants. Our favorite was Gresca, which is only a block away. Best meal of our trip.

We also loved the little rooftop pool. It was a bit chilly when we got there since the sun was setting and the pool isn't heated, but it was very refreshing.
Hotel was well acquainted, great service and great place for us to start our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liveeattravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Beautiful new hotel, with beautiful rooms and very professional service, from door man, to the desk staff, and then especially too the front desk manager, cleaning service, waiters,....the hotel is ran by a very friendly and highly professional team, going out of their way to make your stay enjoyable and impeccable.
The location is another home run. Walking distance of so many precious Barcelona treasures.
Amazing experience allover! Will definitely recommend it to my friends, and everybody who needs info about Barcelona.
Returning this June with my family. Can't wait!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank iYoung2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Was a little pessimistic after booking as it is new build in the city and was not very well known. All the doubts well and truely disappeared when we pulled up outsie Olivia Balmes Hotel. We were greeted by friendly staff who spoke perfect English and would help you with any questions you have regarding the city/transport/tours etc. We were told our room was not ready to go into yet as it was still being cleaned but instead of us having to wait around, they upgraded our room at no extra cost and within minutes we were opening the door to our new, spacious, bright, spotless room with a king sized bed!

The rooms really are faultless and very posh indeed! Plasma TV on the wall (once you find it!), very modern safe and walk in wardrobe with plenty of space for your clothes. The showers are very open and you will have to feel comfortabe around the people you're with as only a glass screen offers some sort of privacy.

If you're going in the summer then the rooftop pool is a must. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we went but the pool area is an ideal area to relax with some special views across Barcelona.

Location is perfect with plenty of bars, restaurants & shops around. The metro station is also just up the road where you can get the metro to all the tourist spots around the city. It is a bit confusing a first but you will soon get used to it with the help of maps and useful information/tips from Olivia Balmes reception. You can also book trips at the reception and you will not get ripped off with them like you might at other places.

You are also in walking distance of Paseo de Gracia which is only a few blocks away. We also walked home from Las Ramblas 1 night which took around 20-30 minutes but it gave you a chance to see around the streets of this beautiful city.

Would highly reccomend Olivia Balmes Hotel, great staff willing to help with anything, perfect location and perfect accommodation with luxury.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I had a late arrival. The hotel staff took excellent care of us. I extended my stay and will stay there again! The room is immaculate and very quiet. Lobby staff are quite helpful as well. Excellent location near cafés. I highly recommend visiting Gaudi's Casa Batllo nearby for a tour. Nothing negative to report so far.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brazil
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel. The hotel is two blocks from Paseo de Gracia, a beautiful street that you can strol, shop and eat. Around the hotel there are plenty places to dine and to have breakfast. Across the street you can take the train. The room is very clean and trendy. There is a nice pool in the roof. You wont regret to stay here!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank fsgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We spent a week at this centrally located hotel in Barcelona and were impressed with virtually every aspect of the experience. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, going out of their way to provide a high standard of service. The room was clean, spacious and stylish, with an excellent shower and the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever come across. We asked for another chair as there was only one (a white leather armchair) and it was provided immediately. Ditto more hangers and a replacement bulb for the floor lamp. I'd thought the room might be noisy at night as all the surfaces were hard, with no carpets, but in fact it was very quiet. The breakfast seemed expensive at 16 euros a day - or 14 if we had it every day - so we used one of the many nearby cafés/patisseries instead, which were excellent and only about 9 euros for coffee, water and a large almond croissant. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Worth asking for a quiet room as there was a stag party arriving when we left (on a Thursday) and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squigs56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,055 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 513 in Barcelona
690 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Property: Olivia Balmes Hotel
Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing