We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #16 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After reading some of the TA reviews, I was a little skeptical of making my reservations at this hotel. However, I was very pleasantly surprised! The hotel was great - accommodations first class, excellent food, friendly staff and a very convenient location in Eixample. I stayed 7 nights and enjoyed them all! Within an easy walk of many awesome local restaurants and the Provenca metro is across the street. I'd definitely stay there again when I return to BCN.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodwellusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,592
    464
    45
    4
    6
See reviews for
444
1,115
70
177
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The location is amazing. Close to all 'non touristy' restaurants and neighborhoods. So if you want to experience the Barcelona living that's the neighborhood you want to be in. If you want to be a tourist go to Las Rambles. The staff are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are very modern, clean and tasteful. a great pool on the rooftop. Don't look further. That's the hotel you want to be in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stars1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Pretty perfect hotel in a nice and pretty central part of town.
Great design - many surfaces to put your things on. Strange bathroom and corridor solution in one with lots of sliding doors and glass - it worked for us.
The pool is small and unheated but lovely on the roof.
Walking distance to many main sights and metro stop directly opposite hotel.
For breakfast, I recommend a bakery called Hansel one block away - a better deal.

Before coming to Barcelona, I looked for places in the old town but I am really happy to have booked here as the main Rambla was too full of tourists at all times and would have been far less pleasant as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discovering_the_new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed at Olivia Balmes for 4 nights and we are absolutely satisfied with it. The hotel has modern interior design, rooms are clean and bright, and bed is comfortable. Hotel staff are wonderful, they are extremely friendly and helpful by providing useful dining suggestions and arranging reservations for us. Location is great, which is within walking distance to many tourist attractions such as Casa Mila, Casa Batllo, Passenge de Gracia etc., and the neighbourhood is neat and safe. Breakfast is not included in our package but it doesn't bother us as there are lots of nice cafes nearby for good breakfast. We will definitely stay here if we visit Barcelona again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lazybear308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is a short review, it was clean, beautifully and innovatively designed, had extremely friendly and helpful reception staff with wonderful restaurant recommendations. The small pool with inbuilt lilo's on the rooftop is just what you need after walking around Barcelona all day. All in all great hotel, had a wonderful time there, I just wished I could stayed for longer, would 100% recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

After a trip throughout Europe this was by far our favorite hotel. Modern, clean, convenient and EXTREMELY helpful staff. We were provided with a map upon check in and the staff offered recommendations and made many reservations, etc for us! I highly recommend for all kinds of travelers!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were a group of 6 guys in Barcelona for 5 nights for the MotoGp weekend, Spent a lot of time looking for a decent hotel and plumped for the Olivia Balmes, We were not disappointed, from the second we walked in the whole experience was superb, Reception staff were extremely helpful, Eduardo I guess the doorman was exceptional, facilities top class, rooms spotless, everything crisp, clean. Breakfast was plentyful and over a long period of time everyday, Location was very good, so many places to eat and drink and only a 20 minute walk to La Rambla.

Will without doubt stay here again when (not if) we go back to Barcelona

Many Thanks Olivia Balmes Hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DelmeOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
176 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,053 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#22 of 513 in Barcelona
4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Primero Primera
#13 of 513 in Barcelona
690 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Property: Olivia Balmes Hotel
Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing