We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

We booked to stay here for a mini moon the week after we married. Our flight arrived before the check in time we were advised of but on arrival to the hotel reception advised us that we could go to the room early. Cannot fault this hotel at all. All the staff were friendly, going out of their way to help us in anyway. Our room was fantastic with fresh soft towels, the bath was huge as was the bed. To top it off the swimming pool on the roof with its bar and various places to sit, relax and enjoy the atmosphere. We would definitely return to this hotel and recommend to anyone.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,645
    476
    45
    4
    6
See reviews for
468
1,140
73
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My girlfriend and I went to this hotel for her birthday in April. It's our favourite hotel we've been to. Amazing staff, lovely rooms, great breakfasts, great location (close to everything but far enough away to not be smothered in tourists and tack). It was my girlfriends birthday in the day we arrived and we got a free upgrade and a bouquet of flowers in the room for her. If you're stuck for dinner ideas, ask the receptionists. They know their stuff! One point on the rooms - the shower and toilet is located behind slightly misted glass, so when using the facilities, there's a chance not a lot will be left for the imagination, shall we say. Perhaps not so good if you're just a couple if friends! Overall excellent though - we will certainly be going back...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamGooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
As, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Olivia Balmes. We arrived quite early in the morning at 10 o' clock but there was no problem in getting 1 of our 2 rooms immediately. It's 10 minutes away on foot from the plaça Catalunya. For us it was the excellent starting point to discover Barcelona on foot of by metro (Avenida 5 minutes away).Reception staff and personnel at the bar downstairs and at the rather small pool (which we used every day) were very helpful in many ways from start until our departure (arranging tickets for the Segrada etc..., taxi recovering lost cover of my phone) and genuinely friendly. The rooms were exemplary and spacious. (even got a late afternoon cleaning of our rooms because we forgot to remove the do not disturb card). One word for this hotel and it's staff= outstanding . Thank you

Room Tip: the higher rooms have better noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is in Barcelona but a bit further out from where we usually stay. We were very impressed with the reception staff, who were sincerely friendly, helpful and truly interested in you as a person and wanted you to enjoy your stay, which the 4 of us did.
Upon arriving in our rooms we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and some chocolate fruit skewers plus yummy macaroons, which was a very nice welcoming to this hotel. The room itself was large and decked out with modern furniture, thick towel sheets, bathrobes and slippers and a bonus of having a clothesline on the balcony was a great idea. Another great idea was the sensor lights that was brilliant during the night, not too bright; just right. One thing that was missing was some magazines to read, perhaps they have or can address this. The safe in the room is a good size - can easily hold your laptop/ipad. The outdoor pool area is lovely but not opened early enough for business people and closed at 8pm too. The hotels restaurant on the ground floor is recommended. We had breakfast daily and had no complaints and we dined there for dinner one night and was so glad we did. The meal was perfect and the service was good too.
Lana at reception advised us to visit the magic fountains, which we had not seen before and we thoroughly enjoyed them. Thank you Lana for looking after us during our wonderful time in Barcelona and organising a large taxi to get us to the airport for our return flight to Australia.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts - rooms can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My girlfriend and I were looking for a little bit nicer place to finish up our Spain vacation, and man did this place fit the bill. It's great when your expectations are met and even surpassed. The service from the staff definitely pushes it over the top. They are very attentive and extremely willing to help.

Pros:
- The room was very nice and modern, with sliding glass doors, large shower, and motion sensor lights.
- They upgraded our room for free since the class we booked was all full, without me saying a word.
- The clerk who checked us in spent an extra 5 minutes pointing out all the neat things to see on the map he gave us. We saw most of them and he was pretty much dead on.
- Beautiful pool on the top floor.
- Centrally located, making taking the metro or walking to places really easy.
- Plenty of places to eat and shop right outside within a block radius
- Front desk had people who spoke English, Spanish, and French quite well (could be more, that's all I heard).
- Free wi-fi throughout the hotel. And none of that "sign in through our web page first" crap. I don't know why this isn't standard everywhere yet.

Cons:
- If you're not traveling with family or significant others, the glass doors for the bathroom and shower could be an issue privacy-wise. They are basically see through and block no sound.
- The walls aren't super thick, as we could hear a few loud guests come back late night and play loud music. However, the place is pretty quite most of the time, so not a huge deal.
- It's a little pricey

Bottom line: If I ever come back to Barcelona, I'm staying here. Not even bothering to look anywhere else. Totally worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaugingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had 4 nights at this hotel 1 week ago & it was the end of a 2 month holiday. From when we arrived until our departure, we could not fault anything about the property. From the extremely helpful & courteous front desk staff to the wonderful restaurant people, nothing was too much trouble. In particular Oreol & Jonathon in the restaurant made our stay a pleasure & looked after us exceptionally well. They make a mean cocktail. The location is terrific with good restaurants & bars close by & being in a residential area is great as it is off the tourist trail, but close enough to walk to a lot of the attractions & a metro station is across the road.
I would not hesitate to stay here again & the only disappointing thing was having to leave.
15 out of ten from us.

Room Tip: Sixth floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This may sound redundant after reading all the same great reviews of the Olivia Balmes, but I have never been so completely happy with a hotel choice. The location was great. Right by a metro and within walking distance to everything. Quiet room that was spotless, modern and energy efficient to boot. Great shower and one of the most comfortable beds. The rooftop pool was a welcome retreat after a long day of sightseeing. It's small but is peaceful and the pool is great. The staff was fabulous. Always willing to answer a question, greet you and make recommendations. Everyone always has a smile on their face. I did not use the restaurant since we ate elsewhere for breakfast and dinner, however the dinner menu looked very reasonable. Our stay in Barcelona has been wonderful and this hotel is a large part of the reason. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: we had the third floor room 308. Very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scanmike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,078 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 512 in Barcelona
214 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#27 of 512 in Barcelona
4,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 512 in Barcelona
3,888 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 512 in Barcelona
893 reviews
Eixample
The Corner Hotel
The Corner Hotel
#11 of 512 in Barcelona
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Property: Olivia Balmes Hotel
Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing