We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #15 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The staff truly makes this hotel! Impeccable service from before arrival till I checked out; making sure everything was done with ease and made my stay effortless.

The hotel itself feels new and clean, and the bed was super comfortable! The rooftop pool is a nice touch during summer. Situated in a quiet area, but close to the main street and only a short cab drive from everything, including the airport.

Would have preferred a more extensive room-service menu and wine list, and tea/coffee facilities in the room would have been nice. All in all though, I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone considering going to Barcelona!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Travellife85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,369 - 1,375 of 2,298 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

We booked to stay here for a mini moon the week after we married. Our flight arrived before the check in time we were advised of but on arrival to the hotel reception advised us that we could go to the room early. Cannot fault this hotel at all. All the staff were friendly, going out of their way to help us in anyway. Our room was fantastic with fresh soft towels, the bath was huge as was the bed. To top it off the swimming pool on the roof with its bar and various places to sit, relax and enjoy the atmosphere. We would definitely return to this hotel and recommend to anyone.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nickyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My girlfriend and I went to this hotel for her birthday in April. It's our favourite hotel we've been to. Amazing staff, lovely rooms, great breakfasts, great location (close to everything but far enough away to not be smothered in tourists and tack). It was my girlfriends birthday in the day we arrived and we got a free upgrade and a bouquet of flowers in the room for her. If you're stuck for dinner ideas, ask the receptionists. They know their stuff! One point on the rooms - the shower and toilet is located behind slightly misted glass, so when using the facilities, there's a chance not a lot will be left for the imagination, shall we say. Perhaps not so good if you're just a couple if friends! Overall excellent though - we will certainly be going back...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdamGooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Olivia Balmes. We arrived quite early in the morning at 10 o' clock but there was no problem in getting 1 of our 2 rooms immediately. It's 10 minutes away on foot from the plaça Catalunya. For us it was the excellent starting point to discover Barcelona on foot of by metro (Avenida 5 minutes away).Reception staff and personnel at the bar downstairs and at the rather small pool (which we used every day) were very helpful in many ways from start until our departure (arranging tickets for the Segrada etc..., taxi recovering lost cover of my phone) and genuinely friendly. The rooms were exemplary and spacious. (even got a late afternoon cleaning of our rooms because we forgot to remove the do not disturb card). One word for this hotel and it's staff= outstanding . Thank you

Room Tip: the higher rooms have better noise levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rudi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is in Barcelona but a bit further out from where we usually stay. We were very impressed with the reception staff, who were sincerely friendly, helpful and truly interested in you as a person and wanted you to enjoy your stay, which the 4 of us did.
Upon arriving in our rooms we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and some chocolate fruit skewers plus yummy macaroons, which was a very nice welcoming to this hotel. The room itself was large and decked out with modern furniture, thick towel sheets, bathrobes and slippers and a bonus of having a clothesline on the balcony was a great idea. Another great idea was the sensor lights that was brilliant during the night, not too bright; just right. One thing that was missing was some magazines to read, perhaps they have or can address this. The safe in the room is a good size - can easily hold your laptop/ipad. The outdoor pool area is lovely but not opened early enough for business people and closed at 8pm too. The hotels restaurant on the ground floor is recommended. We had breakfast daily and had no complaints and we dined there for dinner one night and was so glad we did. The meal was perfect and the service was good too.
Lana at reception advised us to visit the magic fountains, which we had not seen before and we thoroughly enjoyed them. Thank you Lana for looking after us during our wonderful time in Barcelona and organising a large taxi to get us to the airport for our return flight to Australia.

Room Tip: Away from the lifts - rooms can be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharonbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My girlfriend and I were looking for a little bit nicer place to finish up our Spain vacation, and man did this place fit the bill. It's great when your expectations are met and even surpassed. The service from the staff definitely pushes it over the top. They are very attentive and extremely willing to help.

Pros:
- The room was very nice and modern, with sliding glass doors, large shower, and motion sensor lights.
- They upgraded our room for free since the class we booked was all full, without me saying a word.
- The clerk who checked us in spent an extra 5 minutes pointing out all the neat things to see on the map he gave us. We saw most of them and he was pretty much dead on.
- Beautiful pool on the top floor.
- Centrally located, making taking the metro or walking to places really easy.
- Plenty of places to eat and shop right outside within a block radius
- Front desk had people who spoke English, Spanish, and French quite well (could be more, that's all I heard).
- Free wi-fi throughout the hotel. And none of that "sign in through our web page first" crap. I don't know why this isn't standard everywhere yet.

Cons:
- If you're not traveling with family or significant others, the glass doors for the bathroom and shower could be an issue privacy-wise. They are basically see through and block no sound.
- The walls aren't super thick, as we could hear a few loud guests come back late night and play loud music. However, the place is pretty quite most of the time, so not a huge deal.
- It's a little pricey

Bottom line: If I ever come back to Barcelona, I'm staying here. Not even bothering to look anywhere else. Totally worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LaugingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had 4 nights at this hotel 1 week ago & it was the end of a 2 month holiday. From when we arrived until our departure, we could not fault anything about the property. From the extremely helpful & courteous front desk staff to the wonderful restaurant people, nothing was too much trouble. In particular Oreol & Jonathon in the restaurant made our stay a pleasure & looked after us exceptionally well. They make a mean cocktail. The location is terrific with good restaurants & bars close by & being in a residential area is great as it is off the tourist trail, but close enough to walk to a lot of the attractions & a metro station is across the road.
I would not hesitate to stay here again & the only disappointing thing was having to leave.
15 out of ten from us.

Room Tip: Sixth floor is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,130 reviews
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 515 in Barcelona
4,032 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#3 of 515 in Barcelona
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 515 in Barcelona
925 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
4,592 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#101 of 515 in Barcelona
3,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £125 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing