We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Ranked #14 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We arrived early after a cruise (9am) and we thought we'd drop our bags off until check-in but they were able to prepare our rooms that early. The hotel is in a great location (walking distance to most sites) and the property is beautiful! Great pool and spacious rooms. The restaurant offers a pre-fix menu for dinner that was incredible and a great value! €19 for app, entree, dessert, and beer/wine! They also have a breakfast buffet for €16 that offers many, many choices! Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pcosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,682
    484
    46
    5
    6
See reviews for
488
1,157
75
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Nice, clean and very quiet hotel in the centre of Eixample.It even smelt nice!
Extremely helpful staff, cool pool area on the roof (a bit crowded in the afternoons) and great rooms. Stayed in a room facing Balmes/Provenca and heard no traffic. Many of Barcelona's best restaurants and bars within walking distance. Found the area to be less expensive with few "tourist traps" than down town. Loved it!!
If you long for the crowded city centre or beach, just take bus 17, it basically stops on the door step.
Some suggestions: More hangers and hooks in the room (six hangers to share, I need 10 alone and so does hubby). No hooks in the room (except two for towels). Tricky if you have jackets, bath robes, wet swimwear etc. Ending up hanging my wet bikini and swimsuit on one of the mirrors, not ideal....

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaPancake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

excellent location, service and ambience for a 4 star hotel. reception people are very happy to help you in all demands.
strongly reccomended.
the swiming pool is crowded all times due to small space for costumers during summer time

Room Tip: all rooms are about the same,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very modern and clean hotel located in a quite residential area. The hotel is with in walking distance to most attractions or a short Metro ride away. There are plenty of nice restaurants near by also. The rooms are modern and simple. The staff at the front desk are very friendly and are more than eager to help out on attraction details, restaurant reservations or give directions. The lobby bar and roof top pool staff were also very friendly. The roof top pool was very nice but not very large so lounge chairs were not always available especially later in the afternoon. The beds were very comfortable. This is not a large hotel and has a minimalist modern vibe about it. Overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

The hotel is brand new, in pristine condition and wonderfully designed. The room, the lobby, the roof deck (!) and the restaurant are all beautiful. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

The location is ideal, it's not super touristy even though some of the city's best restaurants are within blocks.

I can't say enough good things about the roof deck. Such a wonderful place to get away from the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hokkke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We stayed in this hotel for the first time last week for one night. When checking in we were told we got upgraded to a suite. The hotel is beautifully deigned and well located. it is not in the very center- takes about 10 minutes walk to get to the center of Barcelona. As for the hotel it self- I've visited the city quite a few times before, but this time was by far the best, staying at the Olivia Balmes. The suite on the first floor was outstanding- new, chic, huge- we didn't want to leave the room. The rooftop pool was amazing- clean and with a great view of the neighborhood. The breakfast was spectacular- the best one i ever had in an hotel before, included a very big cold buffet, baked goods and even champagne, To sum it up, i'm defiantly coming back to the Olivia Balmes. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yardlesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here in July - we had a suite which was excellent and all of the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was great for us as we enjoy walking so we did get out and about each day - it isn't in the centre of everything which is actually quite nice. We ate in the hotel both nights we were there and whilst the menu was not extensive the food was first class and not too expensive for a three course meal - the waiting staff were very good too.
Cannot fault this hotel at all

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank footballhells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,097 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casa Mimosa
H10 Casa Mimosa
#2 of 513 in Barcelona
239 reviews
El Raval
Hotel 1898
Hotel 1898
#28 of 513 in Barcelona
4,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#29 of 513 in Barcelona
3,931 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
910 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#100 of 513 in Barcelona
3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olivia Balmes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olivia Balmes Hotel

Property: Olivia Balmes Hotel
Address: Balmes 117 | Corner With Provenca Street, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Olivia Balmes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olivia Balmes Hotel is a modern city hotel, designed and built to satisfy the most demanding guests. With a 4-star superior rating, the hotel has 128 rooms, 5 meeting rooms with capacity for 200 people, restaurant, bar, terrace, solarium, gym and pool. All of these services combined with exquisite guest services from all Olivia Hotels staff will make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Olivia Balmes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olivia Balmes Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing