We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Ranked #111 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bergen, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic view”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are a family of 4 who had 3 days awailable in Barcelona prior to a Mediterranean cruise in July. We waited very long with this hotel booking, but just 3 days prior to arrival, we were lucky and managed to book 2 rooms at The Level Melia Sky. Arriving at the hotel we took the lift up to level 25 and waited a few minutes in the beautiful lounge, when the friendly staff checked us in to our rooms at level 23 and 26. You can see that the rooms have been used for a while, but we had absolutely nothing to complain about. The fantastic view from the rooms, the superb breakfast and the friendly staff made this stay memorable. Sitting in the lounge at level 26, enjoy complimentary drinks and some light food when you look at the stunning views of Barcelona was great. The only thing we found a bit strange about the hotel was that you had to pay EUR 75 in order to hire a special area close to the pool. We didn't find any good reason to do this, as you could use the pool anyway. The hotel is located in a very nice area and its just a 10 minutes walk to the beach. You reach the center of Barcelona easy by Metro or taxi. Overall we had a great experience at this hotel. I would also like to say a special thank you to Eric for exellent restaurant recommendations and to Marta for great service.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kjell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Kjell E,

What a fantastic review!! Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, as well as the breakfast, the friendly staff and the level. We have passed on your kind words to Eric and Marta and they too are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Ones again we thank you for your lovely review and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    374
    160
    51
    20
    17
See reviews for
107
324
24
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Level at Melia was part of a last minute package booking for my 17 year old daughter and myself for 4 nights. I requested a twin as opposed to double room as I was travelling with my daughter. Knowing I had booked "The Level" as opposed to the main hotel with it's own separate entrance and apparently separate address, the very knowledgeable taxi driver was very confused where he was going. Eventually we found the hotel simply by looking for the tower rather than by the address. The separate entrance related to a separate reception, we were politely taken up to the correct floor by a member of staff and checked in. We had arrived early and were offered courtesy - it was made VERY clear that check in was at 3pm and the room would not be available before then so we made plans for things to do for 2.5 hours. The manager on the floor was then very put out when we made our way to leave as "our room was nearly ready". I could see on his screen the request for a twin bedded room and asked whether this was what we would be getting. No - the twin bedded room was not booked - we had a king size bed. I asked whether it would be possible to change to a twin bedded room. The answer was a very abrupt no. OK - no big deal - I have shared a bed with my daughter before. The room itself was small but quite nice - on 17th floor with a great city view. No sign of the bathrobes which were supposed to be supplied or the Nespresso coffee machine. Later it became clear that this had to be booked and paid for so not as advertised by the hotel. It was clear over the next few hours lots of things didn't work - light on desk was not working - a good job I was here for leisure and not work. Once again no big deal. However, as stay progressed, more and more annoying things became apparent. The lighting was terrible. There is a light linked to the clothes rail in the closet which goes off after 30 seconds plunging you into darkness. The bathroom lighting is inadequate for applying make up or shaving. There is not enough lighting in the bedroom. The rainfall shower, big enough for 4 people, was useless and generated a trickle of lukewarm water. There was no bath. The little shower that you're supposed to use to wash your bottom half didn't work at all. However, the ultimate killer was that the wall between the bathroom and bedroom is entirely made of glass and you are fully exposed as you enter and exit the shower. That's great if your on your own or on a romantic break and want to look out onto Barcelona while brushing your teeth, not so great if you want to conserve some modesty and not scare the living daylights out of your 17 year old daughter. There is no dressing area if you exclude the toilet that is so narrow that your arms touch the walls on either side. So we spent 4 days shouting "going in" and "coming out" to spare modesty. We raised the issue of the shower after the first night thinking we had done something wrong to be told that "there was no water because the pipes had burst". Once again lots of apologies for the burst pipes but in fact the problem with the shower was maintained for the whole of our stay. Breakfast on The Level was included - we were never told we could eat in the main restaurant. This was OK - a bit of a frustrating experience as you serve yourself on a 5 inch cake plate. The selection became a bit boring after 4 days. If anything it was great for my diet. The pool is tiny and people come in from outside to use it - there were screened off canopied benches (the ones you see in the hotel photos) which you had to pay €75 to use. These were almost always empty even though the rest of the pool area was heaving. The complimentary food and drinks on the Level were a nice touch - however there is insufficient seating and when it rained, people camped out on The Level so not a chance of getting a seat. We were told off for trying to take a drink - water - to our room after someone assumed we had left and taken our seats and there was nowhere else to sit. Probably the real downer was being eyed with suspicion when we asked to dine in the very empty restaurant and having somebody else's mini bar bill charged to our room. This was resolved on checkout with apologies but once again no attempt was made to draw our attention to the mini bar charge - it was just assumed we would pay whatever the hotel charged us. Aside of the missing and broken items, service was very mixed. The staff on reception were very helpful when asked questions. However, the advertised turn down service was only done on 1 out of our 4 nights - perhaps coincidentally the night of the burst pipes with chocolates left on our pillows. Likewise one morning we were hassled several times by chambermaids wanting to make up our room at 8.30 am and couldn't understand we were not ready to leave for the day yet. On the plus side, stay was reasonably good value for the 4 nights we stayed. While the hotel may be an architectural icon with some interesting features, it is not practical for a mother - daughter visit and service is far short of 5*

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ewunia1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Ewunia1010,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that were caused during your stay regarding, the bed, the lighting in your room and the shower as well as the confusion with the minibar.

We apologize for the not having your requested bed as well as the lighting not functioning properly. We are pleased to say that a technician has fixed the lighting issue.

We have reviewed your case during our meetings to constantly keep improving our services and therefore we take all feedback from our guests very seriously and we would like to thank you again for you review.

We do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We arrived late at the hotel to find out that the rooms we booked were not available, they oversold the hotel, they said the room we had was the same as we had booked but on a lower floor, upon checking in we found our selves on a small room with no view, again we complained and the next day they moved us to the rooms we were supposed to get on the 26th floor, nice view of the city.

The restaurants are ok, the Cielo Restaurant is very small and requires reservation a couple of days prior to dinning.

The lounge was nice with some appetizers and drinks up to 11pm.

The pool was small but nice to hang out for a day, the pool water is freezing!!!!

As for service this hotel can be a hit or miss, we encounter many helpful people and not so helpful ones.

For our next stay at Barcelona we would not stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: chose rooms that give you access to the lounge and on high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gricetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Gricetti,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we one`s again would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your stay.

Overbooking can occur and when it does we completely understand the inconvenience it can cause you and we do apologize for not having your booked room ready on the first night of your stay. However we are happy that you enjoyed your room on the 26th floor with its great view.

Also we are pleased to read that The Level lounge and the pool area were to your liking.

We once again would like to thank you for your feedback as well as for staying with us and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My friend & I decided that a weekend trip was in need, especially as her birthday was coming up. So after browsing Lastminute, I found a great deal for The Level & booked it straight away, & that was the best choice I made!

After delays with our flight, we arrived at the hotel tired & just wanting to sleep. Check in was smooth & we had a nice surprise, with a free upgrade to a Jounior Suite which was great! Got to our room, which was on the 20th floor, people beware the lift doors are quite dangerous, as they close very quickly. We learnt that the hard way buy shutting the door, on other guests & each other!

Our suite was amazing, with a small reception area as you walk in with a mirror. Small living area which included a sofa bed, desk area & iPod speaker. Through to the sleeping area which also came with a lounger. It's been a while since I have slept on a single bed, but I just say the beds are very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely, with a double sink, bath & shower which was accessible with blue back painted glass sliding door. My friend & I got a little shock, when we noticed you could see straight into the bedroom through the bathroom, but then realised that there was a blind we could use for privacy. With all of that the best part of the room, was the view it was amazing especially at night looking out at Barcelona & all it's lights was breathtaking.

With booking The Level, we had access to the lounge were we had breakfast. Have to be honest nothing great, just basic continental. We also had breakfast in the main restaurant, which was a lot better. A huge selection of everything. Hot & cold foods, pastries & fruit. Other than breakfast we spent a bit of time in the lounge & why wouldn't you when it comes with a Open Bar, with a great selection of drinks! The drinks & food, are looked after by a lovely set of staff who are very friendly & helpful.

The pool area was also great. Atmosphere was fresh & friendly, staff on call to provide you with a cold cocktail as you lay in the sun tanning. The pool area was filled with a selection is seats, whether it's loungers by the pool or a seating area on the outside, there was always a spot to get your tan on. Area was well maintained, staff are very vigilant with cleaning up & making sure guests are not hogging the loungers by leaving their towels & going off.

Unfortunately we didn't manage to try the restaurant, as we spent most out time at the pool side eating & drinking, or in The Level lounge eating or drinking, but next time we will! Yes there will be another trip to this hotel. With there amazingly friendly staff, from the lounge, pool, main restaurant & check in. To the clean & well maintained rooms & common areas why wouldn't we. It was just a shame we had to leave in the first place.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Chelly B,

What an absolutely fantastic review! We cannot be more happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy that the pool, your room with its its lovely view, The Level and our staff were to your liking.

Ones again we thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcoming you to restaurant the place as well as Meliá Barcelona Sky.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the melia around 10.30 and checked in downstairs (were not told to go upstairs to the level and relax basically told to go and do our own thing but we went up anyway!)
We had lovely relax in the lounge and told to help ourselves to food and drink (however this was not clearly complimentary to us the rest of the time - we just assumed as nobody told us)

Rooms lovely amazing views on floor 28 but little things are a bit annoying, old sink which looks dirty but are just old, one dressing gown, shower shelf broken, phone didn't work all things we noticed throughout the stay (we were there to have a good time, not moan!) next day there was no water this was fixed by the evening and we were given complimentary bottles of water to apologise (ironic?!) this happened again a few days later.

Breakfast was lovely on the ground floor (although level staff told us this always ran Til 11- it didn't- it was 10.30 mon-fri) lots of choice- you will have to queue a few minutes and watch some stressy managers directing the table staff who flutter around more when managers are there!
Pool area is lovely and clean - staff attentive and friendly. Bit put out by having to pay €75 to hire some areas that sit free a lot of the time - just seems like this could be available to level hotel guests.
Spa area - wouldn't bother it's nothing special - gym looked good enough modern equipment - we had a week off though and didn't use it.
Location is good, metro is good and taxis always available. Overall this hotel is great but little things make it less than a 5* the only difference between melia and level is the lounge and the views you get and to be honest they don't monitor the guests who come and use it and pretty sure we had 'non-level' guests using these facilities as they came up from the lower floors!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Danielle R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us.

Also we would like to apologize for the inconveniences during your stay in regard for our reception staff not having brought you up to the level lounge for check-in, and for not being informed about our complementary drinks and snacks.

We apologize for the misunderstanding with our breakfast times. Our breakfast is open until 11:00AM however walk-in is until 10:30AM.

We very much value the feedback from our guests and we therefore would like to thank you again for your review.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Amazing hotel with stunning views!

We arrived at Melia after reading the reviews and went straight up to the Level. We were greeted by two receptionists who offered us drinks and checked us in. We were very impressed by the drinks and nibbles available in the level lounge - a very nice touch and was nice to have a few drinks before going out for dinner in the evening. Would be nice if there was an outdoor terrace up there aswell so that we could enjoy the nice weather.

We went to the pool and spa once and we were not overly impressed - The pool was smaller than expected and cold.

The room was lovely - The view was perfect and the small touches such as the electric curtains always help. We ate breakfast in the main restaurant everyday, there was plenty of choice and staff were very friendly with good English.

We were extremely impressed with the reception staff, it rained on out second day and when I asked where the nearest shop was to buy and Umbrella I was told that I could borrow one. I also asked where the nearest post box was and was told they would post it for me.

Our only complaint would be the room service - as far as we were aware room service was in the morning. We came back from dinner one night and the room had been cleaned again during the evening. As we were not aware this was going to happen, we had left personal items on the side.

Overall - a lovely hotel with amazing views and great location for the beach and centre.

Room Tip: The view of the city was gorgeous with the mountains in the background.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
dear Aliceduffy333,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the level lounge and that your room was satisfactory.We have also passed on your kind words to our recepción staff..

The second cleaning in your room was our turn down service; our staff "turns down" the bed linen of the bed in the room, preparing the bed for use and for you to have a good night sleep.

Ones again we thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This was my families third visit in 5 years to this hotel. The hotel is fairly priced and we got a great executive suite on The Level. To the hotel management I will recommend to improve the poolarea and the breakfast! And please do something about the menu by the pool. I bruke my tooth on the pizza, but I am thankfull that the management ordered a dentist and took the bill. The team was very service minded.
Hotel is perfectly located with just 15 minutes walkover to the beach and 5 minutes by taxi to the gothic quarter and La Sagrada Familia. Also closely located to a shoppingmall just 5 minutes walkover away. You will have a good stay here!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkloever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear tkloever,

Thank you very much for your review! We are very happy to hear that your overall stay with us was a success. Except of course for the tooth incident for which we would like to apologize for again. Since the incident we are happy to report that we have changed our pizzas.
Also we are pleased to say that we have just updated our pool area with new furnishings. Giving it a new fresh and trendy look.

We value your relationship with Melia Barcelona Sky and are therefore interested in knowing what needs improving in your opinion with our breakfast as we get a lot of positive comments about our breakfast. To contact us please use the email provided on our website.

Ones again we would like to thank you very much for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again the future.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Poblenou
Melia Barcelona Sky
Melia Barcelona Sky
#189 of 512 in Barcelona
2,443 reviews
Melia Barcelona Sarria
#135 of 512 in Barcelona
2,295 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#63 of 512 in Barcelona
1,837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 512 in Barcelona
2,337 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#58 of 512 in Barcelona
1,334 reviews
Gracia
Casa Fuster Hotel
Casa Fuster Hotel
#73 of 512 in Barcelona
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky

Property: The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky
Address: C/ Lope de Vega, 141-147, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#14 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Level at Meliá Barcelona Sky!The Level at Meliá Barcelona Sky raises luxury to its highest level. Feeling special is so easy when every detail has been designed and created especially for you.With exclusive personalised service that will exceed all the expectations of the most discerning guests, The Level at Meliá Barcelona Sky is the new commitment by Meliá to superior services and facilities. Choose a new hotel concept to make your stay in Barcelona exceptionally different.Superior room categories, private lounge and special in-room amenities provide guests with a world of privileges and luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Prestigia, Melia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Level at Melia Barcelona Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Level At Melia Barcelona Sky Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing