We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fantastic”
Review of Cientoocho

Cientoocho
Reserve with
Cientoocho is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #195 of 9,540 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$34 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Eixample
Oslo
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Accidentally stumbled upon this restaurant close to our hotel. We were the only guests when we arrived, and were given excellent attention by the waiter and waitress. (All evening, though there were more guests later in the evening).

We shared the spicy potatoes with ham for a starter. The menu is very conservative in the way it describes the dishes, and we would very soon discover all the taste and presentation a short description in the menu could never prepare us for.

I had steak and my girlfriend had fish for main course, and it was all delicious. In addtition to all food being very tasteful, the presentation stood out from all the other meals we had in Barcelona and made this the best meal during our visit this time.

We had apple cake and cheese cake for dessert, and what a dessert. Highly recommendable. We were also treated with a glass of cava to accompany the dessert - amazing!

Prices are very reasonable. This is really worth it and more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ReiseFrosk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    506
    119
    34
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great steak and friendly service... but pricey for what we had...”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Three courses, one bottle of wine and a bottle of water 90euros. So not cheap but the food was good. Steak on the griddle was beautiful as was the butterscotch dessert. Probably could have passed on the starter - croquettes and scallops - were ok but not worth the price.
It wouldn't take a lot to make this place amazing. I agree that the chef uses too much salt but I like food salty so that was ok.
Probably wouldn't go back as it was a bit pricey for what we had - given meals we had elsewhere that were delicious and much cheaper. Sorry Cientoocho as we did have a pleasant evening.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WanderlustMum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Rochelle, France
1 review
“Superbe service and atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We went there with some friends and had an amazing time !
The bartenders are really professionnal and very nice guys and the prices are very correct !
We didn't come there to eat but we should have seeing the pictures !

Enjoy this place guys and don't hesitate to spend some time there !
The Bellotta ham is amaziiiing !

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erwan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, CA USA
Level Contributor
264 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it, but too many issues”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary and my birthday at Cientoocho based on Trip advisor recommendations, but were very disappointed. The cafe was bright and cozy, and well decorated. My steak was very good, but from there, everything was negative. My wife ordered sea bass, but was told they were out of it. She was told there was another fish available, which was very similar, so she ordered it. It was nothing like sea bass, except it was a white fish. One side of the fish was undercooked, which was very unappetizing. Bread was only brought to the table when we asked for it, and that was with the main course. More attention needs to be taken with the cleanliness of the stem ware and plates. The plates had a visible swirled. Film, and the wine/champaign glasses had what appeared to be dishwasher film on them. Someone needs to spend a little time wiping them down. Since we had mentioned it was our anniversary and birthday celebration, we were poured a glass of champagne after our dinner, but unfortunately it was "too little, too late"

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanandJanC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too salty & oily”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My partner & I went for a meal at Coentoocho based on the trip advisor reviews, the setting, ambience & service is great, however for me the food unfortunately let it down, it was nice, but for my personal liking too oily & salty, my partner & I shared the t bone steak which came out on a hot griddle, it was huge but it had a lot of fat running through the meat (I mean, a lot!) & there was so much oil on the griddle which just wasn't needed with that much fat already running through the steak, which was also covered in salt. It was an ok meal, i was just expecting a lot more based on its position on trip adviser. On a plus side the wine was great & cheap!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dwasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cientoocho also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cientoocho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing