We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The real tour of Barcelona. Guided bye experts!”

Hidden City Tours - Private Tours
Ranked #30 of 544 Tours in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visiting Barcelona but looking for something different? Want to scratch the surface of this beautiful mediterranean gem and connect with the locals and Barcelona's social reality? How about joining a tour of the old town led by formerly homeless tour guides..... Barcelona receives 7.5 million visitors each year and is now the 4th visited European City, and 10th globally... and yet there are over 3,000 people who sleep on the streets of the city every night. At Hidden City Tours we have set about putting one of the city's strengths (tourism) to work to solve one of the city's social problems (homelessness). We also hope to challenge myths and change attitudes towards homelessness along the way. English, German and French speaking guides recruited from local homeless charities and social services. Guides also speak Spanish All tour guides are previously homeless having lived on the streets of Barcelona, and have undergone a 3 month training program to become tour guides Small and personal groups allowing you to connect with your guide and creating an intimate experience. The idea of the project being to create employment so it's not in our interest to run large groups with 1 guide! Tour starts in Plaza Nova by the Gothic Cathedral and ends at the world famous Boqueria market on the Ramblas Our walking tour lasts around 2 hours Our guides are not just employees, they are partners in the company as they receive 50% of the net income from the tours Local charities and social services can help with food and accomodation but they can only go so far. The return to work rate for the homeless is around 1% according to official stats but we think that it's about zero, given the current state of the economy. Yet many of Barcelona's homeless are extremely capable and willing individuals who just need a little help and direction - and to be given that crucial second chance in life to shine. Hidden City Tours aims to be that second chance, and in doing so offer a truely inspiring and eye opening visitor experience.
Gol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The real tour of Barcelona. Guided bye experts!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Me and my daughter (20 years old) visited Barcelona in august 2014. We used Google to find things to do that cold show us the city from a different viewpoint. Not just the ordinary guided tour. We discovered The hidden city tours homepage and did not hesitate to contact the site. A fast reply and we had gotten a guided tour bye Jose F. scheduled. He meet us at Nova Placa in the center of town and took us on a very special tour in the places that is not commonly visited bye tourists. All while he was shearing his life and story with us. A story of a university educated man who lost his job, and after spending his last savings on surviving he found him self on the street in Barcelona. The rough life on the street really made us understand how tough this is. JoseF was really a good guide telling us the history of the city and the history of his life. Thank you Jose F. Then two days later we met former star chef in New York: Ramon. He showed us the food market ( La Bouqueria) Being a graduate from the culinary school of New York he really gave us a grand tour of the culinary treats of Catalonia and Spain. He also sheared his story. A fantastic breath taking experience. No wonder he is writing a book about his life. Ramon`s story was very different from Jose F, but both of them had lost everything and ended up in the street, Now are both starting to get back into a normal life thanks to the The hidden city tours. We recommend as strong as possible to join these tours. You never will look at Barcelona in the same way again. And you will get two new friends. Sincerely Vilde and Kjetil Storebraten Norway

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank bergasida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    20
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Trip, Commendable Idea”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We took a tour with Ramon last Wednesday morning. It was arranged at last minute using the hotel Wi-Fi so already great service for being so accommodating.

The idea of Hidden City Tours is commendable but it is also extremely well carried out. Ramon's English was fantastic as was his knowledge of the City. We learnt and saw a lot and the city from a different angle to the usual bulk tours - a personal experience. After our tour finished at midday we went back to a number of the places Ramon had shown us filling the rest of our day (drinks at the Chocolate shop and lunch at the Jamon Museum).

Highly recommending booking a tour if you're in Barcelona for a few days.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Classic Tour of Barcelona”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My two teenage sons, my husband and I went on a Hidden Tour with Ramon yesterday evening. We had already begun to explore Barcelona a bit on our own but discovered many of the nooks and crannies off the beaten tourist track I am sure we would never have found or appreciated without the tour and his entertaining banter! I would highly recommend having a tour with them.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Myfanwy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great idea. Great tour.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The concept of Hidden City Tours is immensely commendable whilst remaining hugely informative and entertaining at the same time. My guide for the day was Ramon, a true gentleman. His charm and charisma exudes throughout the tour and he is always happy to discuss many aspects of his personal life, including the difficulties he experienced in the past. His English was fantastic, and he was always keen to personalise many aspects of the tour, pointing out certain area that were either special, or important to him.

The tour itself was fascinating. As the title suggests, you are not simply paraded around the tourist "hot-spots" on an open top big red bus. The walking tour allows you to explore, and learn about Barcelona's synonymous callejons (narrow streets), and even enter some of the city's shops like 'The Perfumery'. This really is a hidden gem that you simply do not get from a bus tour. What's more, the social aspects of homelessness and unemployment in Barcelona are contextualised by the guide, offering a uniquely expert perspective and insight into important issues that are acknowledged, but not fully understood (at least this was the case with me beforehand!).

This is not your typical tour, and it is for this reason that I would recommend Hidden City Tours to anybody looking for something other than the generic. The tours are exclusive, never with more than 12 or so tourists, generating a personal atmosphere that you just don't find very often. If, like me, you're too stubborn to go on a big red bus, but also sometimes too stubborn to admit it would be nice to learn a little bit about Barcelona, then go with this company for sure.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of a kind city tour”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This is a tour you absolutely have to do whilst in BCN. If you are interested in seeing Barcelona in a different way please book a tour. Ramon showed us places we would never go. We had a personal tour with 5 teenagers and they all liked it!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ingridhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hidden City Tours - Private Tours also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Hidden City Tours - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing