We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad treatment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Universitat Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
H10 Universitat Hotel
Ranked #138 of 522 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bad treatment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel is good value for money and is very centrally located. But some things happened there during my stay that makes me unsure if I will stay there again.
Before arrival I emailed the hotel one month in advance asking if my reservation went through and everything was fine, to avoid any unpleasant surprices upon arrival. They responded and said that everything went through and we were welcomed as guests in their hotel.
Although when me and my friend arrived the girl in reception gave us an unwelcoming stare and said that we were not booked, and that she couldn't do anything. I asked her to check several times and she could just not find us in the system. It's not until I told her that is was really strange because they confirmed my booking one month ago that she "suddenly" found us. Me and my friend both felt that they treat two young blonde women (24 years old) VERY differently from couples. I travel quite a lot with my boyfriend and am always polite and expect the same treatment back, and never had any issues until now. So from the very beginning me and my girlfriend didn't felt welcome. The male staff in the hotel were more professional and polite.
My other concern is that I forgot one expensive eye make up palette in the bed in the room on my depart and though I called two times they insisted that they didn't find it. Which I know is simply not true.

If I will be staying here again it will be for the location and price.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swedishgirlin20s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcRiera, Director General at H10 Universitat Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Swedishgirlin20s:

Please excuse us if you felt not wellcoming at our hotel, I'm sure it was some kind of missundertanding at your check in, believe me that it was not the intention of any one of my staff to make you feel in this way.
We are in Barcelona and all the staff is used to treat all kind of people from all kind of cultures from all over the world, and our commitment is our guest satisfaction.

Best regards.

Marc Riera
General Manager H10 Universitat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    591
    163
    53
    36
See reviews for
154
738
73
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alicante, Spain
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Central location very near Placa de Catalunya, Ramblas etc. Good knowledgable staff on reception sold tickets for various locations, gave us maps and pointed us in the direction of any place we wished to visit. The room was very quiet, good bathroom facilities and good breakfast. Lovely rooftop bar with good views over the City, wonderfull for a "chill out".

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room at the back, although not a good view but no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcRiera, Director General at H10 Universitat Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear Joan P:

Thank you very much for your comments, as you said our location allows our visitors to explore easily Barcelona, also our staff is more than pleased to help you with any indication you'll need.

Warm regards.

Marc Riera
General manager at H10 Universitat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed at the 10 Universitat Hotel for a day, The hotel is just 5 minutes from the Placa de Catalunya. This is a small botique hotel. The breakfast spread is limited. The staff are quite friendly. If you are looking at enjoing the night life of Barcelona this is the place.

Room Tip: The rooms are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mustang13071978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcRiera, Director General at H10 Universitat Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
Dear mustang13071978:

Thank you very much for your comments and recomndation, I hope to see you soon at th H10 Universitat.

Best regards.

Marc Riera
General manager at H10 Universitat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

nice hotel but make sure you book a double room at least. the rooms have a mini bar and are spacious unless you book a basic double. dont book a front room unless you can put up with road noise 24/7. choose a back room. very nice staff, good location just 200 mts from las ramblas and good size/equipped rooms, mini bar etc. just turn left out of hotel and you can have a steak , salad and drink for 12 euros. good restaurant. we walked to all the sites but must sees are gaudi`s flats and cathedral, the gothic cathedral, las ramblas and olympic area. we walked to them all. walk to the oympic marina via the triomfal arches/park/zoo. what a good hotel and fantastic destination. beautiful city xxxxxx

Room Tip: ask for back of hotel and floor 7 try 705. dont book basic doubles! they are small and internal
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterattwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcRiera, Director General at H10 Universitat Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear peterattwood:

Thank you for your full review about H10 Universitat and Barcelona city, as I can see from your lines you are a city explorer and enjoyed your time with us due our proximity to main interesting places in Barcelona, I am proud you enjoyed your visit at Barcelona, if you have a chance don't hesitate to come and visit us during Christmas, Barcelona becomes an amazing coloured city with Santa Lluica traditional Crhistmas market, antiquaty and artisans markets and special performances all over the city.

Best regards and we hope to see you again.

Marc Riera
General manager H10 Universitat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is so convenient. It is close (a couple of minutes walk) to the main square, Placa de Catalunya, where the hop on hop off buses depart and less than 5 minutes walk to Las Ramblas. There is a small convenience store a few doors down and a large supermarket about 5 minutes walk away. The metro is only a couple minutes walk away (although we didn't use it as we walked everywhere). The room is nice and modern but there is only a frosted glass wall and door for the bathroom so not much privacy. The basin area is open plan with the bedroom which was actually quite convenient. The windows in the room are frosted so you can't see outside unless you open the windows. The provision of amenities was a bit patchy (eg we didn't get a shower cap or moisturizer until the second day and tissues were not always replaced). The towels are also looking a little grey. However, the location of the hotel cannot be beat.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CC1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcRiera, General Manager at H10 Universitat Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear CC1976:

Thank you very much for sharing you experience at H10 Universitat, I take note about amenities replacement, as you explani it was not enought and doesn't fit wiith our standars, so our house keeping department will be refreshed about it, our commitment is your satisfaction.

Best regards, and we hope to see you again.

Marc Riera
General manager at H10 Universitat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

Hotel is nicely located between Plaza Catalunya and Plaza Universitat. Bus to Sitges and airport stops at the door, nearest metro is about 100m away. Hotel offers nice bar on the roof but is rather pricey.

Breakfast provides much choice and is abundant.

Room needs some maintenance. Sound isolation could improve.

Room Tip: Ask for room in he back, less noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank evde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcRiera, General Manager at H10 Universitat Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear evde:

Thank you for your comments, our location allows our visitors to explore the city and surrounding areas easily, and the best way to start a day is a complete breakfast.
We take note about insolation improvement in rooms, thank you again.

Wish to see you soon.

Marc Riera
General manager H10 Universitat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Room was tiny, couldnt even fit suitcases ANYWHERE! bathroom has see through glass so can see completely in from the bedroom (which is just a bed). Thank god we were only staying for one night or we would have been devastated. Would not stay again. Also the free wireless doesnt work anywhere except the lobby!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna1979Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcRiera, General Manager at H10 Universitat Hotel, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Donna1979Perth:

I'm sorry if our rooms design doesn't feed your wishes, I'm sure if an upgrade was available our staff will offered it to you with an extra cost to a another kind of room bigger than the one that was booked but as far as I know it was not possible during your stay with us, I hope to see you again and make you change your opinion about us.
Best regards.

Marc Riera
General Manager at h10 Universitat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#72 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#24 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#99 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#145 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#184 of 522 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
H10 Urquinaona Plaza Hotel
#32 of 522 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Universitat Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Universitat Hotel

Property: H10 Universitat Hotel
Address: Ronda Universitat 21, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#101 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#182 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Universitat Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Agoda, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your H10 Universitat Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel h10 Universitat
h10 Universitat Barcelona
H10 Universitat Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing