We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but rooms a little too small”
Review of H10 Universitat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H10 Universitat
Ranked #140 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
“Nice hotel but rooms a little too small”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The room was a bit to small (net enough space to open my luggage) and I'd rather have a seperate bathroom with a normal door and not the glass bathroom within 40 cm from the bed. I can't say anything regarding breakfast since we didn't take that in the hotel.


  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Inge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Inge C,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the hotel. Your opinions are essential for us to improve and we will keep all your comments in mind for the future. Actually, the smaller rooms will be fully refurbished during 2014.

We hope we can welcome you again and, please, do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any future needs.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    607
    168
    54
    36
See reviews for
162
757
75
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an okay hotel if you are young and single as the rooms are very small. The room is clean and so was the bathroom which was quite spacious in comparison to room size. However it is centrally located. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room, but we did request a kettle and were given one but hardly any room to put it. They did then move us to another HIO hotel after we complained. A very good buffet breakfast and staff were very obliging.

Room Tip: sorry did not have fitness centre or swimming accidentally pressed dots and cannot delete
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Farrer14,

Thank you for sharing your experience. Your opinions are essential for us to improve and we will keep all your comments in mind for the future. Actually, the smaller rooms will be fully refurbished during this year.

By the way, all our rooms have the Nespresso machine. Nevertheless, if anybody wishes to have a kettle in the room, they just have to ask for it at the reception and it will be left in the room for guests to use it.

We hope we can welcome you again and, please, do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any future needs.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Following a 7 day cruise, we stayed for 2 nights @ H10 Universitat as arranged/recommended by our Travel Agent.We were well pleased as it was ideally located just off Plaza Catalunya, and 2 mins walk from La Rambla. Spotless room on 1st floor at rear of hotel, room 105, hence no need to wait for lift when busy, although didn't notice any queues. we had a small but adequate terrace at the back of the room, ideal for a smoke and relaxation. The breakfast surpassed anything I have experienced in our travels abroad with both hot and cold buffet to suit all tastes. Receptionists very helpful and knowledgeable. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Asked for room at rear of hotel, and hence slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Owen O,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the hotel with other potential guests.

We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and our great breakfast buffet. A few years ago, H10 was known for having one of the best breakfast buffets in city hotels.

We hope we can welcome you again very soon and, please, do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any future needs.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel had one of the best breakfasts we had during our trip. The lobby and all fixtures were also very nice. Unfortunately, we booked The basic room which was 90 sq ft. Make sure to upgrade your room as there is zero floor space and a window onto a courtyard that smells awful so you cannot open it. The bathroom was also separated by a glass door with a large gap so you had zero privacy. Not exactly ideal for your honeymoon. We have stayed in many basic rooms in Europe and this was by far the smallest we have seen. The shower temperature fluctuated to dangerously hot levels without warning. We contacted the reception multiple times during our 2 night stay but was not fixed. I would not recommend this hotel if you book the basic room.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mike P,

Thank you for publishing this review. Your opinions are essential for us to improve and we will keep all your comments in mind for the future. We are glad to know you enjoyed our great breakfast buffet.

By the way, the smaller rooms will be fully refurbished during 2014 but, as you say, there is very little price difference between the basic and the standard, so you can always go for the upgrade. It needs to be said though, that all rooms have the same items/services inside, no matter the size of it.

We are really sorry about the tempeture fluctuation in the bathroom. There was a problem with the water provided by the city's water company and when we saw we could do nothing about it until they solved it, we decided it was better to have only cold water rather than no water at all. This problem lasted a couple of days and we put some information notes on the elevators for guests to be aware of it. The city's water company assured us it would not happen again. Our apologies!

We hope we can welcome you again and, please, do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any future needs.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

visited Barcelona on a 5night stay, aerobus to city centre, 5.90 euros, the h10 hotel is in a very good location, the hotel was spotlessly clean, maid service every day, our room 804, was very quite, just what we wanted, breakfast was buffet style and plenty to choose from, we enjoyed our stay at the h10 universitat, and would recommend it, thanks to all the staff,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cottagepie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Cottagepie777,

Thank you very much for publishing this nice review.

We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay, the peaceful room and the great breakfast! Our staff are always there to help our guests and provide what they need.

We hope we can welcome you again very soon and, please, do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any future needs.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We visited Barcelona on a 3 night stay. We caught the aerobus from the airport straight to plaza catalunya, it was then a 2 minute we all to the hotel. The hotel is in an ideal position, your a stroll away from La rambles. The hotel was very clean, the rooms are contemporary and are ideal for a short break. The breakfast was very reasonable, there was a selection of food and is was very enjoyable. The roof top bar was a fabulous extra. We would definately stay again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLV9483HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear SteveLV9483HA,

Thank you very much for sharing your pleasant stay with us. We are sure that some of your comments will be useful for potential guests.

Glad to know you liked the roof top bar! It is really a must at the hotel and with Barcelona's nice weather, it is great to have live music and chillout sessions twice a week for our guests to enjoy themselfs.

We hope we can welcome you again very soon and, please, do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any future needs.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a relatively small hotel, more like a boutique hotel, tucked away between a couple of stores, so you may walk by if you don't pay attention. However, the personnel is very nice and helpful and the rooms are spotless. They serve an excellent breakfast and as an added bonus there is the rooftop terrace with great views over Barcelona that has a bar and occasional live music. The location is also excellent at just a few steps away from Plaza Catalunya, La Rambla, and the old city. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel if I had to visit Barcelona again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank unhappysadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Unhappysadtraveler,

Thank you so much for publishing this review and sharing your experiences with other potential guests. We are glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us and sure that your comments will be more than useful for other potential guests.

We hope we can welcome you again very soon and, please, do not hesitate to get in touch with us for any future needs.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#85 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#23 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#28 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#97 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,164 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Ginebra
Hotel Ginebra
#182 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#90 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Universitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Universitat

Property: H10 Universitat
Address: Ronda Universitat 21, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#182 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Universitat 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Universitat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel h10 Universitat
H10 Universitat Barcelona, Catalonia
h10 Universitat Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing