We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room”
Review of H10 Universitat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
H10 Universitat
Ranked #136 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We got a great deal for a large room on the top floor for one night after a cruise. It had a little rooftop terrace, screened off from the hotel's bar. It's a really nicely decorated hotel, everything is finished to such a high standard. As others have mentioned, it's location is excellent, and breakfast was very good. The only issue I had with the hotel was the level of service. No-one was downright rude, but it just felt like everything we had to ask for was putting the staff to a lot of trouble. We arrived before our room was ready, checked in and left our bags, was it too much to ask for that our bags be taken to the room when it was ready? A different receptionist was there and he had trouble licating our bags, and would gladly have given me someone else's hand luggage as well as my own. Wecould have been given the wi-fi password when we checked in, instead of having to ring reception and have domeone bring it up to the room as it was too complicated to tell us over the phone. I'm really not hard to please, and I would probably recommend this hotel for its other good features, but I wouldn't book again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jmcsnowball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear jmcsnowball,

Thank you for these comments. We always want to improve our servive, so they will be taken seriously and the front desk manager will keep them in mind for the future for sure.

We are glad to know you liked your room. By your description, you stayed in the junior suite.

We hope we will be able to welcome you again some day.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 1,565 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

A perfect location literally 5 minutes on foot to la rambla. We didn't use any public transport or cabs the whole time and still saw everything we wanted from the city. Upon checking in we were offered a complementary drink, which was a surprise and delight! The room was a little small but very well equipped and cosy. The bathroom was also the best one we used anywhere in the city! The price was very reasonable and the staff were friendly, helpful and extremely polite and welcoming. The roof terrace was lovely at night for a quick drink, also. For an extremely welcoming, cosy and affordable hotel we wouldn't recommend anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Charles M,

Thank you so much for your these kind words and for sharing your experience with other travellers.

It is always a pleasure to meet and even surpass our clients' expectations. That is what we are here for. To try to do our best, for you.

Glad to know you had a nice stay and hope to welcome you again soon!

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night at this hotel but I wish we had stayed all week!!
Fabulous hotel situated right in the centre of the city.
Air conditioned, great wifi, clean, friendly staff and amazing quality of service!
I will be coming back someday for sure!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank musicalrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear musicalrob,

Thanks a lot for this review. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay event if it was only for one night...

Only one night?!? That's too short for Barcelona!!! Too many things to do and see around the city ;-)

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the hotel on you next visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Let's start with the upsides:
- great location, just off placa de Catalunya and passeig de Gracia, walking distance to museums and old town
- great small rooftop terrace with a bar
- friendly staff, who spoke English

And then the downsides:
- we had a room to the back with a dreadful view, avoid if possible. The shower and toilet were behind a glass wall, but the sink was just next to the main bedroom, so little privacy.
- we could hear EVERYTHING that went on in the hallway (other guests, cleaning staff, etc) and most of what went on in the room next door
- no wifi reach at the rooftop terrace
- the price was too high for what we got, especially since breakfast was not even included.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caramel_bru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear caramel_bru,

Thank you for writing this review.

Your opinions are essential for us to improve and we will keep all your comments in mind for the future. We would also like to inform you that the smaller rooms will be fully refurbished in the next few months.

Hope we will be able to welcome you again some day.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is great! I enjoyed every part of my visit. When we checked in they welcomed us with a glass of cava and told us we had been upgraded to a better room. Our room was comfortable with a large balcony. It was a bit odd that the sink was outside of the bathroom, but we quickly got over it. The rest of the hotel was beautiful.

The location was perfect. There are lots of bars and restaurants within walking distance. It feels safe and is clean. The metro is right outside the door. It doesn't get any better.

The staff was mostly great. There was one server on the rooftop that was not too friendly, but everyone else was wonderful.

The breakfast was one of the best parts. There is a large selection with a little of everything. Everything was tasty and fresh.

This was one of my favorite places I have stayed.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room and have breakfast in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RyanM3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear RyanM3,

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to share them with other travellers.

Glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the hotel! It's always nice when somebody says "This was one of my favorite places I have stayed" ;-)

Eventhough Washington DC is quite far away from Barcelona, we hope we can welcome you again on your next visit to the city.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just returned from a seven night break in this hotel this evening and we are missing it already. The hotel is in an excellent location for Plaza Catalunya, Las Ramblas and accessing all major attractions due to the tour buses leaving from Plaza Catalunya and also the availability of taxi's and the metro stop which is within a minute's walk. Our bedroom was a good size, had a huge and very comfortable bed and a very nice shower/toilet area with a separate sink/vanity unit with large mirror above which was ideal for getting ready for nights out. We were on the 7th floor, at the rear of the hotel, which was nice and quiet (although to be honest the hotel is on a very nice street which I do not imagine would be very noisy at any time). The breakfast buffet was excellent, I lived on fruit, their excellent tortilla with iberian ham and melon and the lovely white frothy coffee! The staff work very hard and the food is constantly replenished and fresh pastries etc put out, no matter how close to 10.30am you attended!! The reception staff are also very friendly and informative. Our favourite part of the hotel was the roof terrace, which has amazing views and serves lovely cava and icy cold drinks which were very welcome with the heat during August! The food is also lovely if you need to have a few nibbles after a couple of drinks. I have stayed in other H10 hotels previously and to be honest you cannot go wrong if you choose one as they all offer excellent standards of cleanliness, food and hard working staff. This hotel did not disappoint.

Room Tip: Room 707 was spacious with a lovely large super kingsize bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Sandra B,

Thank you so much for your knd words and for taking the time to write this usefull review.

We are happy to read you enjoyed your 7 night stay break so much. It is very important for us to meet our guests' expectations in order to have happy guests.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you again very soon on your next visit to the city! Choose H10 Hotels in the future: lots of great hotels in nice destinations ;-)

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The hotel is in a great spot. Close to transport, the hop on hop off bus, Catalunya Square, La Rambla, restaurants, great stores. Just a couple of minutes walk to all.
Our stay was too short...only four days. We could do it all again..... staying at H10 Universitat.
The rooms are clean and well maintained; there a Nespresso in each room but if you prefer to have tea the staff will bring you an electric jug. The roof top area is a great place to relax and wind down after a day's sightseeing. Well done, Universitat. N&D

Room Tip: Just ask the staff, they are extremely helpful and considerate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartaPladevall, Director General at H10 Universitat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear noel w,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with other potential guests.

Glad to know you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and found your 4 day trip too short. That means you'll have to come to Barcelona again soon!

Hope we'll be able to welcome you at the hotel on your next visit.

Best regards,

Marta Pladevall
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#28 of 515 in Barcelona
745 reviews
El Raval
H10 Catalunya Plaza
H10 Catalunya Plaza
#91 of 515 in Barcelona
654 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Regina Barcelona
Hotel Regina Barcelona
#161 of 515 in Barcelona
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Hotel Midmost
Hotel Midmost
#19 of 515 in Barcelona
235 reviews
Eixample
H10 Urquinaona Plaza
H10 Urquinaona Plaza
#31 of 515 in Barcelona
1,217 reviews
Eixample
H10 Casanova
H10 Casanova
#92 of 515 in Barcelona
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Universitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Universitat

Address: Ronda Universitat 21, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#182 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £79 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Universitat 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Universitat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel h10 Universitat
H10 Universitat Barcelona, Catalonia
h10 Universitat Hotel Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing