We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff in a fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Ranked #153 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in mainly due to the very welcoming staff. From the moment we arrived the staff were helpful and polite; definitely some of the best customer service I have experienced which many other hotels could learn from. Our 'standard' room was excellent. We had a king size bed, tea and coffee facilities, mini-bar, chocolates, a pillow menu and Molton Brown toiletries and the complimentary cava in reception each evening just made you feel even more valued as a customer. It's not in a central location but it is very easy to get to. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will be staying again on my next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yokohama_Llama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (940)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 940 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

We stayed at the Amister for 2 nights in april before departing on a cruise and enjoyed the experience.We caught the bus from the airport to the city centre then walked to the hotel.This as it turned out was our only complaint as the hotel was situated a little away from the city centre so involved a fair bit of walking to get anywhere.When we arrived our room wasn't ready but the receptionist could see we were hot and needed to freshen up so allowed us to enter the room and the maid would come back later to finish preparing the room which i thought was a nice touch.But then i found the hotel to be full of nice touches like a few chocolates in the bedroom, champagne and chocolates in the reception at the end of a long day and a robe and slippers to wear once you had freshened up a touch that iv only ever seen in the more expensive of hotels even the toiletries that they provide were of a very decent standard. we found the staff to be polite and knowledgeable about the city and nothing seemed to much trouble.When i book into a hotel for a short stay all i want is a comfortable bed which i had and also massive in size and a relaxing time which i also had.(i didnt have the breakfast) so i have to say if ever i visit barcelona again which i intend to do only for longer i will have no hesistation in booking the Amister hotel again.

Room Tip: if you can get a corner room you will then have a panaramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeybr6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed here for 4 days near the end of March prior to going on a cruise. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived early, 10 AM, but the gave us a room right away. It was located on a corner with a great view of the neighbourhood. There were lots of restaurants nearby and a supermarket was just around the corner. The interior of the hotel was unique and interesting. They had words suspended from the ceiling in the open atrium area. The room was very nice and clean, my wife loved the bathroom. We ordered room service once and the waiter was practically singing when he delivered the food. The breakfast had a large selection of cold food and hot food was made to order, bug included in the buffet cost. It was about a 15 minute walk to Placa Catalunya and the hop on hop off bus. We will definitely recommend this hotel and will stay there the next time we go to Barcelona.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the front of the building, this gave us an excellent view of the neig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lewislnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned after a week stay! This hotel is clean and the rooms are well equipped! New bathrooms are large-great bath products! love the pillow menu so you can order up what you like! We lunched at the restaurant one time-good prix fix meal-bkfst was not as good for us-continental seemed ok but so much the cooked to order items. Room service was also not great but everything else was superb! They added coffee makers when we left in the rooms! LOL! Comfy beds-crisp sheets-down comforter-big windows! Train was about 4 blocks to the main station and bus was out front-we found that it was not such a long walk to Catalyn or La Rambla! So, the location was really good-but in a nice quiet neighborhood-not too much traffic around-cafes, markets and shops close by! The staff was very helpful with directions and maps, sending out post for us, getting a cab and luggage assistance! We liked the daily treats in lobby-fruit and cold water or cava one time! Free internet access is a plus and lovely lobby with hidden corners and comfy chairs! I got a deal on this place thru booking.com and felt very lucky to find such a gem in the beautiful city where prices can be so high and you are not sure about the place! I highly recommend this small and pleasant hotel! It was a Great Catalonian Experience!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 331aee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ildefonso_Moyano, Director General at Sercotel Amister Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Dear Miss,

We really appreciate your fantastic comment about our services, facilities and staff. We are working hard to improve them and we implement constantly new ones as we did with pillow menu, cava and courtesy drinks and fruits. As you said now there are kettles, coffee and tea in all the rooms and next week we will have a free coffee service in lobby every morning.
We know we could do it better and we take into account your impressions that certainly will help us to improve.

Thank you so much for staying in Amister Art Hotel and recommend it. We hope to host you again on your next visit to Barcelona. Do not hesítate and contact us for email, social media or official web to get some discounts and keep in touch.

Best regards.

Ildefonso Moyano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week. The location is not the best - its a far walk from the metro and not near the heart of the city for tourists. However the hotel itself is very beautifully decorated, clean, and modern and has a very welcoming and helpful staff. The rates were more than reasonable for such a nice hotel. I enjoyed the big tub in the bathroom. Only minor issues was the heat/ac was not working and would only blow hot air even when set to cool. If you dont mind being a bit removed from the tourist hot spots, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alyssaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Booked this hotel based on various reviews.

Pleased to say that it lived up to its reputation, good sized room and bathroom and very clean. Fairly small boutique style hotel and different artworks make it a bit different from the normal chain hotels.

Staff were very pleasant and helpful, one minor quibble we requested extra coat hangers which were promised but not delivered, but otherwise staff at reception could not have been more helpful.

Despite other comments I had no problems with wifi.

Hotel is 15 minutes walk from Sants Station and metro links, but there is a taxi rank opposite.

Will stay at this hotel on next visit to Barcelona.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robbo456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ildefonso_Moyano, Director General at Sercotel Amister Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Robbo456,
All the staff want to thank you for choosing us in your visit to Barcelona and also for sharing your great comment with the Tripadvisor community. The team works hard to improve services and facilities day by day.
For us it was a pleasure to have you as a guest and we hope to be able to host you again very soon. Please, for the next visit do no hesítate to contact us anytime by email, official web or social media to make a reservation. We will take your requests in order to make your stay an unforgettable one.
Best regards.
Ildefonso Moyano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The amister is a nice hotel with friendly staff but is really too far from metro stations to make this a hotel we would want to stay again. A good 20 minutes walk - and at the end of a day sightseeing - this feels too far. The hotel is also on a busy road with few reasonable places to eat nearby. We ordered room service one night - and my husband's meal was only luke warm and chips were undercooked. My meal was okay. In terms of wifi, the signal is weak and mostly I've had to use my mobile to create a hotspot. We've also found the at mattresses hard. There are good features; the staff are incredibly friendly, and there are nice touches like the cava served in reception in the evenings - but really for us the negatives outweigh the positives with this stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittenandTinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ildefonso_Moyano, Director General at Sercotel Amister Art Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Victoria,

All the team appreciate your visit and your kind words about our services and facilities.
Otherwise we want to apologize because we did not be able to reach your expectations and this is our main goal with all our guests. We talked with F&B department about your impressions and also with the maintenance manager to check the WIFI connection. I have to say we improved this system few months ago and normally we do not have any kind of problem. About location maybe you did not know there is bus and taxi stop just in front hotel that connect us with all the main points of the city.
I apologize again and we hope to be able to host you another time so you could check our improvements. Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit to and we will surprise you this time.
Kind regards,
Ildefonso Moyano
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#61 of 515 in Barcelona
3,217 reviews
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Eixample
Room Mate Carla
Room Mate Carla
#52 of 515 in Barcelona
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#80 of 515 in Barcelona
2,136 reviews
Gracia
Aparthotel Silver
Aparthotel Silver
#69 of 515 in Barcelona
1,027 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Zenit Borrell
Hotel Zenit Borrell
#328 of 515 in Barcelona
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Amister Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Amister Art Hotel

Address: Avda. de Roma 93-95, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#92 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#111 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £57 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Amister Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Ámister Art Hotel is in an excellent location less than ten minutes from the centre and the conference area. That's why it's perfect for exploring Gaudí's modernist Barcelona, 'Las Ramblas', the 'Paseo de Gracia', the 'Barrio Gótico' (Gothic Quarter) or the most cosmopolitan part and the business centre of the city (also known as the 'Ciudad Condal' or 'City of Counts'). Discover the charm of this boutique 59-room hotel with free wifi internet. It's set in a classic building in the centre of Barcelona, refurbished in 2004 and where art soothes the senses. Our hotel in Barcelona is ideal for business meetings, as it has three function rooms in which to hold all types of events and celebrations. The rooms are equipped to offer every service and guarantee the success of your event in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sercotel Amister Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing