We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely with two tiny exceptions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Ranked #136 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
winchester
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Just lovely with two tiny exceptions”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

The only reason that this hotel did not get a 5 is because the beds were so hard that all three nights I spent there were not good quality nights' sleep.

However, I accept that perhaps I'm just a human being that needs a softer bed and plenty of people would be happy with a firm mattress and, to be fair, the staff did offer me that chance of testing other mattresses to see if I wanted to be moved. I didn't take them up on their offer as I had 3 other people in my room (two teenagers) - would have taken an entire day to move their stuff.

Location isnt great for the centre of town - La Rambla - but you do get used to the 15-20 minute walk.

Other than that, the hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff accommodating. Complementary cava from 7pm in the lobby was a nice touch. All in all, a good value for money boutiique hotel in a beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lily23007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    397
    81
    20
    14
See reviews for
201
406
21
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxshott, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Amister Hotel is a fantastic place to stay , we had three nights , and enjoyed every minute.
The Staff are friendly , efficient , kind and also have a great sense of humour and understanding.
They help with travel arrangements around the bus / tube network plus advising on trips.
If I was the owner I would be very proud of this Hotel.

Room Tip: we were in 603 , no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ildefonso_Moyano, Director General at Sercotel Amister Art Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Chris,

Thank you so much for your kind words!
I am not the owner but I am very proud of the hotel and especially of the team! They develop an amazing job and provide the best service possible to all our guests.
You can recognize when someone is just working or enjoying its work.

Thanks for taking the time to write the review and hope being able to welcome you again very soon.

Best regards,

Ildefonso Moyano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

I have been traveling for over 30 years and stay in some good places and bad, i recently took a trip to Barcelona with my dog. The hotel staff we perfect exactly what you want when far from home. Kind, friendly, helpful and they know everything.

I would recomend Amister Hotel to all travelers. Value for price, clean, great space and perfect staff. My dog was reated like a king and so was I.

A must stay hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank LAScheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Brasov, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best 4* hotel I've stayed. The hotel is very clean, well maintained. Very nice people there. Room was very confortable, very nice decorated and clean. A bit noisy tough from the traffic. It had the best free WiFi I ever used in hotels. Breakfast was OK. The hotel it's very close to H10 and other bus stations which is very convenient. It's also reasonably close to A1 and A2 Aerobus stations. Just need 10 - 15 minutes to get there. Taxi from airport to hotel is 32 Euros, so this is also a good option for a small group. In total we had a great time there and we will for sure return if we ever get in Barcelona again.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Octavian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I've never written a review on here before, but was moved to by the helpful & friendly erection staff at this hotel. We have been to Barcelona many times before & on arrival I thought we were a bit far out of the centre. This was not a problem at all.
1, it's a bit quieter
2, There are plenty of Metro stations to chose from within 10 mins walk
3, If you're happy walking (& if you're not you're visiting the wrong city!) it's an easy walk to the central areas of town.
Jordi was particularly helpful recommending places to eat, & booking restaurants that we had chosen, we also changed the time & day of some of our bookings. All this was done with enthusiasm & a smile. We were greeted warmly every time we passed through reception.
These little things make a big difference. It will be even better when they open up the terrace later this year.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room if possible for good views up & down the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Amister Art was a 5star experience. Front desk and our housekeeper ( Noemi ) were very helpful. Room was large and bed very comfortable. About half a mile from the Metro station. Thanks Noemi from us.

Room Tip: Liked the higher room. Check out Sieges from the metro also, only about 10 euros away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfptrex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Amister was clean, stylish, and comfortable with very pleasant and helpful desk staff. In concept and style, it resembles a boutique hotel, though it's mid-sized, with an open atrium through all floors surrounded by rooms. This gives the space a light, airy feel. The drawback is that noise from any floor carries to all other floors. In particular, slamming doors and loud conversations can echo through the hotel. This and the fact that it lies just out of the centre of Eixample would be my only minor criticisms. Overall it's a really lovely hotel and definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: If possible get a room that doesn't directly face the atrium. That might reduce noise a little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 512 in Barcelona
3,091 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#75 of 512 in Barcelona
2,059 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#63 of 512 in Barcelona
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#92 of 512 in Barcelona
1,218 reviews
Condado Hotel Barcelona
#168 of 512 in Barcelona
1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Amister Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Amister Art Hotel

Property: Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Address: Avda. de Roma 93-95, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#53 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#92 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Amister Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Ámister Art Hotel is in an excellent location less than ten minutes from the centre and the conference area. That's why it's perfect for exploring Gaudí's modernist Barcelona, 'Las Ramblas', the 'Paseo de Gracia', the 'Barrio Gótico' (Gothic Quarter) or the most cosmopolitan part and the business centre of the city (also known as the 'Ciudad Condal' or 'City of Counts'). Discover the charm of this boutique 59-room hotel with free wifi internet. It's set in a classic building in the centre of Barcelona, refurbished in 2004 and where art soothes the senses. Our hotel in Barcelona is ideal for business meetings, as it has three function rooms in which to hold all types of events and celebrations. The rooms are equipped to offer every service and guarantee the success of your event in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sercotel Amister Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing