We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4.5 Excellent Find with nice touches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Ranked #135 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“4.5 Excellent Find with nice touches”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Staff all spoke English. Comfortable room with window that opened onto street. Sleek, clean, professional, well run and comfortable. The staff was able to help us find decent restaurants that were close by and good restaurants farther afield. Linens, pillows, wifi, were great. Extra touches like crisp apples, infused ice water, and cava (Spanish champagne) in lobby a lovely and appreciated treat. Buses and metro just a few minutes walk away. The front desk gave us good advice on local sights such as the Park Guëll or the Font màgica de Montjuïc. You will not find tourist sites right out the front door - which we like sometimes. So, as one previous traveler states, this is a good hotel for "independent travelers" or people that aren't intimidated in using a city's metro/bus system. With the staff's excellent explanations as to how to get around, even a novice with a willingness to try something new would find it easy. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsRumphius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    393
    79
    20
    14
See reviews for
200
397
21
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were greeted with a warm welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Mireia and Jordi on the front desk went out of their way to help in recommending restaurants and directions and they even put champagne in our room on my birthday which was such a nice touch and greatly appreciated. I would definitely stay here again. It's about 20 minutes walk to the touristic areas or taxis and public transport are close by.
We went on the red tourist bus for 2 days which was great - 35 euros and well worth it as you get to see all of Barcelona's tourist spots just hop on and off when you want.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We took a month long vacation, Spain being the last country we visited. From all the hotels in Italy France and Spain, the amister has been one of the best ones. The staff was very friendly and it is not too expensive, you will def have the best bang for your buck.
It is not very close to the ramblas or touristic areas; however the metro and bus system makes it effortless to visit all the touristic sites in virtually no time.
When I come to spain I will definitely consider the amister for our stay.

Gracias!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seongnam
Level Contributor
1,035 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Location is great being about 10 min. walk from Barcelona Sants station...and at the same time, it's away from the tourist magnets in a quiet area...handful of restaurants (that locals mostly frequent, but are still tourist friendly) and a supermarket nearby also...hotel was very comfortable, and as the name suggests, has a very chic decor...and free champagne between 7pm and 10pm!!!
Wifi connection was excellent and the lobby was very comfortable as well. Very satisfied!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelonious22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved this pretty, arty hotel. Clean, bright and a joy to return to after a long day of sight seeing.
Bed was very comfortable and room was quiet ( no street sounds). It was easy an 20 to 30 min. to walk to main part of city ( La Rambla ) A lot to see on the way and safe to walk back at night.

Room Tip: I think they are all quiet - no real views but pleasant to watch people walking their dogs in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AustraliaAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

They make a big deal of their creative and artistic heritage and it's virtually invisible. The lobby is really not worth visiting. Breakfast is on the mezzanine and was adequate. It's clean enough, the rooms are big enough.

I was bitterly disappointed that the family room I booked was just a slightly odd shaped room with a fold down bed. I was expecting something a little better. They did remember to give me enough towels but not enough robes.

Parking is not attached. Remember to park in the basement if you don't want an angry attendant giving you a lesson in Catalan. Very close to the center of town and lots of great restaurants close by. A decent hotel for a couple or business trip but not a romantic destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I chose the Amister Art Hotel by reading the TripAdvisor reviews. We wanted a locally owned, not too big hotel near public transit. This hotel was clean, well appointed, and had very friendly staff. Small amenities, like water and fruit in the lobby for guests who returned from sight seeing, tired and thirsty, were much appreciated by us.
It didn't take us long to figure out the busses, which took us to the Rambla area, as well as to the various Gaudi buildings we wanted to see. The Metro was not such a long walk, either. The hotel itself is sleek and filled with lovely modern art. The beds were good and the standard of housekeeping was great. The room was pretty quiet and had all the things we needed; a safe, a little refrigerator, and adequate closet and drawer space. Free Wi-Fi.
The neighborhood had a variety of small shops and restaurants and was nice to walk in.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
3,047 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
#74 of 513 in Barcelona
2,032 reviews
Eixample
Best Western Premier Hotel Dante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,358 reviews
Pol & Grace Hotel
#71 of 513 in Barcelona
839 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#89 of 513 in Barcelona
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Amister Art Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Amister Art Hotel

Property: Sercotel Amister Art Hotel
Address: Avda. de Roma 93-95, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#92 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#103 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Amister Art Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sercotel Ámister Art Hotel is in an excellent location less than ten minutes from the centre and the conference area. That's why it's perfect for exploring Gaudí's modernist Barcelona, 'Las Ramblas', the 'Paseo de Gracia', the 'Barrio Gótico' (Gothic Quarter) or the most cosmopolitan part and the business centre of the city (also known as the 'Ciudad Condal' or 'City of Counts'). Discover the charm of this boutique 59-room hotel with free wifi internet. It's set in a classic building in the centre of Barcelona, refurbished in 2004 and where art soothes the senses. Our hotel in Barcelona is ideal for business meetings, as it has three function rooms in which to hold all types of events and celebrations. The rooms are equipped to offer every service and guarantee the success of your event in Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sercotel Amister Art Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Amister Art Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing