We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money? Forget it!”
Review of Onix Rambla Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Onix Rambla Hotel
Ranked #236 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Value for money? Forget it!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights last month. The location was superb, a stone's throw from the Place de la Kataluniya. However, we found the room to be cramped, dark and bare, as was the bathroom. At the price of nearly $300 a day, this was surprising. When we had made our booking, more than 6 weeks prior to our stay, we had specifically asked for a room on one of the higher floors and not overlooking the Rambla. What we got was a first floor room, directly overlooking Rambla de Kataluniya. However, the sleep quality turned out to be fine,

The hotel lobby is stark and unfriendly - surprisingly so, for a building claiming to be "historical" - with an ambiance quite different from that suggested by the pictures on the Internet. The unsatisfactory arrival experience was exacerbated by the girl at the Reception Desk, whose attitude towards guests is cold and unhelpful. She also asked demanded full advance payment on our arrival, which is certainly the hotel's right, but which is usually regarded as discourteous. However, we would like to offer our compliments to the night-to-morning clerk, whose name was Albert, I think, and who was extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

The breakfast was fine, with a good choice of hot and cold items and omelettes prepared to order,. But the overall experience of our stay was unsatisfactory, especially considering the price.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salmankureshi242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    267
    69
    17
    13
See reviews for
114
268
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights last week. Location was great. Close to shops, La Rambla & main square for transport.
Clean, comfortable & quiet hotel with good sized rooms & bathroom.
Buffet breakfast was good- plenty of variety & cheaper bought locally than from travel agent.
Pool is small but the roof terrace is relaxing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is in a great location and it's possible to walk to many of the attractions. There are many good restaurants nearby as well. It is also very close to a taxi stop, so that made getting around very easy. The room was quite spacious, and both the room and bathroom were very clean. Breakfast was also available and there were a variety of choices. The desk staff was very friendly and helpful, and all in all it was a very great choice for our family.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the courtyard are a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zürich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just came back form a 3-day stay in the Hotel Onix Ramblas. Staff very friendly, Hotel well located, only a block away from the Ramblas and 10 min. away from Plaza Cataluña. Clean and spacious rooms. 5 min. walk from the Market Boqueria. Would definitely stay there again if I visit Barcelona.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I was traveling on my own and looking for a hotel well priced and close to the city centre. Really pleased with Onix Rambla!! Could do with a bar, but all in all was so happy with this choice! Perfect for single or couple. Intimate with all the essentials

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylee Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is great! We took the Aerobus from the airport, which dropped us at Plaza Catalunya and we walked less than 5 mins with luggage to the hotel with no problem. The location is awesome - as the Rick Steves self guided walks for Ramblas, Eixample and Bari Gothic all starts at Plaza Catalunya. This place is also close to shopping and lots of places to eat nearby (dont miss Ciudad Condal few doors away, Tapas 24 around the corner, and La Flauta few blocks away). We also did laundry few blocks away at Splash - very convenient. We did not get breakfast at the hotel since this is Barcelona there are many choices for breakfast that opens early.
The room itself is squeaky clean, mini fridge and amenities that you would expect. Our room faced Rambla de Catalunya but we had no issues with noise.
If we return to Barcelona would not look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsonix, Operation Manager at Onix Rambla Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you very much for your review. One of the strengths of our hotel is definitely our privileged location and as you say easy to find all the services you need.
Greetings from Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The room was clean and spacious. It is located in the Ramblas close to the Plaza Catalunya. Took the Aerobus from and to airport to plaza and walked to hotel in approx. 5 minutes. The breakfast is good and you have an assortment of pastries, bacon,eggs, yogurt, cereals, juices and coffee. The staff at the reception desk is helpful and courteous and like others have mentioned Albert the night clerk is super friendly and amazing for customer service.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chinadoll19us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelsonix, Operations Manager at Onix Rambla Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear customer,
Thank you very much for your kindly review, All our staff of Hotel Onix Rambla are very happy with your review, We always work to provide the best service to our customers.
We hope to see you soon another time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Onix Liceo Hotel
Onix Liceo Hotel
#315 of 513 in Barcelona
636 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Rambla
Hotel Praktik Rambla
#70 of 513 in Barcelona
1,954 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
Hotel Praktik Vinoteca
#64 of 513 in Barcelona
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
HCC Montblanc
HCC Montblanc
#213 of 513 in Barcelona
991 reviews
Eixample
Eurostars Cristal Palace
Eurostars Cristal Palace
#359 of 513 in Barcelona
850 reviews
Eixample
Onix Fira Hotel
Onix Fira Hotel
#365 of 513 in Barcelona
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onix Rambla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onix Rambla Hotel

Property: Onix Rambla Hotel
Address: Rambla de Catalunya, 24, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Onix Rambla Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Onix Rambla Hotel is a very comfortable 3* urban hotel in Barcelona city centre. It has 40 spacious and modern rooms with some charming views over Rambla de Catalunya. Its location is truly ideal ! You will be able to walk to Gaudi’s famous buildings, museums, and enjoy the best shopping of town ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Onix Rambla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Onix Rambla
Onix Rambla Barcelona
Onix Rambla Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing