We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Text book five-star hotel with friendliness”
Review of Casa Fuster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Casa Fuster Hotel
Ranked #72 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Text book five-star hotel with friendliness”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I generally stay at 4-star hotels or below in Barcelona, however, stayed at this five-star establishment this time. This hotel itself is an iconic landmark with the beautiful facade, that makes the visit/stay very pleasant. Located in safe and again, 'pleasant' neighbourhood of Gracia, the hotel suits well the travellers who are 'done' with La Rambra or the Port's areas. (N.B. It still is easy walking distance to La Rambra).
As noted in some reviews, some guests may find it noisy as it is after all located in a lively area but I personally did not have the problem.
Staff are all professional, not only efficient but also mostly with good friendliness. I particularly appreciated the helpfulness of one of the reception/concierge service staff as she added extra information/suggestions on top of the basic answers to my questions. This was one of the best experience at this hotel, because, while one would always find five-star hotel concierge 'efficient' but not always particularly friendly or value-added.
Breakfast buffet was of the quality you would expect from this class of hotel. Good selection and service.
Drinks on the roof terrace is quite expensive but certainly worth a visit - the view is superb.

If I am to point out one negative quality, housekeeping was rather inconsistent. Some amenities that were more than half-used were not filled. The box which is supposed to have chocolate for night was left empty for the first night. The towel I intentionally left over bidet was NOT replaced at the evening service but rather hung back on the rail. - All of these are not something that would totally spoil the stay, however, not something one expect to see at a five-star hotel.

A classic five-star hotel where you get what you would expect from a five-star establishment. Recommended.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Lutecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    818
    335
    90
    47
    27
See reviews for
233
654
48
172
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Casa Fuster is a nicely situated hotel on Paseo de Gracia. The hotel is about a 10-30 minute walk from Barcelona’s main attractions.

The property has a nice roof top lounge/pool that has peaceful views overlooking Barcelona. It is a nice place to unwind and have a drink.

The rooms were ok and had nothing out of the ordinary (from what you would expect in a 5* hotel). That said, the rooms were very noisy given we had a room facing the main street (you would constantly hear peoples conversations, cars and motorcycles racing down the street and the occasional dog darks). I would have preferred to stay in a room that didn’t have the street view. Also, these rooms had pretty poor wifi signal (1 block on my iphone) and I would constantly get discounted as a result.

The buffet was nothing special. The pastries were good but unfortunately the menu/options contained a lot of sugar items and the cheese selection only contained hard cheese.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing street for a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nasser F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, Surrey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as there was a mix up at our original hotel. We ended up being much better off. We had a standard double room, the bed was the size of 2 singles pushed together and I've never had pillows as soft as these, we slept for hours. And, unlike any other hotel I've stayed in, you could hear a pin drop, bliss.
Breakfast was a treat each morning, my husband kept laughing at me because I'd eat so much I'd already be planning the following mornings meal!
The staff are lovely too, not pretentious as staff in 5 star hotels can sometimes be.
Only 1 draw back and that's that it's quite far from the main centre but you can easily walk to the tube and catch that down a couple of stops. Get a T-10 pass for €10.30, this gets you 10 single journeys valid for a year. Only buy 1 as you can pass it back over to your partner. Much cheaper than taxis.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Duckett10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Casa Fuster is beautifully appointed and within walking distance of most of the popular attractions in Barcelona. Our stay included an excellent breakfast with a great variety to choose from. The rooftop bar offers breathtaking views of Barcelona. The room was comfortable and hotel provided everything you could need in the bathroom including a razor and shaving cream. It was also nice to be in a high end hotel that did not charge for internet. This is a great place to stay when visiting Barcelona.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lees46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Casa Fuster is an amazing architectural piece of design! From the moment you step into the main foyer you feel you are in a really unique and luxurious environment.
The concierge and staff were all extremely knowledgeable and helpful.
My partner and I spent 3 nights here and chose the superior room. I would recommend this room as I heard that the standard rooms can be rather small. Our room was overlooking a small pedestrian road off Paseo de Gracia. The only fault I can find with this hotel, and trust me it's not easy to find faults, is that the bed was a little too firm!
If you enjoy walking it's a great location as it's within walking distance from the Ramblas.
Amazing foyer bar and roof top pool and bar. Fantastic buffet breakfast, probably one of the best I had in a 5 star European Hotel.
Enjoy you stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
477 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The location of the hotel is superb . It is close to prime shopping area and at the same time walking distance to the historic sites. The service is outstanding , deserves 12 out of 10. Surely deserves top rating in hotels of barcelona. We arrived late even then everything was ready and took just 2 minutes to check in. We were upgraded from junior suite to senior suite. The room on the 5 th floor with a terrace. Juan was the best concierge I have ever meet in my 15 years of travelling. He made my barcelona trip top class. The service is out of the world. On the 6 th floor they have a swimming pool and open area . The breakfast is also very good. I think I would rate this hotel on top class in Europe. Another leading hotel wonder. Only one negative is no mineral water in room.

Room Tip: Room 508 has superb view it is senior suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nirajsomaiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Hotel Casa Fuster is away from the crowds of Las Ramblas but still close enough to walk to all of the sights in the center of Barcelona. It has a lovely roof top terrace bar for enjoying a lazy afternoon with some cocktails or snacks although they do come at a premium.

The rooms are spacious by European standards and well appointed. While the rooms do not have a balcony, they have plenty of comfortable seating and the bed is extremely comfortable.

The concierge, Victoria, has been incredibly helpful in making reservations and recommendations for us with planning for dining out with my parents who are limited in mobility. Definitely one of the best features of the hotel has been her support!

The location can't be beat and the service is exceptional!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a suite but the deluxe rooms are also very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn_in_Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#60 of 513 in Barcelona
1,809 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#58 of 513 in Barcelona
1,303 reviews
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#17 of 513 in Barcelona
1,765 reviews
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 513 in Barcelona
1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Fuster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Fuster Hotel

Property: Casa Fuster Hotel
Address: Passeig de Gracia, 132, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Fuster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Barcelona, on Passeig de Gràcia, this genuine gem designed by the Catalan architect Lluís Domènech i Montaner symbolises the spirit of modernism in its maximum capacity. Hotel Casa Fuster has traditionally been a meeting point for guests, artists, intellectuals and locals who look for a quiet and unique place for business or pleasure. The superior terrace with swimming pool has become a unique lookout point above the whole Passeig de Gràcia, the Mediterranean Sea, the Tibidabo mountain and the Sagrada Familia. It also has a reading room that is perfect to relax while enjoying a good book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mirai, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Fuster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Fuster
Casa Fuster Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing