We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Barcelona............”
Review of Casa Fuster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Casa Fuster Hotel
Ranked #74 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2010

Casa Fuster is special. The building is an architectural gem, at the top of one of the most prestigeous streets of Barcelona, yet only 3 minutes walk from real life Barcelona in the Gracia district.
The reception staff and front of house could not be more helpful, and the rooftop staff are very good. The only blemish on a great hotel are the staff in the ground floor lounge (a superb room) who seem to be only interested in serving those who will give them the largest tip! Some serious retraining required here!
The standard rooms face the back, but are quiet and have a view of Sagrada Famillia over the rooftops. The baths could be better designed as you have to be an olympic gymnast to get in and out'... not for the faint hearted. The standard of the rooms are excellent.
There is a small gym on the roof, and although the pool is an oversized plunge pool, it serves that purpose when the mercury rises over 30.
The weekly jaz club is a bonus, and well worth the visit.
If in Barcelona.... it is worth pushing the boat out for this.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

766 - 772 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2010

We stayed here for three nights of our honeymoon after a week trip in Tenerife. This hotel is beautiful. From the moment we stepped out of the taxi to the time we checked out. Service was impeccable, We had a junior suite, with a balcony overlooking the main street Paseo de Gràcia. Very central to everything. We did the bus turistic (hop on hop off bus tour) and we were not too far from Casa Mila. Upon our arrival, we were greeted with a bottle of champagne and pastries . The rooftop patio is beautiful, pool is small, but we were so busy walking along the streets of Barcelona that we didn't have time to enjoy the pool. Drinks and food are expensive here, but the views are spectacular. We will definitely be back at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newlyweds69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2010

Stayed 5 nights at Hotel Casa Fuster and couldn't have been more pleased. The building is lovely, staff most gracious. The room rate was less than expected and included a very nice buffet breakfast. The hotel is a short walk from Gaudi's Casa Mila and Casa Batllo. First night turn-down included lovely tray of mini-pastries. Neighborhood great for walking with excellent restaurants within a 5 minute stroll.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WendyB02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Casa Fuster was a great experience, everybody very kind and nice and an ambient that is spectacular. Incredibly comfortable rooms.

Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
Thank OddvarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This hotel can be extremely expensive. I saved a lot by booking through Booking.com rather than using the hotel's own web site. This put me in a good enough frame of mind to pay the crazy 128 Euros per night charge for an extra bed for our small daughter. This extra charge, more than many hotels charge for a whole room plus breakfast, didn't even include breakfast!

The breakfast was expensive, good though not top rate. It suffers from being in the basement. This is an interesting Modernist room but it is still a basement and correspondingly gloomy. One day they had the breakfast on the ground floor because of some special event in the basement. This was far better, though the lovely head waiter still apologised that it wasn't sunny. The food is good but I've had better.

The staff are terrifically keen and friendly. Some of them made a point of remembering my surname. There were plenty of friendly greetings. It was always easy to catch their attention if we required anything. But when I asked the concierge whether 9 year old children travel free on the Metro, he admitted he didn't know and guessed that they did. I think he should have gone and found out, particularly as his guess was wrong. Children over 4 have to cost the same as adults on the Metro.

Our room had a lovely view down the Passeig de Gracia. This made a lot of difference to our enjoyment. I would say the hotel is well placed but a little out of things. Without the lovely view, we'd have felt a bit cut off.

The bathroom was terrific: better than I've had in any other City hotel and only equalled by one or two country hotels with space to do something interesting. It was very big with a door to separate the bath and toilet from the rest, of required. The fittings were excellent and the design had successful Modernist touches.

The bed was good. We didn't sleep too well though because the air conditioning was quite noisy and kept switching off and on in the night, waking us up. With the air conditioning off, the room became unpleasantly hot in the night even though the weather was cool.

The interior decoration is a bit boring but luxurious and in very good condition. The building itself is a rightly celebrated example of Modernist architecture.

The restaurant was almost empty on two out of the three evenings we went there. We had expensive but good meals each day and friendly converse with a waitress on the two quiet days. If these staff aren't genuinely pleased to see the guests then they certainly put on a remarkably good act! The restaurant is a fine room that they should consider shifting their breakfast to.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampstead_Heath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed here for two nights following a cruise which ended in Barcelona. We had transferred onto the cruise at quite short notice due to the volcanic ash, so we hadn't researched Barcelona hotels with the detail we normally would. I looked at the Mandarin Oriental, but the prices for the nights concerned were exorbitant, but then came across the Casa Fuster and decided to give it a go based on the reviews on tripadvisor.

We went for one of the standard rooms given we didn't spend much time in the room. To be honest we were glad we hadnt paid 50% more for a higher grade of room as this was a decent size, very well furnished (contemporary but making use of classic features) and quiet. The bathroom was particularly good (although the shower always leaked over the floor).

We didn't eat or drink in the hotel, but we thought the front desk and concierge service was excellent. We were allowed to check in when we arrived at 10am and the concierge made some excellent recommendations for dinner and gave us some other helpful advice.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel for a relaxing city break in a not too stuffy five star hotel. Yes it's a bit further up the hill than some of the other hotels, but we walked everywhere in Barcelona (including down to the beaches) from the hotel fine.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2010

I visit Barcelona often and have stayed in many of the good hotels there but this was rather special. At the very top of Paseo Gracia just around the corner from the bustling district of Gracia, this is a stunning hotel.
We got a great deal and stayed in a junior suite with a great balcony and a view straight down the paseo. Great bed, bathroom and shower. The staff were delightful. We didn't eat in the restaurant (apart from breakfast, where, shockingly for Spain, they knew how to fry an egg) but am told it's very good. The bar is wonderful with live jazz on a thursday.
The pool on the roof is very small, a plunge pool really, but there's lots of room to stretch out. There is a snack bar and gym also on the roof.
Ca't recommend this hotel enough, it really is rather special.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
Hotel Omm
Hotel Omm
#49 of 515 in Barcelona
1,411 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#65 of 515 in Barcelona
1,921 reviews
Eixample
Alma Barcelona
Alma Barcelona
#18 of 515 in Barcelona
1,871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Majestic Hotel & Spa Barcelona
Eixample
Cotton House Hotel, Autograph Collection
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#6 of 515 in Barcelona
1,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Fuster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Fuster Hotel

Address: Passeig de Gracia, 132, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Gracia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#66 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £119 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Fuster Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Barcelona, on Passeig de Gràcia, this genuine gem designed by the Catalan architect Lluís Domènech i Montaner symbolises the spirit of modernism in its maximum capacity. Hotel Casa Fuster has traditionally been a meeting point for guests, artists, intellectuals and locals who look for a quiet and unique place for business or pleasure. The superior terrace with swimming pool has become a unique lookout point above the whole Passeig de Gràcia, the Mediterranean Sea, the Tibidabo mountain and the Sagrada Familia. It also has a reading room that is perfect to relax while enjoying a good book. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Fuster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Fuster
Casa Fuster Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing