We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family friendly hotel near the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Ranked #244 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family friendly hotel near the beach”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed april 2012

Myself wife & 5yr old son stayed for 2 nights april 2012.

Hotel is roughly €25 in a taxi from the airport and takes 20 minutes.

Check in was fast and easy.

We had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the street, not much of a view but the other side would only over look the pool. With no balconies i can't see much of a reason to worry about where your room is.
Room reasonable size, 2 twin beds and a rollaway bed for my son, large bathroom with plenty of towels/soaps/shampoos etc...

Outside the pool area was fantastic for familes, lovely pool and jacuzzi and plenty of seating around the pool.
2 large gazebos with nice furniture to sit and relax.

Breakfast at the hotel was very good plenty of hot and cold choices to suit everyone.

Beach area and port 5 minutes walk from hotel.

Bus stop right outside hotel, if you want to go to Ramblas area just catch number 14 bus and takes about 15 minutes for a €2 single trip.

Would definately stay again at this hotel....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joshua06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    669
    220
    65
    33
See reviews for
414
426
28
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Myself and my girlfriend recently stayed at Hotel Icaria (March 25th-30th 2012) Our flight arrived in Barcelona at 9:30pm which meant it was dark, so we opted for a taxi to the hotel as we didn't fancy any hastle. The taxi cost 28euros which included all fayres/additional charges. We managed to return to the airport on our way home using public transport (very easily) as we had more idea of where we were going and it cost 50% less than getting a taxi.

We were pleasantly greeted by the staff who were friendly and very helpful throughout our stay. Again, as it was late and we didn't know the area, we decided to get some room service - pizza & sangria (a must) which was lovely.

ACCOMMODATION: The hotel is brilliant, really modern and well looked after in every way. Lovely bathroom with all the amenities you need including: free wifi (hit of miss, but still works fine) air con (we had problems with this, however as soon as we informed the staff they fixed this from the reception desk) tv (with a couple of english channels - channel 4 and some news stations) ice machines on every floor. & a mini bar


LOCATION : The hotel is situated along the newly refurbished costal area, which may not be slap bang in the middle of 'La Rambla' however if you want to get into the city centre you have 2 great options

a) By Foot - Take a 30-40 minute walk along the beach into the city centre. We did this most days as we are more than happy to walk places

b) Metro - the metro station we used was 'ciutadella vila olimpica' this station is a 10 minute walk away from the hotel and takes you into the city centre in a matter of minutes

Also, if you choose to get an open top bus tour, there is a pick up / drop off stop within 1 minutes walk of the hotel
TIPS:

- Cheap food/booze - if you go to la rambla (which is a place we found ourselves visiting every day) you must go to a supermarket called 'Carrefour express' where you can buy 6 small bottles of cider for 1.30euros and wine from as little as 0.93euros! (it depends how fussy you are as to what you think of it, but we really liked the wine, even more so as it was so cheap!!)

** we found ourselves eating out for lunch around 3/4pm then taking some food to the hotel with us from this supermarket to eat for tea e.g baguettes, salami, olives, crisps and salad - all for very cheap!! **

- Eating Tapas & Paelle on La Rambla - This was one of the top 10 things we were told to avoid by our 'top 10 Barcelona' book however you can get plenty of good deals. One thing you need to confirm before sitting down is that you can choose your tapas dishes as we were given random dishes on our first experience. We were more sure of ourselves the second time around and got exactly what we wanted. Its a brilliant experience sitting in the sun, eating gorgeous food, drinking sangria with your partner and enjoying the views and sounds. definitely do it!

- Shopping / BARTER, BARTER, BARTER!! - if you want to get souvenirs, DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THE MAIN STRIP ON THE LA RAMBLA! across the road (either side of the strip) there are plenty of souvenir shops where the shop keepers will offer you discounts to literally anything inside their shop if you pick an item up. most items we managed to get for around 40% off the labeled price. It makes a massive difference to your trip :)

KEEP AN EYE ON YOUR POSSESSIONS - we read loads of articles of advice stating how dangerous Barcelona as an area was for people getting their items stolen. I don't think it is any different to any other capital city i've ever visited, you just have to be vigilant and careful/sensible with your items. Don't panic!

I hope this review comes in useful to your trip. It's a beautiful city. You can view mine and my partners photographs from our trip here:

http://sdsphotography.co.uk/barcelona-2012/

Room Tip: We stayed with a view of the main road, there were no issues with noise at all, so don't be put...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Very clean, nice rooms, lovely breakfast lots of choice.
Leisure facilities bit limited, jacuzzi did not work and there are no changing rooms.
Good location for Port Olympic, 20min walk on sea front into town.
Beware there are pickpockets at port Olympic not just on la ramble so be careful.....

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simonandkaren6569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

There's nothing very special about this hotel. It's quite a walk into the city centre and it's not near a Metro station. The breakfast buffet looks tempting, but the hot dishes are strangely cold. The coffee comes from a self-service machine. The rooms are small, and their air conditioning system doesn't work very well. The wifi is slow. And the front desk is simply chaotic. Checking out was taking forever and I had a plane to catch: three staff were on duty but seemed unable to process other guests in less than 20 minutes each. So finally I just plonked my room key down and said I had to go, having already given a credit card as a guarantee on arrival. At first nothing happened. I was sitting in a taxi about to set off when one of the clerks rushed out and accused me of trying to leave without paying the bill. The room was pre-paid, so all this fuss was for a few bottles of water from the minibar and one light lunch. Didn't leave one with a good feeling. The clerk was unable to explain why the card they'd already had was unacceptable, and I used the same one when I went back inside.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Opera-loverOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcCamps, General Manager at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. All comments help us improve our service, especially those which are not so positive, such as yours.

I must say that I remember very well the situation you describe in your review, as I was helping people at the desk myself when you checked out. That day, you requested to have a late check out (leave the room at 14:00h instead of 12:00) which we accepted as a gesture to you and did not charge anything extra for it.

When you were leaving at 02:00pm we had a lot of pepole checking in, there were about 5 couples at a time at the desk, something normal as it is our starting check-in time. Even though we had 3 people working in that shift, it takes a while registring everybody and giving the right service to all of them, just the same one you deserved when you arrived the first day.

Instead of willing to check your charges and paying them, you decided to leave without notifying so to the desk. That is why we had to go out to the street to ask you to come back. We are sorry if that offended you, but we think this is an essential and usual procedure in any transaction: guests check the bill, and then allow the hotel to charge to the credit card. What if we had charged you for anything wrong? I am sure you would not have like it and that you preferred to leave the hotel making sure what you were charged for.

Regarding the breakfast, let me point out that the self service machine is a expresso coffee machine, so quality is out of doubt. Nevertheless, for real expresso lovers we still offer the traditional coffee made by a waiter in any restaurant.

At the Icaria rooms are the size the spanish regulation says and in fact, most of them are even bigger than what is said by law and follow the same standards that all hotels in Barcelona and Spain.

And finally, I must say that we have no records that you reported any incident regarding the air conditioning. Our hotel has got a system that allows the reception to control the airconditioning of all rooms with just one click and when incident is reported, it is very easy to see if it is working fine, and if it is not, to give a fast solution to the guest.

Please, if you need to pass me any extra comments regarding this situation, I remain at your disposal. Do not hesitate to contact me at your convenience.

Best regards,

Marc Camps
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drogheda
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights. It is clean, staff are friendly, but only negative is hot breakfasts were never hot. This is not a hotel with a wow factor, but fine for the price. What it has going for it is location. Only a 10 minute walk to the beach, 5 minutes to a great shopping centre with supermarket, cinema and good restaurants. Also, number 14 bus from just outside gets you to the city centre in 15 minutes for only 2 euro. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room on floor 5 or 6 for more space, and slightly more comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wardlawlifecoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Location is nice, all people working there also very nice, rooms very small, even the business suite they call. We are from Canada, so there are definitely alot of things not the same. The temperature in room always above 26 degrees, ac was broken our 5day stay with no service to fix it. Very busy street and area, so leaving windows open is impossible unless you are used to living under a freeway. Hot tub is always cold and pool is even colder. Even with me asking to get my ac fixed continuously, no one cares. Good news though is they sure didn't forget to charge my credit card.

Room Tip: Do not get a street side room, get a pool side at any expense, no sleep to be had with all traffic a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I am in our room(315) getting ready to check out and so I thought I would take the time to post this review while everything is still fresh in my mind. First let me say that the people who work here are very helpful and friendly. From the front desk personal all the way to the ladies who clean the rooms, they are all very professional. As for the hotel..it is very clean and in a very good location. It is only a 15 minute bus(14) ride to downtown Barcelona. We did have a problem with the A/C which in the afternoon couldn't keep the room cool. The management did offer to move us to better room. The ice maker machine on the 3rd floor doesn't work so I had to walk down to the 2nd floor. The breakfast price is a bit high by our standards. But all in all we did enjoy our stay at Hotel Icaria and we recommend it if you ever visit Barcelona you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We requested a room facing the pool. But in the afternoon the sun sets on that side which makes it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank-Carol-Yeshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#211 of 513 in Barcelona
585 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#55 of 513 in Barcelona
4,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Front Maritim
#304 of 513 in Barcelona
940 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#158 of 513 in Barcelona
2,383 reviews
Poblenou
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
#241 of 513 in Barcelona
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Property: Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Address: Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#158 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel between the historic and the contemporary Barcelona, between the beaches and the monuments, everything is close to Hotel Icaria, for fun or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Icaria Hotel
Hotel Icaria Barcelona
Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing