We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Ranked #226 of 521 Hotels in Barcelona
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
212 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

Stayed here for a trade show and a few extra days after to sight see. Hotel is friendly and clean. Beds were the 2 twins pushed together type and they did tend to separate a bit but they were quite comfy. Room was nice and quiet and we slept well. Breakfast was good, with a wide range of food, hot and continental and fruit. We paid 95 euros after the show so price was good. Nice big bathroom, although shower head was mounted v. high for the vertically challenged. Pool, Bar and Restaurant. Staff very friendly. Location is very convenient for the beach and marina area. Just over 3km walk to La Rambla and 1.5km to the Marina subway on the red line and 800m to the Vila Olimpica on the yellow line. So you need to be prepared to walk a bit... we did and it was fine and safe. For those who want taxi's they are parked right outside the hotel. it took 40 minutes from here to the Fira/Europa at rush hour (walking/metro/FGC). There's a big supermarket in a mall (open 9:30 to 9:30) very close for those who want to make their own lunches etc. as tourists... that's what we did. Overall a good place to stay and we'd recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkiingCyclingDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear SkiingCyclingDave,
Thanks for sharing your comments and for recommending us. We are so pleased to hear from you that SB Icaria Barcelona is a good place to stay. Yours truly,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    644
    213
    61
    27
See reviews for
397
407
27
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We booked through booking.com and a week before departure, we were advised the pool and sauna facilities were not available as these were being renovated. Through the agent I requested a upgrade to our room, due to the lack of facilities. When we arrived, we were indeed up graded to a junior suite.

The hotel is 25 minutes from the airport. Situated on a busy bus route main road, there were an awful lot of outside noise, more noticeable as the room was so hot, we had to keep opening the windows.(air-con not working, due to the time of year.) The room was very spacious and very clean. Bathroom a good size, with an excellent shower. There was a mini bar in the room (Euro 3 for each item) along with a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. The bed was way to hard for us, however adequate for our stay.

The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the Olympic Port area, which was great as you get the best of both worlds, the beach and city centre touring. There is a lounge area, to partake when your feet have had enough, for a beverage or two (reasonable cost) and a dining area for evening meals.
Breakfast was reasonable also, which was cereal, toast, fruit, yoghurts and some cooked foods, eggs, bacon and frankfurter sausages. Tea, coffee and fruit juice. All the staff were very tentative. We were celebrating a 50th birthday and there was no hesitation allowing us to decorate a table with balloons etc,They even arranged for a little cake and champagne (cava) for us.
Barcelona is huge so prepare to pack your most comfortable of shoes - you will need them.

Plenty of tour buses to choose from, taxi's readily available along with buses and trams.
There is nothing not to like in Barcelona.
Would I use this hotel again - yes
Would I recommend this hotel to others - yes.

A great break had by all, made all the better for the friendly staff.....

Room Tip: Junior suites are very nice and spacious, however due to limited time you spend in them, it's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hammerbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Hammerbees,
Thank you very much for your selection of SB Icaria and you positive feedback on TripAdvisor about your recent stay. It is wonderful to know you have appreciated our location next to the beach and close from city centre. We will look forward to welcoming you again in Barcelona on a future occasion.
Cordially,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
78 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed here during Mobile World Congress. Staff was very friendly and efficient. Food including room service quite good and promptly delivered. Room was standard/pleasant. Bathroom marble and nice. Would have appreciated separate soap and shampoo - the dispensers don't quite work as well particularly for the latter. Minibar was usually not restocked - a bit strange - and only had one diet entry. Hotel channels did not match the list provided - were in fact much more limited. Wifi was a bit slow - not horrible - but overloaded at times. But these are nits and overall it was fine. The one real drawback is that it is a bit isolated. It is about 1 kilometre from the metro. Taxis are expensive. There is nothing really close by at night. For a business trip where cabs are covered by expense it was absolutely fine. And I do appreciate the staff friendliness.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knitsafghans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear knitsafghans,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are delighted that you were satisfied with our hotel overall and especially with our staff. We hope you had a brilliant time in MWC and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards from the team at SB Icaria Barcelona Hotel.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Attended Gartner Symposium 2013 and although I spent little time in the hotel, the time I did spend was perfect. Can't see any reason not to give 5 stars. Nice clean room, good breakfast, no queuing and the hotel staff help me out with all questions I had.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Johan N,
Thank you very much for your feedback, we greatly appreciate it. I am so happy our staff was able to accommodate you and any of your needs. We look forward to seeing you in your future visits to Barcelona.
Kindest Regards,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Enjoyed my stay here. Greeted warmly by the very helpful reception staff and immediately impressed by the look and cleanliness of the hotel. Rooms were small but spotless and comfy. Pool, hot tub and steam room a nice bonus. Location close to the marina,with very nice restaurants and taxis regularly parked just outside if wanted to venture elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Field87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Field87,
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at SB Icaria. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to see you again next time you're traveling to the Barcelona area.
Cordially,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Stayed here for a week while on business in Barcelona - not the best hotel available in retrospect but needed somewhere quite short notice. The rates reflected the fact there was a conference in town so might be worth specifying you are not on business to ensure you don't get charged above the norm. Obviously I wasn't paying so not a massive issue, but not worth what my company paid.
So, the review:
Location: Great if you want to spend a few days of your time on the beaches or at the marina in fine weather, walking distance from multiple nice beaches, Port Olympic etc. If you are planning on spending your nights in Town though - get somewhere in town as this place is a cab ride away. I'd say less than ideal for families.

Quality:
Average - rooms (well mine on the second floor) are a little tired, rust around the bath, broken toilet seat and a few little niggly things, like the Aircon refusing to work no matter what I pressed and ridiculously slow internet. Ok - might not be important for you but if you are on business or planning to skype anyone, forget it. The internet is simply too slow.
Otherwise rooms are clean, with enough space and the beds comfy enough.

Food:
No complaints. Only had breakfast a few times. Plentiful and good selection, standard stuff, salad and continental one end, fry up the other. My advice, pay when you have breakfast - not prebook. It starts at 0700 and that meant I was leaving the place before breakfast started most days, so wasted money

recommended to:
Not couples on a romantic trip, at all
Business people who aren't paying the rates - fine
Families with a passion for the beach.

I mentioned all my issues to the front desk - again I will stress I was in the room to sleep only and for that purpose all was well, but hey I like to feedback - the internet apparently had no issues, so maybe Barcelona has poor internet from the 80's.. and no one even got back to me about the toilet seat or aircon.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harpersimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear harpersimon,
I would like to thank you for taking your time to send us your comments. It is really important for us to get our guests feedback, unfortunately not so positive as I would to in this case. It will help us in the future acting to correct and improve our guests experience.
I remain at your entire disposal.
Sincerely yours,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This hotel has some good and bad points, that make it neutral overall

Rooms
On the whole plus, OK size and clean with a good mattress
On the minus lighting is a nightmare, a panel with unfathomable switches and a awful selection of soap (a common dispenser on the wall like a public rest room)

Reception
Nicely appointed but the policies are dreadful, which made me argue with the staff. Firstly, you have to pay in advance, secondly you are pressured in to breakfast and lastly, i wanted the address of my company on the bill. Not possible without a tax ID of the company. Never had this before

Location
It is not really near anything. 2 blocks from the sea, so you cant see it. 6 blocks from a metro stop, so not really convenient. There is a bus stop outside, but there are a number of very upmarket hotels nearby (Arts), where a colleague was mugged.

Facilities
Reasonable. Nice pool, but in the hotel courtyard so not a huge amount of sun and you make a bit of a spectacle of yourself. Small fitness room too.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJKMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear IJKMan,
I would like to thank you for having taken your time to send your comments that could help us to reconsider certain aspects of our hotel. I regret that your visit was not as pleasant as it should have been and that we were not able to achieve your expectations. I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again on your next Barcelona visit in order to give you the experience you deserve.
Sincerely yours,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#209 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Poblenou
Hotel 4 Barcelona
Hotel 4 Barcelona
#242 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
Pullman Barcelona Skipper
#121 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#152 of 521 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,330 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#50 of 521 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Property: Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Address: Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#144 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel between the historic and the contemporary Barcelona, between the beaches and the monuments, everything is close to Hotel Icaria, for fun or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Icaria Hotel
Hotel Icaria Barcelona
Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing