We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite location near the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Ranked #247 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite location near the beach”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. It takes at least a 30 minute walk to the city centre. It is a nice walk along the beach. The location was appealing as the city is busy with a lot of people and it was nice to have quite time at the hotel and relax by the pool after touring the city. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I have ever experienced. Lots of selection. The hotel staff were not the friendliest but were efficient.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elainey77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    680
    227
    67
    34
See reviews for
424
432
28
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights for a short city break in Barcelona.
The hotel is 15-20 minutes walk away from the centrum, 5 minutes from the beach.
The room was clean, the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was great with many healthy options: fruit, muesli, yoghurt, tea...not just the usual jam and bread.

I was a bit disappointed with the "spa" : small sauna and steam room and a tiny pool.
Although, we were there to explore Barcelona and not to have a spa weekend. :-)

Overall we had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I was quite disappointed with my experience at this hotel.
The moment we arrived we felt as if we were not welcome and an inconvenience. We arrived before check in and simply asked to store our luggage so we could go explore the city and reception was extremely rude.
The internet was a complete joke. We were not able to keep connected for more than ten minuets at a time.
The staff was extremely unfriendly to the point that I felt uncomfortable asking for anything, even just asking for suggestions on what to do in the city.
When you are running a hotel, you should make sure that your staff is friendly to paying customers, not grouchy and uninviting.
To end on a positive note, the breakfast buffet was delicious and had a lot of options, and the room was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AdrianaMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the hotel and if you want a relaxing beach holiday this hotel is perfect. It's only a 5 minute walk away. Rooms are large for a European hotel which was quite surprising considering the cost to stay there was reasonable. I would recommend staying on the pool side as traffic noise is annoying. If you are looking to visit the city sites it's not in the best of hotels as you are on the new side of Barcelona but the hotel is well connected with the sightseeing busses nearby, underground (15min walk) and publics buses outside, only opinion as I like to stay in the centre of all the sights. Within 30 mins of the airport by both train and taxi.

Overall very good, food was nice although didn't have breakfast and can't comment on pool but looked a good size and gym very small but everything you need.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Orchard04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed here with a friend for 4 nights. Hotel has everything you need. Staff are really helpful, Marie Carmen and Diego were wonderful sources of information about transport options, tours, places to visit, eating out, shops etc. All the staff we encountered were helpful and pleasant. The hotel is a six minute walk from the sandy beach, great beach bars and restaurants close to the beach and into the marina. City centre was about 15 -20 minutes by buses which stop outside the hotel. Rooms were spotless. Lovely pool, great to relax after sight seeing. Didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food but drinks at the bar were not over priced. All in all this hotel gives you the option of beach or city days with great staff.

Room Tip: Not about the rooms but generally booking attractions like the Sagrada Familia on line lets you avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear salmc,
Thank you for your wonderful praises about our hotel and the staff. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back.
Best regards.
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Had to stay a night due to room availability issues elsewhere. Paid an exorbitant €150 and this was nowhere being worth that kind of money. I've paid good money for great hotels and stayed at great places for much less cost. This is neither.
Staff: polite and helpful at the reception. Not a universal experience unfortunately. Diego at the front desk is a helpful chap.
Location: not great. Everywhere is a walk. Felt unsafe even going out for a run in the evening or early morning.
Breakfast: OK.
Gym: tiny. One treadmill. One stationary bike.
Pool: decent.
Room: basic. Horrendous air conditioning. Every review here that complains about the air conditioning being an issue, is accurate. This can't be fixed cos their Aircon system is lousy.

There are way better hotels 2-3kms away that I will pay less or same amount for. Enough said.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank pan-kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear pan-kan,
I regret that your visit was not as pleasant as it should have been and that we were not able to achieve your expectations. Please accept our apologies. Rest assure that we will focus our efforts to improve through the comments you are highlighting in your review.
Yours sincerely,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellent Hotel had everything we needed, good polite service, and when we had a problem with the a/c upgraded to a better room. The pool was fab and a reasonable size for a city hotel our 7 year old loved it, and it was great to be able to unwind after a busy day. 5 minute walk to the beach,Rambla del Poblenou is 10 minute walk away and full of bars shops and restaurants, much cheaper the the regular places that tourists go. I would avoid the Olympic Port overpriced poor food, and seems to have been taken over by middle eastern bars with shisha bubble pipes !!
In Rambla del Poblenou we can recommend El 58 & Can Recasens suggest you book the latter as the is a queue outside when it opens at 9PM !
If you turn right outside the hotel and head towards central Barcelona there is a fab place for breakfast called Elias Forner very friendly and ace food, went there every morning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank busterbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramon A, Director General at Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear busterbates,
I'm really happy to know you enjoyed your stay among us.
Sincerely yours,
Ramon A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Attica 21 Barcelona Mar
#224 of 512 in Barcelona
589 reviews
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Hotel Arts Barcelona
Hotel Arts Barcelona
#56 of 512 in Barcelona
4,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel
#158 of 512 in Barcelona
2,418 reviews
Hotel Front Maritim
#305 of 512 in Barcelona
951 reviews
Poblenou
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
NH Hesperia Barcelona del Mar
#242 of 512 in Barcelona
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona

Property: Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona
Address: Avenida Icaria 195, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Ciutadella / Vila Olimpica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#147 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#159 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel between the historic and the contemporary Barcelona, between the beaches and the monuments, everything is close to Hotel Icaria, for fun or for business. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Icaria Hotel
Hotel Icaria Barcelona
Icaria Barcelona
Hotel SB Icaria Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing