We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basque in Catalonia”
Review of Orio Born

Orio Born
Reserve with
Orio Born is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,206 of 9,507 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: US$22 - US$45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Facing the Santa Caterina Market, privileged location that places it in the core of the early history of Barcelona, just a few steps from the Cathedral, el Palau de la Música Catalana and el Museu Picasso, Orio's cuisine is characterized by its "pintxos" bar and a varied menu inspired by the fishing villages of the Basque Country.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Basque in Catalonia”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Good food, opposite the Santa Maria food market, specialise in grilled fish and meat. Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Farleyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    93
    17
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield , United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smart cafe bar with good Tapas”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

All the Tapas is on display so its easy to choose, which is great if you're travelling with children particularly if they are fussy eaters.
Each item of tapas is identically priced very reasonably at 1.95 Euro and they work on an honour system. Pick what you want and save the cocktail sticks which they count up at the end. Great!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DaveBoothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great find”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Yesterday on our first day in barna and looking for a late open place to eat we found Orio. it was love at firstsight. delicous food. Lovelly staff¡ we are staying 5 days in the city we will be back for sure :)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John76_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fussa, Japan
Level Contributor
253 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Urbane Tapas with a "fast-food" take”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Orio has two locations in Barcelona and we ate at the one near the Picasso Museum which is the newer one. Black and yellow signs beckon and similarly clad wait-staff welcomes you at the door. The interior is a pared down, urbane setting with lots of light woods,black and weathered steel and a huge central bar. Seating is communal at very long tables with lots of room for singles,couples or groups or families of 8 to 10.
Walk up to the bar and you will be handed a plate; the best experience here is self-service as far as the food goes, plate in hand you can now cruise the length of the bar laden with two tiers of fresh,delicious tapas. Everything is skewered with a toothpick,it helps to keep some of the food together but also serves as means for staff to total your bill. Each portion is the same price and
once you have filled your plate with as little or as much as you want you can pick a place to enjoy it.
Once settled at a table a waitress came to ask if we wanted to order drinks; the staff will bring both drinks and food as there is a menu to order from as well. Ordering from the menu
does not afford you the visual of walking the bar and selecting it yourself but the service is available. We opted for the fish or egg or cheese based items all of which were great but there were many beef and pork items as well. I tried the dessert tapas which were actually very small fruit tarts. While they looked very good and the pastry shells were crisp and firm not soggy or crumbly the filling left a lot to be desired with no distinct fruit flavor.
Spend as much or as little time as you wish; linger over several plates and watch the crowd outside flow by on the sidewalk or run in for a quick bite and go. Any way you like it you are sure to get what you want and this is the kind of place that truly caters to all budgets.
The only improvement might come as far as desserts and vegetarian choices which could be broadened but all in all a great value and quality food experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Prepcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over-priced mediocre food”
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

I was pleased to see this new venue open in my neighborhood and decided to take my parents their for a meal. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the decor and design was very impressive. However I'm sorry to report that the food was very mediocre and one of the desserts (the apple pie) was hopeless. I don't object to paying over 100€ for three people is the food is tasty and original but the food here was truly disappointing. I won't be back - a real pity.

Helpful?
3 Thank AlistairJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orio Born also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Orio Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing