We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Ranked #74 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convenient Location, Good Value”
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Hotel Constanza is 5-minute walk from Urquinaona Metro Station (exit Bruc). The street is lined with fashion boutiques, so the neighborhood becomes rather quiet at night because everything is closed. Our room was clean, modern, but small. In fact, we were given the smallest double room according to the hotel floor plan which was posted by the elevator. Since our window faced the side of another building, our room was on the dark side. Having said that, the convenient location and cleanliness of the hotel makes our stay a good value.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room was small and dark
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelgal76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,059
    818
    118
    21
    17
See reviews for
383
1,023
151
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2008

This hotel is amazingly good value, modern and really close to most of the main sights of Barcelona. Whilst our room was not huge it was very stylish - with a great bathroom! The room would not have been out of place in a 4 star hotel - much nicer than you would expect given the reasonable price tag. The reception staff were very helpful and gave us restaurant suggestions for the evenings. Ther only slight criticism of this hotel was the noise between rooms: you could hear other people's conversations at times. However, this was by no means a big problem.

Overall a great small hotel, in a brilliant location. Would definitely recommend it if you''re planning a short break to Barcelona.

  • Liked — The location and the modern feel
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarah61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2008

Stayed here in March 08 for a surprise long weekend. Hotel is undergoing refurbishment so there is some building noise, but the deal we got reflected that (so I'm told). The reception area is very chic, a real boutique hotel, as are the bedrooms, bathrooms etc. Beware of the glass door into reception! My OH walked straight into it about 10 minutes after we arrived and nearly brained himself. Sounds funny? it wasn't. Lots of blood, thankfully not on their white suede sofas, but put a bit of a damper on the weekend to be honest. (Hotel staff were not particularly helpful, said there was a pharmacy nearby but didn't offer to help and I had to deal with man covered in blood, about to faint by myself) Check if breakfast is included in the price. It wasn't when we were there but this might have been because the restaurant was being refurbished. Noise between rooms is still an issue. Overall though it was a nice place to stay and very convenient for the city. Above all, no late night drunken street noise. Great city for a long weekend, loads to do and see.

  • Liked — Very stylish
  • Disliked — dangerous glass door with no markings on it
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Riever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANA R, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Constanza Barcelona, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Riever,

We appreciate that you took the time to give us your feedback on Tripadvisor as your comments are very valuable to us in order to continuously improve our service and standards.

First off all we would like to apologize again for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay. Please be sure, that this does not belong to our standard and we already instructed our staff in order to arrange alternatives for the future.

We hope that despite the difficulties experienced during your stay, we can still look forward to your loyalty and that you allow us to redeem ourselves during a next visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2008

Pleasantly surprised by room size,not huge but adequate.Comfy
beds and clean bathroom.What annoyed us was the noise levels from either side until the early hours,almost like they were in the room with you!! In a good location for seeing the sights.The hotel staff could do with brushing up on the surrounding area,as i asked directions to a well known restaraunt, and believe it or not the main bus station, and they could'nt tell me where either were.

  • Liked — Rooms were very clean
  • Disliked — Noise from adjacent rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank venicevic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2008

Fantastic hotel just north of the Gothic district of Barcelona. I can really recommend this hotel as a great base to explore Barcelona. Overall the staff are friendly and very helpful and the rooms lovely.

Note: When we stayed they were re-developing most of the hotel which meant there was no restaurant/bar or breakfast offered, but the hotel offered an excellant rate to compensate for this. We were advised that we would not experience any noise and as we stayed over a weekend we did not expect any, however around 10am on Saturday morning some building work could be heard, however Sunday was very peaceful.

LOOK & FEEL

The hotel is set in a building that was built in the late 1800's, and has a very modern and stylish interior. This can come across as cold if your taste's are not for the very modern!.

ENTRANCE & RECEPTION

The entrance is of a quite street in the Eixample district, with large windows to the front and a large lobby area heading to the back of the building.

As mentioned above the hotel has a very modern interior but is very stylish, and we were greeted by friendly and efficient staff on the front desk before being shown to our room.

BAR & RESTAURANT

As mentioned before, the bar and restuarant were shut for re-development during our stay, so I can not comment on the facilities.

For breakfast you can use the local cafe's or the local supermarket near-by (turn right out of the hotel and go down one block before turning left)

BEDROOM

The bedroom was modern, clean and quite spacious. The hotel offers a variety of bedrooms, ours was the front with a small balcony (not big enough to sit on though). At the back I think there are bedrooms with a terrace.

The bedroom had a double bed made of two single's (which is the norm for this hotel, ask for a double and they will make the two singles into a double for you). The bed was large and comfortable.

The room had Air-Con (although the minimum temperature was 17c), a TV with all the usual spanish and a couple of english speaking channels (BBC World etc..), a minibar, desk and chair.

Minibar prices were quite average for this class of hotel.

Internet access was available, but I did not use this, instead as I needed to book some tickets, reception allowed me to use there computer and printer free of charge.

BATHROOM

The bathroom contained a bath and shower in one, although the bath was rather small, the shower was good with excellant pressure and plenty of hot water.

Usual supplies of a combined shampoo and shower gel were provided and were of a good quality.

The hairdryer was in the bathroom and actually worked (my wife's normal complaint! considering she has long hair)

Towels were ok (my usual complaint) if a bit on the small side again!

LOCATION

Ideal for visiting the Gaudi designed buildings of Casa Batllo and the Sagrada Familia. The hotel is located in the Eixample district near a whole street of Tapa's bar's.

Also you can walk from here to the Old town and Las Ramblas

PARKING

Not used so not sure if the hotel offers parking.

OVERALL

Friendly and helpful staff in a lovely building, with excellant access to all the site of Barcelona. If I am visiting again I would stay again.

  • Liked — Staff, Location & Overall Hotel Style
  • Disliked — Not much!!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank uk_foodie_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2007

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights for our honeymoon. We were quite surprised that the hotel was very accurate to its website! Everything about the hotel was perfect. The room was clean, the location was good...very quiet but still in walking distance from La Ramblas. The staff was very helpful and friendly. There was also a great restaurant next door called Timbaler...they make the best cafe con leche! Overall, i recommend this place to anyone taking a trip to Barcelona... you will not regret it!

Stayed August 2005
Helpful?
1 Thank pix1506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2007

A simple and stylish place. I've read some of the negative reviews and must stay I can't agree. My wife and I spent five nice days in the city just before the holidays. We walked absolutely everywhere, and it was always nice to come back to our clean and tasteful room. Yes it's not an extra-large space, but it's hardly the tiny one some describe. I admit, I never ate the breakfast there, instead we went to one of the many neighborhood cafes within a few blocks. And it was convenient to a lot of attractions.

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank MrKoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#53 of 513 in Barcelona
3,049 reviews
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#90 of 513 in Barcelona
1,205 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#98 of 513 in Barcelona
3,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#31 of 513 in Barcelona
3,841 reviews
Eixample
Villa Emilia
Villa Emilia
#42 of 513 in Barcelona
2,229 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 513 in Barcelona
2,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Constanza Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constanza Barcelona

Property: Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Address: Calle Bruc 33, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Constanza Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PERFECT LOCATION IN THE HEART OF BARCELONAThe hotel Constanza is located in the Eixample district in the centre of Barcelona. It offers modern, contemporary decor and has its own restaurant, "Bruc 33 Tapas".The Bruc 33 Tapas restaurant next to the hotel offers excellent quality, including a range of creative "Tapas". A varied breakfast buffet offers the possibility of special menus for groups; private rooms can also be hired for parties and events.Our friendly staff are always available in the bright, spacious reception area to help you organize excursions and reservations and make your stay as pleasant as possible.Welcome to our designer lounge...the deep leather and velvet sofas, generously proportioned spaces and subtle lighting provide an intimate atmosphere where you can really relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Constanza Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constanza Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing