We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Ranked #74 of 519 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Stayed here for our honeymoon last week. Booked through their own website and got breakfast inc for same price. Was only twin available but put request for double and they made sure that was catered for (twins zipped together but it was fine) Walls are a bit thin but nothing to worry about. Breakfast cold buffet but fequently topped up, usual meats cheese, cereals cakes etc good to fill up before trek out. 5 mins walk from Las Ramblas (£5.50 pint £7 outside go drinking off the main street !) Sights of Barcelona fantastic great place to honeymoon and great base to stay

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,385 - 1,391 of 2,165 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2009

Stayed here with my husband for a long weekend. Hotel is very modern and clean. We booked an appartment with balcony. The room was beautifully furnished with a small kichen area. The kitchen area is not well appointed enough to be able to cook anything but enough for a cuppa and a sandwich. Not that you would want to cook anyway. Balcony didnt really have a view other than the street below. However, if you were there in summer it would be lovely to sit out and read a book. Hotel was spotlessly clean and staff were very helpful. Didn't have breakfast in the hotel, went to the cafe across the road. The location is fantastic. In a quiet street but only five mins walk to the place de catalyna and las Ramblas. For the amount we paid I was very pleased with this hotel and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottishannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2009

We stayed in a suite here. Boutique hotel with modern , clean, angular lines. Lots of dark wood & stone panels. Huge bedroom, plus seating & dressing area and fabulous shower room. Only 3 blocks from Placa Catalunya so 10 minutes walking will get you to there and the top of La Rambla, yet on a fairly quiet street. The reception staff were very helpful and responded instantly and expertly to requests for fixes (room safe would not open) or information (the best metro line to take etc).

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Probman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Just back from a business trip to Barcelona where I stayed in this hotel. Fantastic location and modern finish. Breakfast is good - great fresh pineapple, pastries, cakes etc. I was in a single room which is a little small but does the job if you're not planning to stay in it much bar sleep.
I would recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeylyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2009

Nice hotel, spacious room, good location. We stayed here over New year and really liked the location. Close to La Rambla and easily accessible by train and bus...this is a neat hotel at a reasonable price. The staff was friendly and helpful too!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robinofnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2009

I booked the Hotel Constanza based solely on the reviews on this website. We're a young couple in our twenties and value for money is everything to us! After doing extensive research it seemed that this hotel was our best option for around €100 a night. Infact, several hotels charging much more than this had a lot worse reviews - Hotel Constanza was something like 22nd out of 500+ hotels in Barcelona when I checked this site - and very reasonably priced.
I used the hotel's online booking system - we planned 5 nights in Barcelona over the New Year so I expected some increase in the normal price. I was pleasantly suprised - each night was €100 for a double suite, and it went up to €130 for NYE and NYD - very reasonable in my opinion.
Our room was a lovely double suite, done up in minimalistic colours and furniture. The beds were comfy and clean, we had a balcony looking to the back of the hotel, and a spotless bathroom. I can't really think of anything to fault the hotel room-wise. One small niggle for me personally was that the room was quite dark, they had spotlights in the ceiling which made it very romantic, but quite dark when you need to do your hair/make up! (Probably just a girly gripe!)
Breakfast was served til 10.30am on normal days, and at the lovely time of midday on 1st Jan, which would have been great, except we didn'[t get up til 4pm. Anyway, on the days we did have breakfast, it was fine; toast, cereals, croissants, ham, cheese, pastries etc. Everything you need to fill you up before a day's siteseeing.
The staff were friendly and polite, although we didn't really have much to do with them during our stay.
The hotel is about a 10min walk from Plaza De Catalunya (where all the main tourist buses leave from), 15mins walk from Las Ramblas, and maybe 30mins to the beach. We love walking so basically walked everywhere we could, this hotel was perfectly situated for us.
All in all a very pleasant stay there, very glad I chose it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beckiboo1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2008

This hotel doesn't come up high on any travel guide's list (tripadvisor included) so I don't recall exactly how I stumbled across it, but once I did, I'm I researched it heavily as the price (90 euros a night with breakfast included) seemed to good to be true for a hotel near the desirable Eixample area of Barcelona.

I contacted the property directly in the summer (via email in Spanish) and they told me that the low rate was due to renovations of the hotel - renovations that would be done in September. My stay was for November so no concern there. The hotel is well-located. Just a few blocks from the Passeig de Gracia and Plaza Catalunya. It's not a block or two away, but rather 4 or five city blocks so if being a stone's throw away (walking-distance-wise) from the center of action is important to you then this might not be the place for you. The hotel met all expectations. The rooms were super modern and minimalist - in a sense almost too minimalist as there wasn't even an alarm clock in the room. For the base price of 90 euros (base price for a standard double), I had a large terrace with chairs and a table overlooking the back of the hotel. The back does not face a street rather other people's/other buildings "backyards".

Breakfast ticked all the boxes and was in a sleek, if not small room adjacent to their cafe - the latter which is accessible to the public. (They have a clever sliding door which separates the cafe from the breakfast room for hotel guests.) I imagine that later in the day the divider retracts in to the wall and the entire space is usable for the cafe open to the public.

My only quip was that upon returning to the room for a bit after the midafternoon meal, the door was propped open. While I use the in-room safe for valuables such as passports and extra cash, I nonetheless typically put out the "Do Not Disturb" sign as I prefer the cleaning people not to enter the room as (1) I typically don't make much mess and (2) for security reasons. However, the cleaning people not only disregarded the "do not disturb" sign, but while they were cleaning they apparently used the deadbolt to leave the door propped open and then neglected to come by when they finished to close it. It was a bit unsettling to return to the room to find the door propped open. Luckily nothing was stolen, but I did go down to the front desk to comment to the staff (in Spanish). Seems the cleaning people were in the process of finishing for the day so the desk manager went with me to talk to them before they left. They admitted they went in despite the "do not disturb sign" being on the door as well as leaving the door open. The cleaning staff apologized as well as the desk staff. They hotel didn't do anything above and beyond that, but frankly I was just grateful that all was well, so no harm no foul. Luckily I returned during the day around when the lapse happened as who knows what could have been taken from the room had it been left open like that for hours? That could have been another story entirely.

Due to the security lapse, I cannot give the hotel a glowing review, but all-in-all it was a very pleasant stay and you can't beat the price-quality ratio in what is THE neighborhood to stay in in Barcelona. I don't know if it will stay 90 euros for much longer, but I would even pay a bit more to stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kala327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#34 of 519 in Barcelona
4,198 reviews
El Raval
Andante
Andante
#96 of 519 in Barcelona
1,772 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#69 of 519 in Barcelona
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#102 of 519 in Barcelona
3,921 reviews
Eixample
Hotel Granvia
Hotel Granvia
#65 of 519 in Barcelona
1,231 reviews
Poblenou
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
#98 of 519 in Barcelona
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Constanza Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constanza Barcelona

Address: Calle Bruc 33, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £56 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Constanza Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PERFECT LOCATION IN THE HEART OF BARCELONAThe hotel Constanza is located in the Eixample district in the centre of Barcelona. It offers modern, contemporary decor and has its own restaurant, "Bruc 33 Tapas".The Bruc 33 Tapas restaurant next to the hotel offers excellent quality, including a range of creative "Tapas". A varied breakfast buffet offers the possibility of special menus for groups; private rooms can also be hired for parties and events.Our friendly staff are always available in the bright, spacious reception area to help you organize excursions and reservations and make your stay as pleasant as possible.Welcome to our designer lounge...the deep leather and velvet sofas, generously proportioned spaces and subtle lighting provide an intimate atmosphere where you can really relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Constanza Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constanza Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing