We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Constanza”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Ranked #73 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved the Constanza”
Reviewed 26 June 2007

I spent 4 days in Barcelona staying at the Constanza Hotel, and it was a lovely experience. Since I was by myself, I stayed in a single room which suited me excellent. The room is very nicely furnished, in a very modern way which made it very pleasant to stay in. It is in the back of the hotel, which made it very quiet. The bed is super comfortable and after wearing myself out walking all day it was a pleasure to come back to. The bathroom is beautiful and the people at the desk were extraordinary - I would like to praise both Albert who had the patience to sort out train schedules for me and Giselle whose warmth and welcoming smile made my stay at the hotel feel real good. And the hotel is just about 5 minutes from Place de Catalunya, but on a very quiet street in a safe neighborhood. I would definitely recommend Constanza to anybody going to Barcelona.

Debby
Jerusalem
Israel

  • Liked — The lovely room and the proximite to center of city still being in quiet residential surroundings
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Debby_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,046
    808
    117
    21
    16
See reviews for
376
1,010
148
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

Stayed here for a long weekend with my partner. Was intending to do a little sightseeing, catch up with friends who live in Barcelona and do a little travelling.

This was my 5th trip to barcelona and wanted something central but quiet. Previously had stayed at hotels off ramblas, but found them to be noisy although well placed. Had also stayed near segrada familia (a bit less central) and west of the port (quite a walk back to bars/shops).

Hotel constanza is about 3 roads north of placa de catalunya. So a bit quieter than staying right on the rambles but still very central.

We had an apartment room as all the normal rooms were booked. Paid 150 Euros plus 7% tax. Booked directly with the hotel by emailing them, they have a home page.

Room was very large, sub divided into a lounge bit and bedroom with a sliding door. A large terrace (nice but not with a good view) and large bathroom which had a big shower. The bed was massive. Another sliding door separated the kitchen facilites, with microwave, sink, hob, but there were so many cheapish bars/restaurants nearby we ended up eating out.

I recommend the hotel, its a good base, and the staff are wonderful. The room is all that you need it to be, and most importantly you can sleep without being disturbed by poor noise insulation.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank anjemouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2007

I did a lot of research before booking a hotel in Barcelona. I read so many great reviews about Hotel Constanza and its location, that I booked it right away. Honestly, I don't see what everyone was talking about. It's a small, modern boutique hotel with not the most convenient location. The rooms are VERY small, the sink in our room was SO incredibly small and impractical that we ended up washing out hands in the bidet!!! Be careful if you get an extra bed in the room. I'm only 5'4 and my feet were hanging off the bed!! <The location is very residential, no real restaurants or cool places nearby. For excellent location and good accomodations, try Hotel Gaudi. For a REALLY nice, modern hotel try Hotel Condado.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pontia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2007

Very friendly, extremely accommodating hotel that is centrally located in the Eixample. The room was small but modern and very clean. Everything worked! The staff worked extra hard to provide us a dairy free breakfast. They helped us with a minor medical problem as well. The rate was extremely reasonable in this very popular city. I wish they had special arrangements for parking as the covered parking garage nearly was quite expensive.

  • Liked — Front desk staff
  • Disliked — expensive parking and small room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank fotodok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2007

I stayed here on my first trip to Barcelona and think it is excellent for a first time traveler to Barcelona without much of an idea where to stay. It is walking distance to basically anywhere you want to go. The people who run the hotel could not have been nicer. It isn't luxury, but it is extremely clean, the fixtures are new, and it was very comfortable. We opted to spend a little more for the larger room and it was definitely worth the few extra euros.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank SarLR1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2007

We booked our stay directly with the hotel for 3 nights. We had a suite and could not be happier. The rooms in Europe are very small so the suite was worth the extra space, especially if you have large luggage. Included was a desk and mirror which doubled as a vanity table. We followed other TA advice and ate elsewhere for breakfast.

Some had complained of noises in reviews but we must have been lucky, we never had any noise problems, except for water running.


Plus: Staff extremely friendly, very helpful. We wanted to go see the Monsterrat w/o paying the tour fees and giving up our whole day, the staff went out of their way to help us they found out we could take train + railway there directly and for so much cheaper ( 12.60 Euros pp RT) ride took 1 hour one way.

Safe area, close by to everything but far from noise. Room was very clean.

Cons: No internet unless you have laptop, but internet around the corner at a copy center ( 24 hours during weekdays) its $1 EURO for each half hour and 0.50 for the card. So 2.50 Eu for 1hour.
Bed was comfortable, we had a queen but it really was 2 twins put together so you could feel the divider a little bit. Shower had half door which is normal over there.

No english channel on TV, CNN international was not working. Spanish music channel was not working either, no clock or radio inside room.


Hints: Bring your own converter + transformer hotel had converter but staff didn't know which one to use.

Bring hotel address with you to give to taxi, we had no issues but was told by frontdesk there is another Hotel Constanza in Barcelona not related to this one so taxi have been getting guests to the wrong hotel.

Grocery store nearby if its closed there's a large one on Las Ramblas (Carrefour) Buy your water and candy as gifts here.

Tiny minibar ,we had large water and rearrranged the fridge to fit it in and no one gave us problems.

We recommend the Tourist bus where you can get on and off, its 23 Eu pp for 2 days we thought it was well worth it. Just keep track of the last bus. It was still light out at 8pm so its easy to lose track of time. It includes a coupon book which helps.

Must do: Ride the funicular de Montjuic amazing view of city/coastline use coupon in booklet. Well worth every penny. Funicular to the port from Columbus not worth it.

Don't eat at El Glop down Casp st. unless nothing else is opened. It was ok but there's much better.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank mtn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAHWAH NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2007

The hotel is very modern and we had a great updated room. We paid about 140 euros, but in comparison to other hotels this was a very good price. The breakfast was okay, nothing great. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

The location is very good, out of the noise, but only a 10 minute walk to Las Ramblas.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniKevMig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
Wilson Boutique Hotel
#91 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Eixample
U232 Hotel
U232 Hotel
#52 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,005 reviews
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya
#95 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
EuroPark Hotel
EuroPark Hotel
#33 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,789 reviews
Eixample
Soho Hotel
Soho Hotel
#84 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
El Raval
Barcelona Universal Hotel
Barcelona Universal Hotel
#75 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Constanza Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Constanza Barcelona

Property: Hotel Constanza Barcelona
Address: Calle Bruc 33, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#47 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Constanza Barcelona 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PERFECT LOCATION IN THE HEART OF BARCELONAThe hotel Constanza is located in the Eixample district in the centre of Barcelona. It offers modern, contemporary decor and has its own restaurant, "Bruc 33 Tapas".The Bruc 33 Tapas restaurant next to the hotel offers excellent quality, including a range of creative "Tapas". A varied breakfast buffet offers the possibility of special menus for groups; private rooms can also be hired for parties and events.Our friendly staff are always available in the bright, spacious reception area to help you organize excursions and reservations and make your stay as pleasant as possible.Welcome to our designer lounge...the deep leather and velvet sofas, generously proportioned spaces and subtle lighting provide an intimate atmosphere where you can really relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Constanza Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Constanza Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Constanza Barcelona Catalonia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing