We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Great location, staff and rooms. The rooftop terrace is beautiful with amazing views of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hockeybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,544)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 1898
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,484 - 2,490 of 4,544 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were greeted as soon as we step foot out of the taxi, and from that point on the service was great. Everyone made us feel welcomed and cared for. The public areas were well maintained and the room was in perfect condition. Being right on La Rambla made getting around a breeze. My only complaints would be a strange popping sound around the window/ceiling at night that woke my wife a few times, and the lack of a few more English TV channels if I were there for more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umtigerfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for three nights at the end of September/into October. I will start right off by saying I was a little disappointed with the reception we got when we checked in. The staff was nice enough, but they messed up our room reservation and didn't really handle it the right way in order to rectify the situation. Basically, we reserved a Superior Room, but they had us down for a Classic Room. They forced me to go to the business center and print out my confirmation to prove to them that we had, in fact, reserved a Superior Room. We were in our Classic Room at this point, and once I proved it to them, they then conceded that they had made a mistake and it took about an hour for them to move us to the correct room. An honest mistake, but could have been handled better - especially at $430/night!!

That was the only negative experience of our hotel stay - the rest of the stay was amazing. The location does not get any better than this. Right off of Las Ramblas, which is the heart and soul of Barcelona, with the benefit of being on a quieter side-street, so you don't get any of the noise. The hotel, itself, was very cool. Nice lobby and bar/lounge area, cool spa/fitness center setup in the lower level, and the roofdeck lounge/pool was fantastic.

The room was small, as most big-city hotel rooms are, but was extremely clean, and handsomely appointed. The lighting and music (yes, music was piped in to the room and bathroom) could be controlled by easy switches right next to the headboard - we loved this and was a nice touch. Bathroom was clean and fine - only one sink.

Great experience and would definitely return to this hotel - if you're ok with paying these prices, I fully recommend it. I also recommend upgrading to the Superior room (or Deluxe room) because it provides an external view of the street/plaza and a small balcony (the Classic rooms face inwards towards the courtyard, I believe - and no balcony).

Room Tip: I recommend splurging on the Superior Room - it's worth it to have a view of the bustling street...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The 1898 is a great hotel with tasteful decor in a wonderful location right on La Rambla within easy walk of the old town, Born, the port etc but while you are there you won't know as the hotel is well soundproofed from the outside world and even the idyllic rooftop bar is very quiet with lovely views over the city. If you want to find a nice easy place to eat and drink, Bar Lobo next door (turn left down Carrer d'en Xucia) sits in a nice square and is cheap but with a good vibe.

I would make a couple of mildly negative comments, the hotel is very dark especially if you are in a room overlooking the atrium in the middle. You move from bedroom to breakfast (massive selection, generally good quality) without seeing any daylight and I found that I struggled to wake up until I had been outside for a while. Secondly, there is a lot of internal noise from pipes and people in the corridors and as we are light sleepers, we needed to put in my trusty earplugs to sleep. All that said we would definitely come back again and would be more than happy to spend several days in the hotel due to the wide range of facilities available. Feel free to message me if you would like any other tips or information.

By the way the city tour bus is as boring as hell and tends to take you to stops which are 10 to 20 minutes walk from the attraction itself. We also got stuck in the riots over the weekend and were dumped 30 minutes walk from the stop in Plaza de Catalunya even though the side roads looked pretty clear. I would personally use taxis which are cheap and plentiful.

Oh and they don't do irons in the hotel which is a strangely Spanish thing!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petet45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

I chose this hotel for a 4-day stay in Barcelona because it advertised to have two heated swimming pools - one in the spa and one on the roof terrace. On arrival, they were indeed there, but the water was freezing cold in both swimming pools! It was so cold in the spa that those nice jacuzzi chairs they've got, were simply uncomfortable! Worst of all, when we complained, the staff said they knew about it, but there was nothing they could do, because the administration of the hotel doesn't want to act unless anough clients complain directly to them!!

The room was nice, but if you're staying in the left part of the hotel, it's directly above the tube line, so you will hear quite loud vibration from it every 5 mins or so, which is annoying, especially late at night or early in the morning. We then moved to the other part of the hotel where there was no noise from the tube, but the noise from the street was quite loud even with the windows closed.

The staff was not proactive at all, we had to repeat every signly request at least 2-3 times before they got it.
Also, they don't provide irons, even the mini ones, so be prepared to pay 8 euros to get a shirt ironed for that nice dinner you booked in the city.

I don't understand all the good reviews - we weren't able to use any of the swimming pools even though the weather was amazing, couldnt really enjoy the spa and the level of service is just not good enough. Other people seem to be raving about how their room got cleaned daily - I expect that as a minimum requirement in a hotel! If you're looking for something nice and special and for the price you pay, don't go to 1898!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmayaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for ssharing your opinion with us on TA! We work hard to improve daily our services to our guests.

We confirm that we do have two swimmingpool heated on the Hotel, one outdoor on the terrace and another indoor inside the Spa Area. However, sometimes we have to do maintenance on them and guests in house can be affected. We apologize for the procedure mention, it is not our policy nor normal way to procedure.

Also, we confirm that we are located on a very central position and this has a lot of advantages, as being 5 minutes walking distance from everything but also this expose us to some factors that unfortunately we cannot control.

We take note of your comments of the staff ans will do our best to improve our service.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

I had the oportunity to stay in this hotel for few days. Our family took a cruise to the mediterranean leaving from Barcelona.
We stayed ( my wife and I ) for a few days.
When we arrived the front desk were extremely helpful and nice to acomodate our needs.
They even call to confirm our transport to the port and airport the day before.
The rooms that we stay were clean and nice,modern and great free wi-fi.
We had brreakfast and the food was great.
Also dealing with our luggage was done by the young guys at the front dest, they were responsible and took good care of our luggage.
Location: this hotel is located in front of las Ramblas, it was really convenient for us.
We had a great time in Barcelona, we will be back and stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: we stayed the first day in the 3rd floor ( 305) it was a great room. The second day 4th floor. I l...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zapoyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Hotel 1898 is a beautifully renovated hotel on the vibrant La Rambla. Our room had lovely timber floors and funky black and white striped furnishings, with black granite in the bathroom. A sliding door opened onto an enormous private, terracotta tiled terrace with sun lounges, a table and chairs and pots of topiaried buxus - a perfect place for siesta.

Our room was on one of the higher floors, facing the side street and was extremely quiet. The bathroom was large and spotlessly clean, with a great shower (for those unsure how to operate it, the instructions are on the vanity) and plenty of fluffy towels.

Breakfast on the rooftop terrace was absolutely wonderful and worth every cent. Beautiful food and breathtaking views offered a great start to the day. The pool was a great place to cool off on a hot afternoon, with chaise lounges and chairs under shady umbrellas.

The location was perfect - on La Rambla, with its stalls of flowers, birds and small animals, and walking distance to the Marina, Bari Gotic, Boqueria Market, Palau de Musica, the Monderniste buildings amd Plaza de Catalunya.

We would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher floors on the side street are quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annejs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#20 of 513 in Barcelona
881 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
1,112 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
2,064 reviews
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#25 of 513 in Barcelona
731 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#24 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £157 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing