We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Beautiful Experience"”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #30 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This fabulous hotel is in the middle of everything you want to experience in Barcelona!!! The underground spa takes you from a most facinating and fast paced city (we were there during the Merce' Festival) to a place of relaxation and pampering that can't be beat. And yes, the Rooftop terrace is the best way to end an evening in Barcelona.........the view, the ambience, all amazing!!! The rooms are well-equipped, and the only negative is that you yourself must have a good map and not rely on staff to give you good advice about where to eat and how to get there. Would definitely return to this Hotel again!!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the square behind the hotel, and it was sunny and charming!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebud10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,564 - 2,570 of 4,657 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

Beautiful to look at, great location, fantastic rooftop terrace but they fail epically on service and the little things that matter. Breakfast in the room was horrendous, toast that could have been more toasted by my hairdryer. No refill on the free tea coffee in room, in fact no tea bags ever, just coffee, one little tiny uht pot of milk each day which is not enough for one cup let alone two. No iron and a refusal to borrow one. Tea and coffee served on the roof top terrace with breakfast if you pay over the odds for it but once this is over, they refuse to make any tea or coffee, they also refused to allow me a coffee from the downstairs bar and bring it up. Being a non drinker generally, I could not enjoy being there at night without resorting to a cold drink. Some of the rooms are tiny with horrible views, some are nicer. Exceptionally comfy beds though. To summarise, excellent location but way over priced, (10euro for a juice) - even if money was no issue I'd still expect service to be of a much higher standard. Mixed review as the hotel was nice but for the price, I'd have expected more.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoneymoonHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. Beautiful and even though on a busy road, surprisingly quiet. The rooms aren't very large but tastefully decorated, in an old-fashioned kind of way.

Tips:
- Try the pool and spa.
- Try the chinese restaurant just round the corner. It is excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalepooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Loved my stay at this hotel. Staff very helpful - especially Monika. Rooms not large but extremely comfortable and quiet. Location fantastic - La Rambla on your doorstep but the hotel itself an oasis of calm. Rooftop terrace wonderful at any time - lunchtime tapas, afternoon beer, late night cocktails. Swimming pool at spa small but also lovely. What's not to love about this hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Great location, staff and rooms. The rooftop terrace is beautiful with amazing views of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hockeybill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We were greeted as soon as we step foot out of the taxi, and from that point on the service was great. Everyone made us feel welcomed and cared for. The public areas were well maintained and the room was in perfect condition. Being right on La Rambla made getting around a breeze. My only complaints would be a strange popping sound around the window/ceiling at night that woke my wife a few times, and the lack of a few more English TV channels if I were there for more than a couple of days.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umtigerfan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for three nights at the end of September/into October. I will start right off by saying I was a little disappointed with the reception we got when we checked in. The staff was nice enough, but they messed up our room reservation and didn't really handle it the right way in order to rectify the situation. Basically, we reserved a Superior Room, but they had us down for a Classic Room. They forced me to go to the business center and print out my confirmation to prove to them that we had, in fact, reserved a Superior Room. We were in our Classic Room at this point, and once I proved it to them, they then conceded that they had made a mistake and it took about an hour for them to move us to the correct room. An honest mistake, but could have been handled better - especially at $430/night!!

That was the only negative experience of our hotel stay - the rest of the stay was amazing. The location does not get any better than this. Right off of Las Ramblas, which is the heart and soul of Barcelona, with the benefit of being on a quieter side-street, so you don't get any of the noise. The hotel, itself, was very cool. Nice lobby and bar/lounge area, cool spa/fitness center setup in the lower level, and the roofdeck lounge/pool was fantastic.

The room was small, as most big-city hotel rooms are, but was extremely clean, and handsomely appointed. The lighting and music (yes, music was piped in to the room and bathroom) could be controlled by easy switches right next to the headboard - we loved this and was a nice touch. Bathroom was clean and fine - only one sink.

Great experience and would definitely return to this hotel - if you're ok with paying these prices, I fully recommend it. I also recommend upgrading to the Superior room (or Deluxe room) because it provides an external view of the street/plaza and a small balcony (the Classic rooms face inwards towards the courtyard, I believe - and no balcony).

Room Tip: I recommend splurging on the Superior Room - it's worth it to have a view of the bustling street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigel_1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 516 in Barcelona
2,176 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#18 of 516 in Barcelona
2,348 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 516 in Barcelona
957 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 516 in Barcelona
906 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £110 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing