We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful rooms and a great location”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #28 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The location can't be beat, on La Ramblas and next door to Starbucks! Actually, the huge market is also about a block away, and the Gothic quarter is an easy stroll, too.

The rooms, while on the small side, are beautiful and unbelievably quiet. The bathroom is gorgeous and quite large for a European hotel. The beds are incredibly comfortable. The staff was friendly, but we didn't really need much except for dinner reservations one night. (They came through for us, at an excellent restaurant we have also reviewed on T/A.)

One thing--PLEASE be careful in the lovely bathrooms! I took a slip in the bathtub and have some major elbow bruises. Ouch!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeachtreeMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,518 - 2,524 of 4,598 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2011

Perfect!!!!Just returned from a 5 night stay in Barcelona at this hotel. It was wonderful!!! Everything from the staff to the location was perfect. We stayed in one of the rooms that has a private outdoor area with a table and loungers. We did not find the noise to be a problem like other reviewers reported. Great places to eat and drink very close by, so we walked everywhere. The rooftop pool was a great way to end the day.
We will never stay anywhere else in Barcelona!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebibo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Hotel 1898 is a very nice hotel and a good value overall. Located in "La Ramblas" the hotel is in a great location to see the sites. About a 10-15 minute walk to the port and a 5 minute walk to Gothic town it is ideally situated. The metro is also 1 minute away. The hotel rooms are nice. They are not huge but typical for Europe. Beds are very comfortable (pillows are great) and the rooms are very clean. The housekeeping service is also very good. We stayed with our two teenage children in October , 2011 for 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would avoid the breakfast at the hotel as it is very expensive and there are way better values and food elsewhere. Overall, a very nice hotel I would stay at again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

This fabulous hotel is in the middle of everything you want to experience in Barcelona!!! The underground spa takes you from a most facinating and fast paced city (we were there during the Merce' Festival) to a place of relaxation and pampering that can't be beat. And yes, the Rooftop terrace is the best way to end an evening in Barcelona.........the view, the ambience, all amazing!!! The rooms are well-equipped, and the only negative is that you yourself must have a good map and not rely on staff to give you good advice about where to eat and how to get there. Would definitely return to this Hotel again!!

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the square behind the hotel, and it was sunny and charming!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosebud10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Beautiful to look at, great location, fantastic rooftop terrace but they fail epically on service and the little things that matter. Breakfast in the room was horrendous, toast that could have been more toasted by my hairdryer. No refill on the free tea coffee in room, in fact no tea bags ever, just coffee, one little tiny uht pot of milk each day which is not enough for one cup let alone two. No iron and a refusal to borrow one. Tea and coffee served on the roof top terrace with breakfast if you pay over the odds for it but once this is over, they refuse to make any tea or coffee, they also refused to allow me a coffee from the downstairs bar and bring it up. Being a non drinker generally, I could not enjoy being there at night without resorting to a cold drink. Some of the rooms are tiny with horrible views, some are nicer. Exceptionally comfy beds though. To summarise, excellent location but way over priced, (10euro for a juice) - even if money was no issue I'd still expect service to be of a much higher standard. Mixed review as the hotel was nice but for the price, I'd have expected more.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HoneymoonHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

This is a lovely hotel in a great location. Beautiful and even though on a busy road, surprisingly quiet. The rooms aren't very large but tastefully decorated, in an old-fashioned kind of way.

Tips:
- Try the pool and spa.
- Try the chinese restaurant just round the corner. It is excellent!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalepooki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Loved my stay at this hotel. Staff very helpful - especially Monika. Rooms not large but extremely comfortable and quiet. Location fantastic - La Rambla on your doorstep but the hotel itself an oasis of calm. Rooftop terrace wonderful at any time - lunchtime tapas, afternoon beer, late night cocktails. Swimming pool at spa small but also lovely. What's not to love about this hotel!!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#27 of 515 in Barcelona
894 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 515 in Barcelona
924 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#23 of 515 in Barcelona
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,131 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#29 of 515 in Barcelona
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#26 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £160 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, TravelClick, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotelopia, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing