We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely 4 star hotel right in the middle of the ramblers.”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #30 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2013

its my second time to this hotel,last time was 3 years ago,it was fab then and just the same,nice clean,kept well,the staff very helpful,rooms very clean and modern with free wifi,safe, and nice big beds,the roof is great ,fantastic view over city ,nice sun lounges,bar,pool on roof,
next door is star bucks,and 50 yards down the market,your right in the middle of ramblers ,so its a great spot.
great shopping,bars, beach not too far away.its just in such a good spot for everything ,
we arrived at 1030 am and not a problem room was ready,and checking out kept are bags safe until 20.00 great staff helpful.i did not try spa,was only there 3 days too much to see and do !

Room Tip: i was on 3 rd floor excellent ,all quite and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davewaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,031 - 2,037 of 4,656 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2013

After much research we chose the Hotel 1898 for our week long stay in Barcelona. We were a bit apprehensive of choosing a hotel on Las Ramblas given the high activity and noise level. We were just blown away with the hotel, location and staff. It is at the top of Las Ramblas and one block away from the Place Cataluyna which is a very central hub. It is also within easy walking distance for many of the Barcelona neighborhoods--the Gothic, El Raval, Born and Eixample. The hotel has been beautifully renovated with deep colors and lovely woodwork. The rooms are elegant, comfortable and large for European standards. Each member of the staff we interacted with were extremely professional, courteous and knowledgable. The front desk staff made fabulous dining recommendations and were very helpful in directing us around the city and on our excursion to Girones for the Salvador Dali Museum--which is a must see! We also thoroughly enjoyed having before dinner cocktails and a nightcap at the hotel bar. The bartenders were extremely friendly and put together great drinks!

The other serendiptous advantage of Hotel 1898 is there are 2 amazing restaurants that are literally steps away. Bar Lobo is a very popular tapas restaurant recommended by friends of ours who live in Barcelona which is next door to the hotel on Pintor Fortuny. There is also a restaurant that shares the same building with the hotel--the name escapes me--but they have wonderful brick oven pizzas and fabulous tapas as well.

We would definitely stay at Hotel 1898 when we visit Barcelona again!

Room Tip: We requested a room that did not face Las Ramblas to avoid any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Well located , great staff , they cant do enough for you especially the reception staff ,the hotel is spotlessly clean and has been created with seemingly no expense spared. choose an outside room with window.
Great indoor and outdoor pool and spa area ,
We had breakfast in our room which arrived on time but was a bit disappointing given the price charged.
Maybee the buffet breakfast would be a better option.
On the whole a five star experience from start to finish.

Room Tip: choose a room on the outside ,( superior ) get one as high up as possible away from the all night st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 691sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

The hotel is in a great location for exploring the city, on a popular shopping and tourist street, but the rooms are quiet and I could not hear the street noise at all. Walking distance to the most areas of interest that are in the center and close to a major metro station convenient to use for exploration of areas outside downtown. The service was great. The hotel decor is modern but warm and welcoming. the room was cozy but with enough space, and so was the bathroom, with dark green marble, modern and very nice fixture, dream to be in, and very clean; all bathroom necessities are provided, including tooth care kit and shaving kit, For the technologically involved, the lights of the entire room were controlled from several panels on the wall, conveniently placed, with setting options such as " reading" setting and "relax, watch tv" setting, very up to date technology. The amenities are greats and the hotel is well worth the price (which for this level hotel is not that high at all).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ztraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel 1898 at the beginning of March 2013. The hotel is gorgeous inside...lots of dark wood, feels cozy, but is contemporary in design. Our room was smaller than what we expected, but then we discovered the outdoor deck attached to our room! It had a table and 4 chairs, plus two benches built into the decking...that was covered with a plush cushion and pillows. I must admit, one afternoon we took a nap outside on the deck. It was bliss! The kind bed was actually two beds pushed together, but we felt it added to the charm of our visit, in a European kind of way!

The bathroom was small, but was beautiful and much nicer than I expected. I was surprised to find that the mirror was the type that did not collect condensation on it. Nice.

The hotel's restaurant is located on the first floor of the hotel, but you must exit the hotel and enter the restaurant from the street. The food there was wonderful and we went back numerous times. Oh, and their gin & tonics are amazing!

The hotel is located on Las Ramblas which is an outdoor market/walkway. There were many people walking on Las Ramblas during the day. I was somewhat surprised. It is known to be an area for pick pockets. I purchased a small purse that I wore across my body, under my coat. Only once did my husband and I feel that a man was getting very close to us from behind, so we stopped suddenly, faced the man, and walked in the opposite direction.

My husband was in Barcelona on business, so I had 2 days to roam on my own. I toured 3 churches (1 cathedral) on my own, got lost (on purpose) in the Gothic quarter, and walked around the beautiful waterfront. All were within an easy walk from the hotel.

I would definitely recommend Hotel 1898. The hotel is somewhat expensive, but worth the money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Cannot say a bad thing about this hotel. Red carpet service throughout. Very modern, but warm. All of the staff from the front desk, to the bagmen, to the cleaning crew were very nice and accommodating, and went out of their way to help us with whatever we needed. Held onto our bags for the whole day, since we were catching an overnight train to southern Spain. Breakfast was exquisite, if not on the steep side for 30 euro or so a person. La boqueria market, just two blocks away. I would return to this hotel when back to Barcelona!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We loved our stay at 1898. The hotel was gorgeous and the room was comfortable as well as being beautiful. The rooftop pool was a bit crowded during the day but the pool-side bar comes to life at night with a great atmosphere of a hotspot that is not obnoxiously so. The hotel was on the pricier side, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 516 in Barcelona
2,174 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 516 in Barcelona
2,347 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 516 in Barcelona
3,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 516 in Barcelona
956 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 516 in Barcelona
906 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £110 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing