We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #28 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I stayed September 30 - October 1st after a seven day cruise. We found the hotel to be of a very high standard and the roof top pool and terrace a delight and a great place to relax. The cocktails were outstanding as were the views. We also enjoyed the spa. The position of the hotel was great, we had a third floor room overlooking the side of the hotel my wife enjoyed watching the tumblers doing their tricks, she was impressed. Friendly staff made or short stay very enyoyable. Lots of places to eat near by. This was a very good choice.

Room Tip: Side rooms may be noisy but there is entainment out side the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erskine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,834 - 1,840 of 4,692 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

We visited Hotel 1898 staying for four nights.The stay was a pleasure from start to finish, the check in staff where excellent.

The room was fantastic and very well appointed. The roof top bar was a greatr way to finish the day off.

We didn't eat in the hotel as there are two super places for breakast either side of the hotel and numerous dining options in the vicinity.

An excellent location and i would definately stay there again! A pleasure.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Third visit to Hotel 1898, given an upgrade to a room on the sixth floor and a complimentary bottle of cava, what a pleasant start to our stay. I would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone, just book a stay and see for yourself.

Room Tip: higher floors have less street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill_strachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We visited Hotel 1898, while we were in Barcelona October 9 – 12th. Although we did not stay at this hotel, we wish we had. We met friends for drinks on the rooftop terrace. The views from the rooftop were fabulous! Hotel guests were relaxing around the pool on comfortable chaise lounges and although the hotel is situated in a busy area, the rooftop was an oasis from the hubbub happening around the hotel. Located on La Rambla, there is plenty to see and do within walking distance. The staff was very attentive and in particular, guest relations representative Marti Majoral was quite accommodating. Our friends who stayed at the hotel, loved their rooms. If you are planning a trip to Barcelona, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our friends booked a prestige room and were very happy with the room and all the amenities. Plus ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed at hotel for 3 nights,not long enough to see all the sights in Barcelona and enjoy the hotel,great roof top bar and pool area,great rooms,the spa pool is amazing!!!!, all hotel staff friendly and helpful. Great location in the middle of La Rambla, with lots of shops and places to eat, want to go back!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbados16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I stayed here from 11th to 13th October 2013 for the 6th time in as many years and everything as usual was spot on. The hotel staff are extremely helpful, the public areas lavish and exceptionally clean and well maintained. I was lucky enough to get a room upgrade to a room with a small balcony and view of Las Ramblas, the room was immaculately clean and well appointed a pleasure after a long day roaming the streets of Barca. The spa is really nice and the roof terrace bar a great place for a few beers after a long day, and if I were you I'd have the breakfast here its lovely!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillipKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona again!!!

All our guests’ opinions are important for us and when we are reading that they had a marvelous time at the H1898 and it is your 6th time with us, it makes us really happy and encourages to improve in a better service every day.

We kindly inform you that we are constantly trying to improve to offer a better service to all our guests, since our maximum goal is to reach our guest’s expectations and assure them the most pleasant stay at the H1898, so definitely your opinion shared on TA, it made us more than happy!

We would be honored to welcome you again on your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just returned from our very first trip to Barcelona and 5 days at Hotel 1898 and absolutely loved it, so much to recommend from the amazing breakfast buffet (it really is the best we've ever eaten, and we've eaten in a lot of hotels - and don't start me on the chocolate crepes and pastries, delicious!) to great accommodation and incredibly friendly, helpful staff who couldn't do more for us. We mentioned the 'lack' of English speaking tv channels only for one of them to actually leave his desk and come up to our room at 11.45pm to demonstrate how to change the language on the tv controls to English so we could watch the films!! Took me by surprise that one - he also turned up with extra milk we'd asked for, for our morning in-room coffee. Superb service. Staff are every helpful in arranging trips and answering questions, nothing is too much trouble and you never feel rushed, everyone smiles and is welcoming. Location is within walking distance of the metro, hop-on/hop-off buses (definitely recommend these, worth every euro! - red and blue are the best routes) and a 20 minute gentle stroll down to the Harbour. The hotel is darkly decorated in deep green/black and creams, very sophisticated, and our room on the 4th floor was at the rear on the courtyard - yes, theres no view but it was very quiet away from La Rambla's. Only 'complaint' would be the lack of a proper seating area for 5 days, there was a desk and one chair but if I were to return, I would ask for a larger area. The air con was very powerful but there are controls to turn it down, the pillow request a bonus (first time I've ever had a comfortable pillow suitable for my face-down sleeping pattern), bed firm which was fine as thats how we like it, fabulous chocolates on turn-down at night, fresh water left daily, a hairdryer supplied that is actually powerful enough to use!, lighting controls offering several settings (sleep/general/welcome/relax), over large fluffy bath towels, and a huge bonus as far as I'm concerned - a magnifying mirror in the bathroom (I need all the help I can get!) and a bathroom mirror that demists, wonderful. The hotel was cleaned every minute we were there, late at night you could hear them hoovering outside and my eyes nearly popped out when I saw the ginormous slatted blinds in the main reception areas being handwiped (we're talking maybe 30/40ft high, the staff were on ladders). All areas were incredibly clean. Liked the idea of having to use the room card to operate the lift, makes you feel more secure. Finally the deck top bar and roof terrace - fabulous. A large enough pool to actually use (heated) with loungers, and a wonderful wrap around seating area with large canopied beds/loungers/chairs, staff ever available, comfort at its best. Didn't use the spa downstairs so that's the only thing I can't comment on. Would we return? Oh yes. Final word - check out the bar on the ground floor, fabulous G&T's!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JesseeEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, General Manager at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing us for your next stay in Barcelona!

We are really happy to know that your experience at our hotel was wonderful and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services, facilities and most of all about our Staff!

We definitely would like to see you back and welcoming you again, so looking forward to your next visit at the H1898.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#107 of 517 in Barcelona
3,462 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 517 in Barcelona
910 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 517 in Barcelona
2,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
Hotel Claris
Hotel Claris
#66 of 517 in Barcelona
1,978 reviews
El Raval
Hotel Pulitzer
Hotel Pulitzer
#110 of 517 in Barcelona
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £113 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing