We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #28 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in July. This hotel is in a fantastic location on La Ramblas and is easy to get to from the Airport. We took the regular bus service leaving every 5 minutes from the Terminal and walked the very short distance from Playa Catalunya to the hotel.

The hotel smells of the Old World luxury which has been lost in big chain hotel groups. The hotel staff make you feel very welcome without being pushy. Our room was compact rather than big, had all mod cons, came with the little extras you expect from this price level and had the bonus of a private terrace.

Without a doubt, the best facility is the hotel rooftop with its huge terrace area, bar, restaurant and pool. You can easily spend the whole day relaxing, bathing, eating and drinking without the need to go out and explore the City. We loved the option of being able to do a bit of both, soaking up the sun for a while and then exploring the City for a few hours. Providing the weather is good, you can have a short stay and come away feeling rejuvenated.

We did not eat any dinners at the hotel as the choice of restaurants within walking distance is abundant.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,643)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,799 - 1,805 of 4,644 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

Check in/out: Our check in went well. We arrived early and the staff did their best to get us an early check in, which they eventually did, with complimentary room upgrade as well. The hotel was completely booked and the front desk was a bit hectic at times. The concierge though friendly and helpful, were inundated-we called them to assist us with our luggage for check-out, and no one came to the room, so we had to bring our luggage down.

Cleanliness: No issues here-the housekeeping does a tremendous job of keeping not only the rooms, but the rest of the hotel spotless.

Location: The location is hard to beat, as a side-note, the window of our room was not facing the famous Ramblas, and so the noise was manageable. I don't think that they are double-paned, so if you are a light sleeper ask for a room where the windows are not facing Ramblas. The hotel is a short-walk to many popular venues. Though there is no ATM at the hotel, there are several ATMs adjacent Hotel 1898.

Food: The breakfast buffet was quaint, and offered an assortment of fares to appease anyone from healthy eaters to those who enjoy a more hearty meal. The breads were fresh, the sliced off the leg jamon exceptional, pastries sublime, orange juice fresh-squeezed, and the omelets were made to order. The wait staff was professional, non-invasive and friendly.

Rooms: Our room was well-appointed, and as mentioned above spotless-kudos to the housekeeping staff. The room provided a splendid oasis after spending long days sight-seeing. Complimentary water was available.

Value: We had the gastonomique package which averaged out to about $500.00 USD per night, for 2 nights. It included a complimentary cava, breakfast each morning, and a tasting menu (either lunch or dinner) with a bottle of red or white wine. We did not use the spa/gym as our schedule was fully engaged with tourist type of activities.

Other: The rooftop terrace views and ambience are superb. We spent a few hours enjoying an appetizer and cocktails while the sun was setting, and the nearby church bells ringing, reminding us that we were not at home! Additionally, on the day that we checked out, I was a bit under the weather, so I uncharacteristically left a jacket and cashmere sweater in the hotel closet. We phoned a few days later, and were told that yes, they did in fact have my 2 articles of clothing being safely held, until we can arrange for them to be shipped to us.

The bottom line: You would be hard pressed to find a hotel with all of the above reviewed perks of Hotel 1898 in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is not facing Ramblas street if you are a light sleeper. While one could argue that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ciscospudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed here in September 2012
Fantastic location. Very very clean, spacious room. Really comfortable and massive bed - as were the pillows. Roof top bar was lovely, but expensive. I got a couple of treatments in their Spa - it was bliss. Great base for sight seeing Barcelona, right on Las Ramblas. Breakfast was really good also.
If in Barcelona I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KirsteG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just back from a brilliant stay at Hotel 1898. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, we were given a complimentary upgrade to a superior room and I though the facilities were fantastic. Cleanliness was obviously a priority and I felt the entire hotel was immaculate. The spa in the basement was well worth a visit - it was so relaxing I fell asleep at the side of the pool! The roof top terrace was also lovely and we tended to head back there early afternoon for a drink and to catch the last of the sun. The location was good also - right in the heart of Las Ramblas and with many attractions within easy walking distance.

Our room looked out onto the side street and with the windows shut (the air con kept the room beautifully cool) we were not disturbed at all. In fact on the last morning, we slept in until after 10am as it was so peaceful.

Our only grumble was that breakfast was not included in the cost of the room (booked on Lastminute.com) and it would have cost 24 euros per person each morning which we felt was extortionate. Instead, we visited the local market, a two minute walk away and felt very healthy starting the day with a smoothie each and some fruit - trust me, with so much glorious food available in this city, our healthy ways did not last long!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SF2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as the first stop in a one month anniversary trip, perfect location in Las Ramblas, very nice roof terrace bar-restaurant, very close walk to Plaza Catalunya and Metro stations, excellent facilities very clean rooms and excellent service, look no further when in Barcelona!!

Room Tip: Get one with private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel4278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

To all 1899 hotel stuff.
Thanks for making our stay one of the best we ever had, your hotel is great and we had a wonderful time staying here, for visitors must try the roof trace , it's one off the most relaxing places In the city.

Great hotel in Barcelona !!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AvivWaiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel after 7 days cruise. Check in was smooth. We checked in early and the room was ready around noon.

The location of this hotel is perfect in the middle of Las Rambles. The rooms were good size for Europe. The staff was very helpful. Rooms are clean.
The terrace is very nice. We spend a lot of time on it. At night it gets very busy.
The SPA has an indoor swimming pool that we used few times.

The only complain is the internet. The connection was not consistence and slow most of the time. Also, it keeps forcing you to login,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amjed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#15 of 515 in Barcelona
1,137 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#20 of 515 in Barcelona
2,328 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
902 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
942 reviews
Barceloneta
W Barcelona
W Barcelona
#118 of 515 in Barcelona
6,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £127 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelClick, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Splitty, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing