We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel 1898
Nearby Hotels
US$267
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Claris(Barcelona)
US$394
US$364
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Hotel Central(Barcelona)
US$552
US$491
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$197
US$150
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gran Hotel Torre Catalunya(Barcelona)
US$220
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
H10 Marina Barcelona Hotel(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$280
US$235
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Andante(Barcelona)(Great Value!)
US$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$509
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
W Barcelona(Barcelona)
US$685
US$529
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$378
US$325
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (4,747)
Filter reviews
4,747 results
Traveller rating
3,539
935
161
59
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,539
935
161
59
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolla ramblabasement spatobacco companyclassic roomsuperior roomsauna and steam roomprivilege roompillow menutapasperfect locationside streetprivate terracestreet noisegothic quarterthe heart of the citysmall balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,821 - 1,826 of 4,747 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I have been fortunate enough to stay in a lot of nice hotels but this took the biscuit - it was the standard of customer service from the reception staff that really took 1898 out of the ordinary, but the surroundings & ambience were lovely too.

We were 4 girls who had booked 2 twin rooms and, simply because we had told them one of us was celebrating a birthday, they upgraded both rooms to the most spectacular suites with terraces and swimming pools. Later that day, they delivered a bottle of champagne to the birthday girl and then the rather cool chap from London behind reception directed us to the perfect shop for her to buy the perfect pair of boots (not an easy task, as any woman will attest!).

Naturally we responded in time-honoured fashion and, over the course of the weekend, spent as much time and money as we could in the hotel, including more espresso martinis than I care to recall - a week on and I am still recovering!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Micky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We are glad to hear that you had a great time and thank you for choosing us as the location for celebrating your birthday in Barcelona!
We are grateful for opinions like yours and hear that you had a really nice stay, that our Staff was great and that you could enjoy all our services and facilities it makes us definitely happy!
Look forward to see you again at the H1898.
All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was a great experience. The location was excellent but a bit noisy since you are on La Rambla where all the action is. The room size and sleep quality was great if you want to avoid the street noise then opt for higher floor rooms. Great and very helpful staff. Finally the breakfast was really good quality.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the street noise then opt for higher floor rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dxb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your high reviews regarding our hotel’s services, facilities and mostly about our Staff!

Looking forward to have you back in Barcelona and welcoming you again on your next visit.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights over a weekend in November 2013. Our party was upgraded on arrival to 2 huge suites with terraces with their own pools! Just wonderful. Front desk staff were courteous and helpful throughout our stay. Would enthusiastically recommend this hotel. We loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that your experience at our hotel was wonderful and we take the chance to thank you for your high reviews about our staff, services and facilities.

Thank you once again for your great review and hopefully see you in the near future!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We arrived early in the morning and the reception staff were very helpful, if we wanted to hang around we could have got into the room within an hour. We took the offer of our bags being locked in a secure room and got on with exploring Barcelona. When we returned in the afternoon our bags were in our room, which wasn't huge but very comfortable with everything we could have asked for, a comfy huge bed and plenty of towels in the bathroom. We only ate breakfast in the hotel once, expensive but well worth it, lots of choices. One evening we had dinner at the hotel it was reasonably priced and very good. We used the bar in the foyer every day,and would recommend trying the Tapas, we only managed to use the roof top bar once before it was closed. Sadly Barcelona had rain, thunder and lightening for three out of the five days of our visit, did it put us off? No. And when we return we will stay at 1898! On the day we left the hotel our flight wasn't until 8pm, we asked if we could retain the room until the afternoon but due to the hotel being fully booked this wasn't possible. Again they locked our bags away for us and we could use all of the hotel facilities for as long as we needed. As I've already said we found everyone at the hotel to be friendly and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 77belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Guest,
First at we would like to say thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona.
We kindly inform you that we are improving all the time to offer a better service to all ours guest, since our maximum goal is to reach our guest’s expectations and assuring them the most pleasant stay at the H1898, so definitely your opinion shared on TA made us happy!

We definitely would like to see you back so looking forward to your next visit at the H1898 maybe in the summer when there will not be rain and the rooftop bar will be open again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed in the hotel for three nights which were amazing, the staff are very friendly and smiling all the time and very helpfull.

the location is fantastic at the main street of La Rambla, with a lot of restaurants and cafes near by walking distance.

I must say the jasmine and flowery smell of the lobby is amazing that makes you feel so relaxed and the lobby area looks so nice too. there is Le Meriedian in front of the hotel, but even so no comaprison to the H1898 which is more elegant and amazing.

The breakfast has a lot of choices and very delicious and tasty with large seating area as well, which shows on the La Rambla.

The rooftop bar is so amazing and relaxed with great service and view of the city especially if it's a sunny day

will be staying there again when we visit barcelona agan for sure.

Room Tip: There is a restaurant next to the entrance of the hotel that make there food in a proper oven and taste really good, always busy, must try. Also if you like to try a proper spanish place that is authentic try the La Flauta which the hotel can tell you the directions and its amazing and the best in barcelona.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mazen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services, facilities and most at all about our Staff!
We are glad that you could enjoy the city from every single corner since as mentioned by yourself we are right in centre, but most at all that you could enjoy your stay with us!
All our guest opinion are important for us and when we are reading that they had a marvellous time at the H1898 it make us happy and encourage to improve in a better service every day.

We would be honoured to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews