We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply ticked every box . . . And more”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #22 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simply ticked every box . . . And more”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

What a wonderful hotel. The location is fantastic, in the middle of La Ramblas. Very central for the harbour and easy to reach Gaudi buildings. Fabulous room with private terrace. The room was very well serviced and the bed comfortable, high quality bedding, slept like a log. Spa a delight, had a facial of the highest standard, very relaxing. Spa pool just a little dark. Roof top a big surprise, small outdoor pool with lots of loungers . Fabulous bar - huge gin and tonics. Staff attentive and helpful. Top tip, book tickets for main attractions such as Sagrada Familla on line before you go.

Room Tip: Ask for a terrace, read the room descriptions carefully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gigi05_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your excellent review about our services, facilities and most at all about our Staff.
We are glad that you could enjoy the city from every single corner since as mentioned by yourself we are right in centre, but most at all that you could enjoy your stay with us!

Looking forward to welcoming yuo again at the H1898.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,267
    883
    146
    54
    49
See reviews for
583
2,655
121
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Just attended a business conference in this hotel and appreciated its style, location and service. Rooms are conference facilities are good and the service was excellent. As the Hotel 1898 is located right at La Rambla it is situated perfectly to explore Barcelona.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mike_the_Voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First at all thank you for taking your time and sharing you opinion with us on TA!
It is our pleasure to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and that our hotel was very convenient to hold your business meeting.

Looking forward towelcoming you again at the H1898!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Although we had a wonderful stay here, we felt it was a bit too pricey. Especially breakfast, since breakfast was NOT included in the big price tag. We were really pleased with our massages and the use of the spa was very relaxing. We stayed in room 524 and had a beautiful terrace. Although we didn't notice until we were enjoying our breakfast on the terrace that there are rooms above us looking right at our terrace able to see everything we were doing and or saying since they had doors they could open but they did not have a terrace or a balcony. It wasn't private at all!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melliebd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First at all thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona.
We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impressions of our hotel on TA and apologize in case we might cause any inconvenience during your stay.
We would be more than glad to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level Contributor
75 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The hotel is located at Las Ramblas and the rooftop bar was just great! The sunset view was perfect! The bedroom was huge, very clean and the bed was great. The staff was just ok. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franbrasilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Guest,

First at all thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona and thank you as well for taking your time and sharing your really good opinion with us on TA.

Looking forward to your next visit at the H1898!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

After yet another visit to Hotel 1898 I can honestly say I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Barcelona. From the moment you arrive the hotel cannot do enough for you. We had a wonderful room, the smell throughout the whole hotel is sublime! The breakfast is vast and the breakfast room has lovely views over the Ramblas. We ordered cava to the room most nights, which always came with chocolates. They gave us a discount card to get money off drinks in the hotel bar, which we really enjoyed sitting in. In addition, they supply you with nibbles whilst you sip a cocktail or a great glass of wine or cava. The concierge recommended us restaurants that were fab. The turndown service with chocolates was lovely and the spa - well we spent many an hour relaxing there! One afternoon we came back to the hotel and our room had not been cleaned, so we asked reception who immediately sent someone and offered their apologies. Fluffy bath robes, slippers and the most comfortable beds and pillows make the stay even better! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. My favourite.

Room Tip: The basic rooms can be fairly small, we had a room on a corner this time which felt much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGrindlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are more than delighted to know that your experience at the H1898 was wonderful - again - and thank you so much for your really high reviews about us and about our job!

We kindly inform you that we are improving all the time to offer a better service to all ours guest, since our maximum goal is to reach our guest’s expectations and assuring them the most pleasant stay at the H1898, so definitely your opinion shared on TA made us happy.

Thank you once again for your excellent comments and we hope to have you back really soon!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Thank you to the H1898 for a wonderful two day stay. Here are our main points:

+ Beautiful hotel, historic
+ Modern, very comfortable, lots of nice things (like you can request different pillows, have different lighting modes for your room depending on your mood)
+ Amazing location - on La Rambla! Its a great road and part of Barcelona, very close to the attractions and sights.
+ Spa is awesome. The roof top pool was so fab, and hot! Amazing views. The basement pool is great, a bit chilly in the jets/jacuzzi bit of the pool, might be nice to have a hot tub. Sauna and steam room available.
+ Staff very nice, friendly.

- Breakfast a little on the expensive side - go the cafe next door, really nice.

Brilliant hotel, loved our stay here. Well done to the whole team.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,

We are more than honored to hear that your stay with us was amazing and that you really liked all our facilities and services.

Thank you so much for sharing your excellent comments with us on TA and
we definitely are looking forward to your next visit at the H1898!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have just arrived back from Hotel 1898 in Barcelona. The location was perfect (although our room was facing the front of the building and was quite noisy with revelers during the night and early morning) The decor, ambiance and facilities were lovely and the staff friendly and helpful. We also had dinner at the restaurant on the first floor. The food was delicious and the service from our incredibly polite waiter was impeccable. High speed internet excellent, room service excellent, housekeeping excellent. Would definitely return (although to a room not facing the street!)

Room Tip: Not facing the front of the building - unless you are a heavy sleeper!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DG1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Guest,
First at all thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona.
We kindly inform you that we are surrounded by historical buildings, since we are right on las Ramblas and sometimes we could be exposed to external factors that unfortunately we cannot manage them.
We would like to remind that all our rooms are provided with double glaze windows and sound proof system and that we have 6 rooms categories, all different between them in order to make satisfy all ours guest’s expectative.
Thank you as well for the great review regarding our services and about our staff. We will definitely forward the message to all our departments!

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impressions of our hotel and apologize in case we might cause any inconvenience during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
4,381 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
849 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,108 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing