We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-located beautiful hotel”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #30 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed here 3 nights on a family trip. Hotel is directly situated on Las Ramblas and coming into the hotel was a calming experience each time. Rooms were handsome and well furnished with desk, chairs and marble bathroom. One of the rooms overlooked the side street, the other room looked into an inner court. Had an in-room hot pot to make tea or coffee. Bathroom products/amenities were top-notch and well appreciated, as were the spa robes and slippers.
The spa area with indoor swimming pool was magnificent! Additionally, the rooftop terrace with swimming pool had stunning city views.
Desk staff was professional and helpful, although they were uncertain about AVE trains and reservations. Housekeeping (including evening turn-down service with chocolate) was top-notch. Hotel was cleaner than any other I had experienced. Did not eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor to get away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,750 - 1,756 of 4,656 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel, as my company was holding an event there. It was a very pleasant stay. The hotel itself is located right on las ramblas, close to the underground. The rooms were spacious and the whole hotel is furbished in nice earthy colours, wood and hsd some colonial undertones. I cannot comment on breakfast as I rarely have them at hotels. However, if the meeting rooms catering is an indication, it is must be pretty good. I did try their hotel restaurant and it was quite good.

What I did love was their hot chocolate. A true pleasure.

I definitely recommend the establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belisareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I can not say enough good about this wonderful Hotel. From the time we arrived until we left the staff was helpful and attentive. When you enter the lobby area you just want to sit down and relax. The rooms were top notch as well. Excellent bathrooms with large fluffy towels and accessories should you need them. The beds are so comfortable with crisp clean linens that make you want to stay and sleep in. I was so worried because this was our first trip to Barcelona and was not familiar with the hotels. I think we picked the perfect choice.

My sister enjoyed the indoor pool. It is in an amazing setting. A quick check of the roof top pool/bar area gave great views and I only wished we were here during the season it would be open.

Also if you love walking Las Ramblas it is the perfect location. Out the door and you are in the old city able to walk everywhere. We did have tapas and wine in the bar our last night and it was a very relaxing ending to our trip.

I will come back to Barcelona and this is the only place I will want to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrindleScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel has great amenities (pool, bar, rooftop terrace) and in great location. Wifi is available but ONLY in the lobby. They are pretty strict on the 3pm check-in but allow you to clean up and store luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsvp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Guest,
First at all thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona.
We are happy to hear that you have a great stay with us and that you could enjoy about all our facilities.
We kindly inform you that our times for check ins and check outs are like in mostly hotels around the world, but in case the room is ready upon to a guest arrival we do not hesitate with the check in, since for us is a pleasure to provide the room key as soon as possible.
We appreciated the time dedicated to share your impressions of our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience we might cause to you.
We would be more than glad to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel prior to our cruise. The hotel is beautiful, the location is perfect, and the room was better than expected. With many reviewers saying that noise could be a problem, we asked for a quiet room and that is what we got. Very updated and elegant. Green marble bathroom, large bathtub, comfortable bed. The buffet breakfast that was included in our package was one of the best I've ever seen. A huge array of choices, even champagne, and tables overlooking the La Rambla. We'd read much about the rooftop, but being Nov., it closed by 6:00. Nonetheless we sat up there anyway and enjoyed the incredible view. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Guest,

We are more than glad that your overall experience at our hotel was pleasant!
We kindly inform you that we are improving all the time to offer a better service to all ours guest, since our maximum goal is to reach our guest’s expectations and assuring them the most pleasant stay at the H1898, so definitely your opinion shared on TA made us happy!

We would be honoured to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel is undoubtedly worthy of all the fantastic views & I do wonder why it is not a 5 star! From the moment we arrived to the minute we left, nothing was too much trouble.
Having taken an early morning flight, we arrived at the hotel expecting to simply store our bags, yet we were checked in & able to unpack ready to make to most of the day.
Our rooms were lovely, immaculately clean, beautiful bathrooms & nice touches such as bathrobes, slippers & beautiful toiletries. A large LCD tv, tea & coffee making facilities, mini bar, radio, touch control lighting, pillow menu. We had inner rooms but were very happy as they were very quiet. The double doors opened to a view of an inner courtyard.
The staff in the hotel were extremely friendly & helpful. The receptionists, bar staff, concierge, spa staff & cleaners were all the same- cheerful & helpful.
Try the cocktails, they were amazing especially with the 20% savings.The couches & chairs very inviting & comfortable! In fact we spent many evenings before & after dinner just relaxing & enjoying the ambience.

The food in the restaurant was lovely although the portions on the main quite small- having said that, it didn't do any of us any harm to eat a little less that night!

The roof top pool was like a bath the first day we arrived, just a little cool the next few days. The views are spectacular & the couches & loungers very comfortable. The Spa facilities & gym were excellent too. So relaxing.

All in all, a perfect stay & I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Guest,

first at all thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona and thank you so much for such an excellent review shared with us on TA!

All our guest opinion are important for us and when we are reading that they had a marvellous time at the hotel it make us happy and encourage to improve in a better service every day, so thank you once again and definitely looking forward to welcoming yuo again at the H1898.

All the best,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Great hotel, fantastic staff, location ideal in La Ramblas. Breakfast was very expensive and possibly not worth it. Spa facility was outstanding. Roof pool was great but as it was late November we only spent 5 minutes in it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that your experience at our hotel was wonderful and we take the chance to thank you for your high reviews about our staff, services and facilities.
We took note about the breakfast and we would kindly inform you that the price is adapted to the quality of the fresh product and quantity that we are serving every morning, so we suggest you that at least once you have to try it. :)
Looking forward to see you again at the H1898.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 516 in Barcelona
2,174 reviews
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#19 of 516 in Barcelona
2,347 reviews
El Raval
Barcelo Raval
Barcelo Raval
#105 of 516 in Barcelona
3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 516 in Barcelona
956 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 516 in Barcelona
906 reviews
Eixample
El Palace Hotel
El Palace Hotel
#8 of 516 in Barcelona
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#8 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £110 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , World Independent Hotel Promotion, TravelClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing