We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 515 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Located right on Las Ramblas, in easy walking distance to many of the "must see" sights for visitors to Barcelona. Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent room - spacious and great amenities. Don't miss out on the spa, or the roof top terrace - great views of the city. The night we were to visit the restaurant there was only a set menu for ~ 62eu/head - we declined the offer! The normal menu looks fine and about the same price for around this area (quite expensive). Fantastic pillows!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lodgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are thrilled that you found the Hotel 1898 to be perfect in every way. We are especially delighted that you find excellent the room and amenities, and you enjoyed with the Spa facilities or the roof top terrace views.

We are agree that our beds and pillows are very comfy and after a long day, they are the perfect place to rest one’s head and doze off until the next morning.

We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I shall ensure that all of your kind comments and praise are passed on to the staff.

We appreciate the time dedicated to share your impression of our hotel and hopefully see you in the next future!

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,705 - 1,711 of 4,598 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Dec 17-20 and it was first rate. Location is excellent. At check-in, we were greeted warmly. The front desk is efficient, friendly and personal. Concierge was very friendly and able to help us with various questions we had during our stay. We never used their restaurants, instead having a simple breakfast at the Starbucks next door. Also, sadly, we couldn’t use their beautiful rooftop pool and bar since it was winter but the facilities up there looked killer. Hotel lobby bar is good enough but, perhaps because it was off season, it was a bit too empty to be that inviting. Our room was spacious enough, very clean and quiet with a very nice bathroom. We did have some trouble with the room’s heater temp, which we just couldn’t lower or turn off, making the room very hot. But, we opened the window and it was fine. This is a very comfortable, elegant and unique boutique hotel in a great location and we’d stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsk1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services, facilities and most at all about our Staff! They take pride in all they do to exceed our guest’s expectations of service and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed. I will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to the team who will be most appreciative.

We are sorry for the inconvenience with the room’s heater temp.

We would be honoured to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona.

Kinds regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

A good hotel, but I think a bit expensive, the room was smaller than we spected... Breakfast 24€!!! Good service, very kind people. They speak good English. The location is wonderful, just in Barcelona center

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salibmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choose Hotel 1898 for your stay in Barcelona and taking the time to share your review about your recent visit.

We are sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please accept my apologies for the disappointment of the size of the room that was allocated to you. Being an historical building, we have a wide selection of sizes of accommodation and categories with each room being unique. If you would care to mention that you would prefer a larger room when next making a booking with us, we will, subject to availability, allocate a more spacious room.

We took note about the breakfast and we would kindly inform you that the price is adapted to the quality of the fresh product and quantity that we are serving every morning.

As you have mentioned, we are located in the city center, right on Las Ramblas which is basically the most popular street in the whole city and everything could be reached walking or in a short taxi’s ride.

Look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Barcelona.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Stayed here 3 nights on a family trip. Hotel is directly situated on Las Ramblas and coming into the hotel was a calming experience each time. Rooms were handsome and well furnished with desk, chairs and marble bathroom. One of the rooms overlooked the side street, the other room looked into an inner court. Had an in-room hot pot to make tea or coffee. Bathroom products/amenities were top-notch and well appreciated, as were the spa robes and slippers.
The spa area with indoor swimming pool was magnificent! Additionally, the rooftop terrace with swimming pool had stunning city views.
Desk staff was professional and helpful, although they were uncertain about AVE trains and reservations. Housekeeping (including evening turn-down service with chocolate) was top-notch. Hotel was cleaner than any other I had experienced. Did not eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor to get away from street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

I recently stayed at the hotel, as my company was holding an event there. It was a very pleasant stay. The hotel itself is located right on las ramblas, close to the underground. The rooms were spacious and the whole hotel is furbished in nice earthy colours, wood and hsd some colonial undertones. I cannot comment on breakfast as I rarely have them at hotels. However, if the meeting rooms catering is an indication, it is must be pretty good. I did try their hotel restaurant and it was quite good.

What I did love was their hot chocolate. A true pleasure.

I definitely recommend the establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belisareus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I can not say enough good about this wonderful Hotel. From the time we arrived until we left the staff was helpful and attentive. When you enter the lobby area you just want to sit down and relax. The rooms were top notch as well. Excellent bathrooms with large fluffy towels and accessories should you need them. The beds are so comfortable with crisp clean linens that make you want to stay and sleep in. I was so worried because this was our first trip to Barcelona and was not familiar with the hotels. I think we picked the perfect choice.

My sister enjoyed the indoor pool. It is in an amazing setting. A quick check of the roof top pool/bar area gave great views and I only wished we were here during the season it would be open.

Also if you love walking Las Ramblas it is the perfect location. Out the door and you are in the old city able to walk everywhere. We did have tapas and wine in the bar our last night and it was a very relaxing ending to our trip.

I will come back to Barcelona and this is the only place I will want to stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrindleScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel has great amenities (pool, bar, rooftop terrace) and in great location. Wifi is available but ONLY in the lobby. They are pretty strict on the 3pm check-in but allow you to clean up and store luggage.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rsvp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Dear Guest,
First at all thank you for choosing us as your next stay in Barcelona.
We are happy to hear that you have a great stay with us and that you could enjoy about all our facilities.
We kindly inform you that our times for check ins and check outs are like in mostly hotels around the world, but in case the room is ready upon to a guest arrival we do not hesitate with the check in, since for us is a pleasure to provide the room key as soon as possible.
We appreciated the time dedicated to share your impressions of our hotel and apologize for the inconvenience we might cause to you.
We would be more than glad to welcoming you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#26 of 515 in Barcelona
894 reviews
Eixample
Catalonia Square
Catalonia Square
#13 of 515 in Barcelona
924 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Grand Hotel Central
Grand Hotel Central
#22 of 515 in Barcelona
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#12 of 515 in Barcelona
1,131 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Eixample
H10 Metropolitan
H10 Metropolitan
#28 of 515 in Barcelona
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range: £160 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelClick, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing