We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Barcelona Base”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #27 of 512 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant Barcelona Base”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

This was a great place to stay for our mini break to Barcelona.
It's centrally located but it tucked away down a side street off la Ramblas which makes it peaceful enough to get away from the hustle and bustle.
The staff are very friendly and helpful with suggestions and directions.
The rooms are well equipped with free wifi, lovely bathrooms and the most comfortable beds! We also enjoyed coming back to to the turn down service, the complimentary chocs were much appreciated after a long day sightseeing.
The bar is inviting and service in there was excellent, the drinks were a bit on the expensive side but we did have a discount card which helped.
The only thing I cannot comment on is the breakfast as this was not part of our package, this would be my only complaint and it would be nice if this could be included. There are however plenty of other places to have breakfast on the hotels doorstep.
We would would definitely stay here again if we return to Barcelona.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank flippingmental1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,313
    892
    150
    55
    51
See reviews for
593
2,692
124
283
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (681)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Casablanca
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Beautiful hotel, stylish, nicely designed. Elegant and affordable... great location just off Ramblas. Comfortable beds, decent size rooms and excellent service.

Spent 2 nights there for Valentine's weekend... was simply great. Also recommend the cafe/ restaurant right outside called Luzia!

Room Tip: Ideally stay in a room on the back side of the hotel with terrace view. The rooms on the street faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelleralex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona.

We are more than delighted to know that your experience at the H1898 was great and thank you so much for your really high reviews about our location, service and facilities.

We hope you enjoyed the Valentine day in Barcelona and definitely looking forward to your next visit at the H1898!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ksa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my family in this amazing hotel and we enjoyed it very much. I really loved the location of the hotel ( in the middle of rambla ). The room was big enough and the bathroom was clean. There is a nice pool in the rooftop. The lobby is dark but classy. In the beginning of our stay there was a problem with the air condition but as soon as we call the front desk they try there best and change the room immediately. I am really looking forward to stay again and again.

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shoshoKsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are really happy to know that you find the hotel amazing and we take the chance to thank you for your really high review about the hotel!

We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed

We would like to see you back and welcoming you again, so looking forward to your next visit at the H1898.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California; HK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

My wife and I stayed there for 3 nights during our vacation in Spain. Very tastefully decorated, spacious room, great location only few minutes from the Metro and right on La Rambla which is only 2 mins. away from the La Boqueria market. Even though it's located the very busy and lively La Rambla but once you are inside the hotel or your room it's very quiet and comfortable so noice is not an issue. Too bad we went during the winter time and didn't have the chance to try their rooftop pool as we went up to take a look and it has a very beautiful view of the city. I could imagine how nice it would be during summer time to enjoy a relaxing afternoon there. I would definitely stay at this hotel again if I go back to Barcelona for business or pleasure. It's a little bit more expensive but well worth the price. At the end of our stay I even told my wife that I wouldn't mind staying at this hotel for couple more weeks as it's so nice to come back to such a comfortable place after a long day touring the city. I especially like how you could change to different settings of the room lights with just one click of a button right beside your bed.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robbb101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing us for your next stay in Barcelona.

We are pleased to learn that you have had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about us! We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectation and it is extremely satisfying to read their efforts do not go unnoticed.

We would be honored to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona….preferably on summer time for enjoy our terrace ;)

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The hotel is comfortable, clean and with friendly staff. The room was in good condition, clean and well decorated. This is no less than one would expect from a 4 star superior hotel. The location is ideal for those who like to stay in the center of the City. Las Ramblas is a tourist trap, comparable with Piccadilly in London or Time Square in New York. This however, depends on the preference of the individual. The spa was relaxing as you would expect, I have not been to many but better than the ones I have been to, like a small cave hidden underneath the busy streets of Barcelona city center. The only issue I had was that we were quoted €24/person for breakfast by the lady at the reception. However, if you take a look at the menu in your room, you will see that there are other options other than the €24 breakfast on the menu. You are probably better of going to La Boqueria which is 2 minutes walk from the hotel.
Overall, a positive experience and a hotel I would recommend if you can afford it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ovolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your reviews about our services, facilities and most at all about our Staff.

As mentioned by you we are located right on Las Ramblas which is basically the most popular street in the whole city and everything could be reached walking or in a short taxi’s ride.

Look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This was a week long family getaway primarily used as beach holiday. 2 adults (33 & 39) and 1 child (4). I myself have studied in Barcelona and we have taken 3 trips for vacation here as well.

This is the 4* that I usually compare other 4* hôtels to.

Spa: They offer a nice little spa with an indoor pool and sauna. My wife used it one day and that's about it. I guess it's one of the dabgers of travelling with kids.There's also a roof-top pool with a nice view. I used this once with my older daughter because she really wanted to go but I myself am not into pools when on a beach vacation.

Location: Great central location (if perhaps a bit noisy) right on La Rambla. 5 minutes to the port. 10-15 to the beach. Easy access to public transport. Numerous restaurants. Unless you're looking for a very quiet location or a place right on the beach, it probably doesn't get muich better than this. One thing I noticed is that while it's in a busy area, it serves as a nice oasis for some rest/peace & quiet. You walk directly from the noise & hustle of La Rambla and once inside you're immediatley enveloped in much different atmosphere.


Room: Nicely done interior. Nice sundries. Rooms are nicely furnished and spacious. Previous posters have mentioned hearing/feeling the metro going by underground and while I noticed the vibration as well, it wasn't an issue to us as we were worn out by time we got back into our room. Coffee maker. Mini-bar. LArge screen TV. 2 double (queen?) beds.

Lobby: Lobby is spacious with plenty of seating and socializing room. There's an attached bar area.

Staff: The staff were friendly and professional. No complaints.

Restaurant/Bar: We ate breakfast in-house only once and it was a nice enough buffet but not particularly worth the expense versus getting out and eating elsewhere. (NOTE to HOTEL..You offer a few regional specialties for the breakfast but don't bother to mention anything on the buffet placards. Instead of putting "cheese", your clients might like it if you have a name and region mentioned). The restaurant and bar aren't always open so it's not possible to get a coffee whenever you like but the starbucks next door easily makes up for this lapse.

This trip was a couple years ago and I can't remember the exact dates. When we arrived, there was a general strike scheduled to take place the same day and we dealt with massive protests & closings the first 2-3 days. Rito police. Police helicopters. Garbage cans & (a few) buildings set on fire. Suprisingly, other than a few transport issues this didn't bother us in the slightest and I actually enjoyed taking my older daughter out and showing her what was going on & explaining why it was happening. None of this has anything to do with the hotel of course which was fully operational the whole time.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank theswissmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your reviews regarding our hotel’s services, location, facilities and especially about our Staff.

We kindly inform you that we are improving all the time to offer a better service to all ours guest, since our maximum goal is to reach our guest’s expectations and assuring them the most pleasant stay at the H1898.

We would be more than glad to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is my 2nd stay at the Hotel 1898. I like it because of its great location on La Rambla near the barrio Gothico. I come to Barcelona quite often, but I choose the 1898 when I have a business meeting because the hotel is very nice, in an old building very well refurbished. Good beds, fantastic terrace with bar & view & swimming pool in the summer. The meeting room is on the 2nd floor, with windows. In the areas, most meeting rooms are in the basement, so you don't see daylight for the whole day when you have a long meeting. Nice 'colonial' decoration, referring to the Tobacco Company offices from 1898.
The staff is very helpful, and the bar on the ground floor is nice. I would suggest to add fish at breakfast (smoked salmon...) and to be a bit more generous in soap in the bathroom.

Room Tip: Take a room on the outside (street) as the yard is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guy415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choose us for your stay in Barcelona again!

We are pleased to learn that you have had a wonderful stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our location, services, facilities and most of all about our Staff!

We are more than honored to hear that our hotel was very convenient to hold your private meeting!

Regarding your suggestion about to add smoked salmon at breakfast, we kindly inform you that there is always. We are sorry if you did not find it during your stay.

I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#42 of 512 in Barcelona
4,419 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 512 in Barcelona
861 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#13 of 512 in Barcelona
1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#15 of 512 in Barcelona
2,175 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#8 of 512 in Barcelona
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing