We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1898 Fab Hotel book external room”
Review of Hotel 1898

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 1898
Ranked #22 of 513 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Northwest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“1898 Fab Hotel book external room”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Just had a great weekend break in Barca @ 1898 hotel.

Great location on La Ramblas , superb facilities including Spa, rooftop pool & terrace and nice relaxing bar area.

We were allocated an internal room , no view and minimal natural light , as I was staying with brother and we're not intending to spend lots of time in the room we decided to stick with it. If I were to return I would ensure an external room on a higher floor 6.

All said the staff and hotel were really good and despite the room I would not hesitate to return. A perfect location to see the splendid sights of Barca. I would recommend the bus tour great way to see the city and choose a specific area to see in detail. Per chose Camp Nou as we are avid footy fans . We'll worth the 20 Euros .

My other favourite wad the marina , El Chiperon restaurant fish platter, and the 1.5 hour cruise on the med. the weather was 25 degrees and it was a fantastic way of seeing the city.

Great weekend. My brother & I had too quality time together .

Room Tip: External room high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 7 July 2016
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you have had a great stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about our services, facilities, location and most at all about our Staff!

For your next visit we would like to invite you to take a look to our webpage for more information regarding different room’s categories (views and size).

We would be more than glad to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,267
    884
    146
    54
    49
See reviews for
583
2,656
121
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (674)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Spent 5 days at the hotel. Must say we were very satisfied. We got a prestige room that gave us enough room (we saw one of the normal rooms and they seemed tiny). The grtto pool was very nice. The only negative (for us) was that it is right on La Rambla so it gets loud at night. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank GotRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your opinion with us.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please, if you would care to mention that you would prefer not views to the Ramblas when next making a booking with us, we will allocate in another area.

Look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bembridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed on a business trip and the staff could not be more helpful. Inner room with no view but did not spend much time in it to matter! However check out the roof top terrace, amazing pool heated all year the view and sounds of Barcelona are unbeatable. Local food market 100 meters from the hotel a real find with fantastic stalls selling all types of food and Tapas all day. Very central and coming back to this hotel and Barcelona in a few months for holiday. Well worth the money for such a fab location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed here four nights. We got upgraded from a Classic room (window onto an inner courtyard) to a Superior room. The location is hard to beat, very close to the Liceu subway stop, La Boqueria, Placa Catalunya, Barri Gotic, and shopping. The room was spacious and comfortable. Every staff person we saw seemed genuinely nice. Our hotel price included the breakfast which was very good, with a large variety of freshly baked goods, smoked fish, meat, fresh fruit, cereal, and yogurts. You can also get eggs cooked to order. (It is not worth 25 euros though unless you can eat enough for the whole day.) The swimming pool is beautiful and looked very relaxing. (Gotta pack a bathing suit!) You can also use the steam room and sauna. The WiFi, however, was good at the desk but nonexistent on the bed. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on a higher floor. We were on the third floor and did hear street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnArborMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time and sharing your high reviews regarding our hotel’s services, location, facilities and most of all about our Staff!

I am very proud of the team and it is always pleasing to receive such kind words as yours. We constantly endeavor to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is always rewarding to hear that these efforts are noticed. I am happy that they were helpful and friendly.

We are sorry to read that our internet service did not meet your expectations, must have been an exceptional situation.

We are glad you found our breakfast very good with plenty of choice and thank you very much for your kind comment about our Spa.

Thank you once again for your excellent comments and we hope to have you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Loved this hotel but just didn't have time to do it justice. Definitely worth going back for a longer visit. Perfect location, just a few hundred yards away from the amazing market place on las ramblas. Great breakfast and an amazing buffet of "nibbles" serves to our party before we went out for dinner. Rooms ample in size and beds really comfy. The whole atmosphere of this hotel is classy and relaxed. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Check that your room has a full shower. I had a twin room with bath and just a hand held shower. Was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

We are pleased to learn that you had a lovely stay at our hotel and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about us.

We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations and it is always satisfying to hear that these efforts are noticed.

We would like to encourage you to come back and stay longer with us!

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This hotel is located in a very busy tourist part of the Barcelona. There was a very nice Baazar very close to the hotel. bus station was 2 min walk. also U are able walk to beach, I say 10 min walk. a lots of restaurant are close. Our room was very large in compare to our room in Madrid (ME hotel). It was also very clean. the front desk were very friendly and helpful. overall we liked our hotel very much and if we go back we would like to stay there again.

Room Tip: we asked the front desk and they upgrade us. U only need to ask them, if they have available I guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nazly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing us for your next stay in Barcelona and we take the chance to thank you for your very high reviews about facilities, services and most of all our staff!

We would be honoured to welcome you again during your next stay in Barcelona.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Love any Hotel that has a Pillow Menu and Starbucks next door! Spacious and Bright Corner Room on the 3rd Floor overlooking Las Ramblas was great but you did hear a bit of street noise, may want to ask for higher floor. We liked watching the hustle and bustle of Las Ramblas though. Rooftop pool and terrace, indoor spa, chocolates every night. Great location, walk to Plaza Catalunya, restaurants, sites, only 5-10 minute walk to Cathedral (loved hearing the bells each day) and 5 more to Picasso Museum. ATMs and Metro nearby. Full Breakfast was amazing. Great restaurant Luzia located on the corner near lobby, excellent food there. Tell your cab driver Le Meridien (which is right next door) otherwise they drive right past this Classic and stately hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are spacious and bright, rooms overlooking Las Ramblas are fun but if you are a light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank camfva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuria G, Director General at Hotel 1898, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking your time and sharing with us your high opinion about your experience with us on TA.

We are glad that you could enjoy the city from every single corner since as mentioned by yourself we are right in centre and everything could be reach walking, with the subway or short taxi’s drive.

Look forward to welcoming you again at the H1898.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Hotel Jazz
Hotel Jazz
#43 of 513 in Barcelona
4,383 reviews
La Rambla
Hotel Bagues
Hotel Bagues
#21 of 513 in Barcelona
849 reviews
El Raval
Casa Camper Hotel Barcelona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eixample
Olivia Balmes Hotel
Olivia Balmes Hotel
#16 of 513 in Barcelona
2,111 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Catalonia Magdalenes
Catalonia Magdalenes
#12 of 513 in Barcelona
394 reviews
El Born / La Ribera
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
Yurbban Trafalgar Hotel
#14 of 513 in Barcelona
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 1898? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 1898

Property: Hotel 1898
Address: La Rambla, 109, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#6 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#13 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#20 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 1898 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Las Ramblas, in the center of Barcelona. Hotel 1898 is the only offering spa and 2 swimming pools all year open. A hotel where luxury and small pleasures will take you to the 19th century and the Spanish colonies in Cuba and the Philippines. Discover our Colonial Suites with private terrace and swimming pool. An authentic oasis in the heart of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel 1898 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1898 Hotel Barcelona
Hotel 1898 Barcelona, Catalonia
1898 Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing